We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Austin at The Domain
Ranked #30 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We've been to this hotel a few times and really like it more and more each time we come. It has such good service from the time you check in, to the time you check out. The hotel restaurant serves great breakfast, lunch, and dinner. As for the rooms, we stay on the executive floor, which gives you complimentary Wifi, two breakfast vouchers, and free water. Also, the area is a great place to just wander around and have fun because there is endless opportunities in The Domain. If you're traveling to Austin, I would stay at this hotel over all others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjg61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    307
    70
    19
    18
See reviews for
175
182
42
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while in the area for a gathering at the Domain. The location is super convenient if you need to be in the Domain area; however, it is a bit of a drive from downtown so don't think you'll easily get to/from downtown while at this location.

The lobby is very high-end, just what you would expect from Westin. As a Gold SPG member, we were given recognition but unfortunately, no upgrade. No explanation but perhaps there was nothing available. We don't know. Other than that, the customer service was warm and friendly.

The king room we had was done in a very soothing color palette and the Westin signature bed was just a heavenly as I remembered. Overall, the room was very comfortable and the bath was large enough for two people to get ready in without too many issues.

We did not eat at any of the restaurants so I can't comment on those. For people going to other locations in the Domain, there is sometimes a golf cart that will take you around the area - but it seemed like we could never get any of the staff to take us - even when we were heading to the Aloft (a sister property down the street).

Aside from small lapses in customer service, the experience was great - if only because the room was so comfortable.

Green Features: The green program is a great way to earn points on SPG!
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakeflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on business and was very pleased. Great location to avoid the downtown traffice. Across a small street from nice shopping/dining options at the Domain. Front desk staff friendly and eager to help. We enjoyed the pool in the evenings and a drink at the bar after dinner. Room was very clean and comfortable. The lighting in the bathroom was fantastic. The glass enclosed shower needs a bench or foothold added but had good water pressure. Starbucks coffee and bottle water in the room was a great plus. Hope to go back next year.

Green Features: I was able to opt out of the maid service to save energy and water and received a $5 credit for hotel services.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriste H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff National Park, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Room was adequate, place is clean and quiet.

However, billing seems to make a habit of over billing, things get missed and food handling is suspect in their restaurant....

We ate at the the urban and american grill, we were told that the room temperature cream we were served which was pulled from another table by the server, had been sitting on that table without refrigeration for 1.5 hours. We requested a new one, which the server reluctantly did and then over billed us twice.

Room included internet, but we were billed $60 for internet anyway.

Paid for Breakfast for 2 people included in the room, only got vouchers for 1.

Billing on Westin's website for the room is rounded and doesn't agree with the bill you'll get.

Their restaurant (with the breakfast vouchers), bills sometimes $0 for the included breakfast, and other times $17 depending on the server and day, despite ordering the exact same breakfast.

They will normally fix these issues when pointed out to them, but if you're not paying attention, you can end up paying more than you should.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzzzz95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear zzzzzzz95
Thank you for your review. I apologize for what appears to be less than excellent service and billing errors. We are better then that and this should not have been an experience you encountered. I will share your concerns and comments in an effort to improve our understanding from a guests respective .
I hope we have a future opportunity to be your hotel of choice when in Austin.
VR,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ca
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed only for a day as we have another reservation in downtown Austin. Check-in is fast and front desk people are friendly. Room has 2 double beds and nicely appointed with a view of the Domain mall. Location is very near The Domain shopping center. They also have a free golf cart ride if you dont want to walk to the shopping center. Enough parking and nice pool. I will definitely stay again if Im in Austin.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accessdenied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Accessdenied,
I appreciate your review and your business. We look forward to seeing you again.
VR,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Westin Austin is located about ten miles outside the downtown area in an area called The Domain. This is a mixed use commercial / residential fake downtown area. There is a nice mix of shops and restaurants in the area (which the hotel will take you to in a golf cart), but at the end of the day it's really just an outdoor mall. That's your view, and that's all you're really close to. The hotel itself is fine, but is largely a mid-tier (at best) Westin. When I entered the hotel, the reception area did not have the tranquil upscale feel I normally get at Westins. The reception is adjacent to a loud bar area, and there were so many dogs in the lobby it felt more like a kennel than a hotel. The rooms were fine, but again nothing special. The showers did not have the nice shower heads that Westins normally have, and the bathroom vanity was that of a pretty basic Sheraton. In fact, change the sign on the building and this is a basic Sheraton. On a positive note, parking is free in surface lots, and wireless internet also was included. If you don't need to be in downtown Austin and don't mind being in a fairly generic part of town, this is a perfectly fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Wedgewood,
Thank you for your critique of the hotel and of The Domain. While it appears we didn't fit your need for a downtown location, I hope we have an opportunity to be your hotel of choice when an area such as the Domain is more appropriate for your needs.
VR
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night and had an excellent experience. We got a great deal booking over the phone - a great rate, free breakfast, free wifi, free water in the room. Parking is very convenient for bringing luggage in. Pool area is good with plenty of seating and lots of towels available. Front desk was very helpful with hotel info for the next leg of our trip and with fixing a billing error at checkout time. It was lovely to be within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants at The Domain.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at The Westin Austin at The Domain, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Lew44,
Thank you for staying with us at The Westin. I appreciate your review and the detail you've shared. We look forward to seeing you again.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
400 reviews
Renaissance Austin Hotel
#59 of 203 in Austin
848 reviews
Hotel Granduca Austin
#5 of 203 in Austin
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 203 in Austin
1,314 reviews
Northwest Austin
aloft Austin at the Domain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Austin at The Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Austin at The Domain

Property: The Westin Austin at The Domain
Address: 11301 Domain Dr, Austin, TX 78758-7796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Austin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#19 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Austin at The Domain 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Austin at The Domain is located in the heart of The Domain, one of the premier locations in North Austin, featuring upscale shopping, dining, and entertainment. Downtown Austin is also just 15 minutes away, where travelers love the excitement of 6th Street where you can explore the best live music, great restaurants, and sophisticated shopping. This hotel also boasts a wide range of amenities inlcuding Spa Réveil, a resort-style Outdoor Pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, large LCD TVs, and select rooms with stunning Austin views. The Westin at the Domain offers a premier location with luxurious amenities making it one of the best Austin, TX hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Austin at The Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin
The Westin Austin At The Domain Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing