We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terribly Disappointing Facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Ranked #51 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terribly Disappointing Facility”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I spent three days and nights here for a conference. It is billed as a resort but it is far from posh. The facility is extremely tired and dated. It is like a step back into the late 80s or early 90s. In fact it doesn't seem that the hotel has been remodeled or updated since the early 90s. Flight fixtures and mirrors in the rooms were loose and askew. Carpet is extremely old and dated. Beds have feather toppers that are so worn they have hard sticks of feathers that will poke you in the night.

Of most concern is the fact that there are numerous doors on ends of the property down totally dark pathways that are NOT locked in any fashion all night. These doors lead directly into hallways where rooms are located. Security is a distinct concern since someone could walk into the hotel without a key and without anyone seeing them or noticing.

The outlets in the room clearly predate the advent of electronic devices. To plug your devices in, you are forced to look for outlets throughout the room. Don't expect to be able to plug a phone in and to put on your bedside table.

Beware when pulling into the valet parking area. It is total chaos at certain times. It doesn't seem to be staffed properly and the staff that was there seems unable to handle the rush of arrivals.

The pool area was also disappointing and is not what it was billed to be. In terms of a "resort" pool it was very disappointing. I saw a pool at the low level hotel downtown Austin that had a much better and prettier pool than the pool at the Omni.

Overall the property would not be bad for a mid priced downtown hotel--but it is NOT resort quality.
If you want a resort go elsewhere.
The one

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsALot205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for being our guest recently and taking the time to let us know of the areas where you felt we could improve. We are sorry that you did not feel like all of our resort offerings met your needs. We appreciate your patience as we continue to make upgrades to meet exceed guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    504
    322
    200
    99
See reviews for
539
543
51
621
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Mirage, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

destination resort, away from downtown Austin but not that far away. Great get away place, in the 'country', great facility for couples and/or family. the Spa and gym are first class. Great food and drink; with something for all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities, Texas-style cuisine and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Old is not the new new...

This place is old, old, old.

Rooms - old - tired, need refresh. Furniture broken, bed old with uncomfortable broken springs. Armour with broken hinges. Cable went out twice on a four-day stay. Mini-fridge not stocked in days and not actually on - who wants old warm stale snacks or sodas?

Bathroom - old, old, tired. Get the point? Tub and old (as in, if you have hard water, replace it) shower head. Really? That's what, $10?

Food - fine if you want to be sick. Old dishes, poorly made. However, all meals come with 21% service charge. No, not room service, all meals. Order a club? Like turkey and ham slices from oscar meyer? Then this is your place. How to you screw up a club sandwich? See above. They managed.

Bottom line is I would have expected this from a holiday inn. But this is supposed to be a lux hotel. Epic Fail!

Facilities broken down, elevators not working, noisy ice machines, basically, a nice property that through neglect has fallen to the level of a holiday inn.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our resort. It was very disappointing for us to learn that you felt your experience wasn't as pleasant as you had anticipated. We will continue to work on improving all aspects of our resort and hope you will reconsider coming back in the future for a stay more in-line with what you are accustomed to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel, staff and venue was very good. Make sure you check the water pressure. The Fazzio golf course was absolutely amazing with the tee box and green views beyond belief. Food was very good. The staff was responsive and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort amenities and excellent service by our team members. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel is nice, but value versus spend is not equitable. Additionally the activities the hotel offers are very expensive ($225 for golf for example) and don't meet the value provided. The hotel needs upgrades relating to HVAC in the rooms, internet connectivity, and televisions. We had a brand new flatscreen TV, but the signal was extremely fuzzy on all channels (even HD). Really disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for being our guest recently and taking the time to let us know of the areas where you felt we could improve. We are sorry that you did not feel like all of our resort offerings met your needs. We appreciate your patience as we continue to make upgrades to meet exceed guest satisfaction.

It was very disappointing for us to learn that you felt your experience wasn't as pleasant as you had anticipated. We will continue to work on improving all aspects of our resort and hope you will reconsider coming back in the future for a stay more in-line with what you are accustomed to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Amazing resort in one of the most beautiful places in Texas, Austin's hill country. The food was amazing, especially the dessert (you have to try the spiced chocolate cake and the bread pudding. Best I've ever had). Staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Amenities were excellent (from a walking trail to multiple pools, fitness center, track, spa and more).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sherif T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at Omni Barton Creek. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our resort amenities and Texas Style cuisine (especially our famous bread pudding). Looking forward to welcoming you to the Hill Country again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lovely location, great golf and spa. Good meeting rooms. Food is great and they do wonderfully with the business luncheon and business reception fare. Once you recover from the $30.00 breakfast buffet charge (includes gratuity, etcetera) you can move forward. Lovely grounds, great staff. More costly compared to some equivalent properties in the region. Can't get the 30.00 breakfast buffet out of my head - and that wasn't with an alcoholic eye opener like a mimosa. :) Great experience. Will go back on business.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank williambC5393HA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at our resort. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our championship golf courses, spa and meeting facilities. We appreciate your note about our breakfast buffet pricing and will take that into consideration with future menu adjustments. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
9.7 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#6 of 202 in Austin
310 reviews
7.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 202 in Austin
1,966 reviews
11.2 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 202 in Austin
425 reviews
6.9 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#17 of 202 in Austin
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Address: 8212 Barton Club Dr, Austin, TX 78735-1406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing