We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, but avoid the spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, but avoid the spa”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hotel rooms are over-sized and quiet with nice linens. Mattress is topped with a feather bed, but the mattress itself is older and not overly kind to the back. Morning buffet breakfast is fantastic - you will completely enjoy made-to-order omelets, bagels with smoked salmon and all the fixings, an abundance of fresh fruit, etc. Workout facility is far better than the average hotel. The Spa is tired - you will likely enjoy a treatment but there are many places in Austin where you can go for better therapists and an overall better experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Turner_Bradsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    481
    303
    192
    88
See reviews for
497
504
47
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
OKC, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

the service was great golf was also good speed of play was very good pool and spa area were also very nice all in all it could not of been a better vacation and would come back again for a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A great Austin resort close to Barton Springs. This resort has a lot of outdoor activities (golf, tennis, hike, pool) as well as the indoor pool, hot tub, spa, gym. The restaurants are also amazing. The Bar Lounge has a couple of billiards. Once you're in the resort you will not leave!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joyce S Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at Omni Barton Creek. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our resort amenities and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

For the totally ridiculous price of the OMNI owned Barton Creek Resort & Spa, you should receive much better customer service (should be on par with Four Seasons and the Ritz Carlton). You should also expect the hotel to be in much better shape with five star amenties but this is not the case...the rooms need updating; the carpets need cleaned, the walls need painted and etc. There is not an adult pool so we had to endure the teenagers running around & screaming & carrying on. The pool is just blah; kind of like you are at your grandma's house. The entire hotel is kind of run-down and needs a refresh. We took a yoga class and the ceiling tiles are all water stained and they have towels under the door frames so water doesn't come in from outside. The poor instructor's audio system was all crackly and we had to pay $20 pp for the yoga class after paying $800 per night for our room. The indoor pool furniture was all broken and rusty and the walkway from the indoor pool to outdoor pool had a bunch of hand tools and wheelbarrows and dirt and mud everywhere. The whole place is just kind of old and bordering shabby which wouldn't be bad if you were paying $100/night for a stay. The valets were all confused when we got there and when we went to get our car for dinner they could not find it and the keys ended up being in the ignition while it was randomly parked in the street (not the hotel driveway). The service at the pool is non-existent and the white towels were all stained. We were very upset when we were in the jacuzzi and 10 teenagers came in and started hollering and screaming--all the adults (6 couples) in the jacuzzi got out and left. We are not a neighborhood pool---we are at a $800 per night hotel!!! We had our preferences in the OMNI select guest and they did the opposite of everything in our preferences which really turned out to be funny b/c it was just so appropriate for our entire experience. We had to call the front desk twice to get shampoo in our room after it was supposedly cleaned. The golf course prices are well over $200 pp per round and the golf carts don't have GPS and one of the golf carts we had did not even have a club/ball cleaner. The Fazio Foothills is a narrow and challenging course that is well groomed and sort of "fun" to play. The Fazio Canyons is a beautiful course that is much more fun to play than Foothills but still challenging. The clubhouse is like a little shack/cabin thing and they have the golf carts in an event tent; sort of strange set-up. For the 1st 6 holes of the Canyons course we had the maintenance crew stalking us with the lawn mower that cuts the tee boxes....now we just paid an arm and a leg for golf and hotel and we have to have this guy follow us and wait for us to tee off while he mows the tee boxes? So much for peaceful golf--we had the roar of the law mower for 6 glorious holes! The golf attendents at Canyons didn't even wipe down our clubs when we got in and just sort of stared at us and asked us if we liked the course. In comparison to La Cantera and JW Marriott in San Antonio...well OMNI Barton Creek is like the Holiday Inn version with a very inflated price tag. OMNI needsto decide if they are going to be a five star hotel bc people will not pay these outrageous prices for the lack of customer service, lack of an appealing property and lack of amenties. When we pay the kind of money per night that we did at Barton Creek, I want to feel like the Four Seasons makes me feel. We ate in the Wine Bar one night and the bread pudding was amazing but the tenderloin salad was supposed to be medium rare and the meat was purple...gross. Don't ask for bread or s&p b/c they takes about 15 minutes for each request and they put the service charge on already so there is no motivation to care about service. The breakfast was good with good variety but I would not have paid for it (the meal was included in the price of the hotel/golf package). There is absolutely nothing special about the OMNI Barton Creek except the view and that is free and a gift from Mother Nature. The OMNI needs to get their act together and update/upgrade this property to a five star hotel with a highly trained staff and take a hard look at their amenties, services, food and etc. There is no way that they can compete with the luxury hotels (Four Seasons, Ritz, etc) The OMNI can have these inflated prices and people will come ONCE and realize it is a joke and go back to the hotel resorts that understand that if you charge a premium price, you have to deliver a premium property with premium service, amenties, food, location and etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJG792012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartonCreekGM, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for being our guest recently and taking the time to let us know of the areas where you felt we could improve. It was very disappointing for us to learn that you felt your experience wasn't as pleasant as you had anticipated. We will continue to work on improving all aspects of our resort and hope you will reconsider coming back in the future for a stay more in-line with what you are accustomed to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Older rooms and amendities, not everything is in working order. Do not follow thru with what they promised or said. Overall, just did not think they cared. Needed more staff at the restaurants and/or bar areas. People in those area's tried hard to keep up, just need more bodies to help.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was at a convention otherwise the normal proce does not justify the experience. throwing good money away . You are probably subsidizing the many golf courses they have and of course other amenities that are too expensive. spend a fortune for a room

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slingerlands, New York
Level Contributor
517 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is an older facility, however it has been well maintained. A bit tough to find, especially in the dark, but worth it. From the time you drive up, and the valets are competing for your luggage, the service never stops. I had a HUGE room, very comfortable. Great shower, wonderful amenities, such as soap that is in a lovely package.

I did not have time to use the facilities, but all looked great. Would be a great place for a business meeting.

Room Tip: If you have trouble getting around, request near the elevator. The corridors are very long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhapsodyinblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 203 in Austin
276 reviews
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Address: 8212 Barton Club Dr, Austin, TX 78735-1406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing