We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel....Convenient, clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Austin at The Domain

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Austin at The Domain
Ranked #32 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this hotel....Convenient, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Travel a lot on business and come to Austin frequently. Love this hotel and its location. Great stores, nice movie theater and lots of good restaurants are all within walking distance. The restaurant and bar area within the hotel are great too. Nice staff!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkc1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    293
    63
    18
    16
See reviews for
166
176
40
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Spent a week here for work purposes and was everything you would expect from a Westin. Quite a few shops and restaurants nearby, no parking charges and easy to get to the main roads of Austin. Like others have said this is not in downtown Austin but is a relatively easy 20ish minute drive when there was little traffic

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spongejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

We live in Round Rock and wanted a hotel to stay at for our honeymoon. We enjoy the Domain area, so we decided to visit this hotel in order to see if it is where we would like to stay. So we walk up to the desk and we are the only ones there. After a brief wait, we actually had to ask her if she could help us. She said she waould get to us in a minute. So right off the bat we were wondering about the service, but we let it go. When we were finally helped, we asked if we could see a room so that we could decide if we wanted to stay here on our honeymoon night. She called a guy to show us a room, and it wasn't anything spectacular, but the hotel seemed nice enough and we wanted to eat in the domain, so we went ahead and booked a room. So fast forward to the night of our stay, we arrive in a tux and wedding gown, and the valet didn't offer to help us, or to help us with our luggage, we had to actually go park our car ourselves, and walk in carrying the luggage, right passed the valet who, once again, did not acknowledge us. We approached the check-in desk, and stood there - you guessed it - after a brief time of the girl moving from monitor to monitor without acknowledging us, we asked her if she could help us. Of course, it was going to be a minute. Apparently whatever these girls do, checking people in is not their first priority. So once we get checked in, she doesn't ask us if we need help with our bags, she tells us about what apparently is a selling point on the room, which was a floor to ceiing window. Hold the excitement - I will get to that in a bit. So we lug our luggage to our room - btw, pet and mildew smells - yep. They need to rethink their pet policy. Anyways, we get in to the room and it was just like we had seen on our previous visit. Really nothing special, i could doctor some photos up for you, but really, any La Quinta ar Holiday Inn Express room looks the same, save the floor to ceiling window. So the first thing we want to do is email our family and let them know we made it ... blah blah ... but we then find out that the internet is not free! The Westin - Domain - proclaimed stylish - hip - great customer service advertised - floor to ceiling windows - but you have to pay to use the internet - an additional $15 a day. So no internet for us because we are already being gouched for the price of these windows. So we requested a room with a view. Well, come to find out, the only views these rooms have is either of a power plant or of the parking lot facing the west sun, which in Texas is over 100 degrees in the afternoon. So there we are staring at our parked car from our hotel room with the sun pouring in. Let's close this nifty sunscreen visor they have conveniently on the window ... close close ... eerk - it stops about 3/4 of the way down. Apparently the visor is not made for the much anticipated floor to ceiling windows. So we still have sun pouring through the lower 1/4 of the window. So we decide to close the heavy curtain, which just made it dark in the room. So much for the windows and the view. So it is late in the day and we want to take a bath... no bath... shower and realx from the long day. Well, save your towels, because one of them is going on the floor because the shower doors leave about a 1/8" gap all the war around them and the shower leaks all over the floor. After my 10 minute shower i had to get out bec my towel could not hold more water. Also, the bathroom door is so wide, that when you open it up you can barely close it unless you step up in the shower or on the sink and I am not a fat guy - ridiculous planning. Refrigerator is actually a cooler, so it is basically useless. We wanted to get a soda out of the vening machine - $2.50 for a can - they must think a lot of their cans. The machine would not accept our perfectly flat dollar. A staff person was walking by - maybe a cleaning person - and we were obviously having problems with the machine, but she did not offer to help. We never did get the soda, which is fine bec we save what was going to be $5.00 for two cans. So how about that wonderful quiet room ... well, the door to the rooms is very heavy and slams shut behing you ... which is fine for us, but we could hear when anybody within a four room radius was leaving their rooms as well. The ac/heater unit tries to keep the room at a steady temp, so it would click on for 20 sec, then click off for 40 sec, on for 20, you get the idea - all night long. There was no option to turn just the fan on in order to cover up some of the noise it made when it went on and off. When we were checking out we had immediatley remembered that we had left a shirt on the back of the door, so we immediatley asked the girl if we could run up and get it. Well, since we had technically handed her our keys, she would have to send somebody up there without us to retrieve our item. Good thing we knew where it was ... guess she though we might steal one of their Starbucks coffee packets or something. So my wife fills out a survey on this place and gets contacted from a guy the next day. Instead of being apologetic of any of these things, everything he said was in defense of their crappy service. So we were starting to get annoyed further from this place and now this call (will the hotel memory ever die?!) and he offers us a free night, here at this hotel. We laughed and told him he could keep his free night. We didn't need the aggravation. He eneded up refunding us half the price of our hotel room. My recommendation, seriously, if you like this place, then you don't get out much. This is Austin and there a lot more hotel choices for you to choose from. This place was not worth half of what they charged us. The restaurant? I don't know, didnt eat there .. the bed? Yeah it was soft, but shouldn't it be? But what about the golf cart that drove you to the shopping .. are you serious? The shopping is a block away ... and I only saw one golf cart, so either walk a block or stand on the treeless parking lot in the sun and wait your turn. Ugh. Who needs that. No express checkout. This hotel tries to grab you with its location and plush lobby, but enjoy that part of it because it only goes downhill from there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carnold2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed here to celebrate our 19th wedding anniversary on 8/20/10 following some partying in Austin and because it's a new Westin and a very quite area. Parking spaces are very small; good quick check in; room was a king as requested with direct view of the Domain shops. Would have liked a suite since we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Very clean room with good a/c, bed is excellent (it is a new hotel) but water will leak out of the all glass shower, (they need to fix that. feel sorry for the maids) the shower is really good size and good water pressure. no extra pillows and only one shower robe. We did not smell any odors as other reviewers have stated. Breakfast next morning was included in the rate plan an it was good. The Urban has a la carte and buffet for bfast. We opted for the buffet and it was quite good especially liked the OJ and the Coffee. Buffet consist of eggs, fruit, cereal, sausage, bacon oatmeal, etc. Very nice stay and would very much would consider returning.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

i go to Austin several times a quarter for business & always stay here. It is a wonderful hotel with a great staff and excellent location. Beds are great - rooms spacious - restaurant excellent. Glad we have this option as a place to stay for business. Nice to be able to get over to the Domain for a quick diversion.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherriB1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

I just stayed at the Westin Austin and had a wonderful time. From check-in to check-out the staff was amazing. The rooms and all the facilities were immaculate. Here's a little overview:

The lobby has an open plan with the check-in desk surrounded by a lot of comfy seating areas, a bar and access to Urban, their restaurant. This made it a perfect place to meet people. You can order food from Urban to the bar while you're having cocktails. We sat at the bar and talked with the bartenders for a bit. They're very familiar with the menu at Urban and made great recommendations...we ended up ordering some food to the bar!

Urban is a great restaurant. We were there for a couple days and ate there 3 times. One morning, we arrived after they stopped serving breakfast but they still allowed us breakfast....it was awesome! I especially love the way their kitchen is setup. You can see the cooks preparing your food, and they're all really nice...greeting customers as they walk in and out. A nice touch that you don't typically see at a hotel restaurant :)

The rooms were very nice and clean and the bed was really comfortable (makes it easier to be away from home). One thing that I especially liked is that they have a "Green Stay" program, but they actually reward you with it by giving you a $5 credit at the hotel!! This is really the way it should be at all hotels! Wifi works great throughout the building and I didn't have any issues with coverage.

The hotel is right in The Domain, a huge outdoor mall, however, it's not too close so you're not bothered by the people visiting the domain. The hotel even has a golf cart that will take you anywhere in the domain and you can call them to pick you up as well! This is such a cool amenity because it makes it easy to get to the stores and back without having to walk (especially nice during those hot summer days).

Overall, this is definitely where I'll come back to stay every time I visit Austin. It's a great place for business travelers and families alike. They represent the Westin flag very well!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVargas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

The entire experience was one of the best I have ever had at a Westin. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly and accommodated every request. They also provide a great service of a golf cart shuttle to anywhere in the Domain shopping center. We ate at Urban, the restaurant in the lobby 3 times in 2 days! Great food!
Thanks to everyone on the property for making my stay great, will definitely stay there every time I'm in Austin.

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MattAllard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 197 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Renaissance Austin Hotel
#57 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
aloft Austin at the Domain
W Austin
#19 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Austin at The Domain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Austin at The Domain

Property: The Westin Austin at The Domain
Address: 11301 Domain Dr, Austin, TX 78758-7796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Austin
#15 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#18 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#19 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Austin at The Domain 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Austin at The Domain is located in the heart of The Domain, one of the premier locations in North Austin, featuring upscale shopping, dining, and entertainment. Downtown Austin is also just 15 minutes away, where travelers love the excitement of 6th Street where you can explore the best live music, great restaurants, and sophisticated shopping. This hotel also boasts a wide range of amenities inlcuding Spa Réveil, a resort-style Outdoor Pool, and a state-of-the-art fitness center. Guest rooms are highlighted by luxury bedding, large LCD TVs, and select rooms with stunning Austin views. The Westin at the Domain offers a premier location with luxurious amenities making it one of the best Austin, TX hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Austin at The Domain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Austin At The Domain Hotel Austin
The Westin Austin At The Domain Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing