We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star facility - mediocre service - watch for hidden fees”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Ranked #46 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5 star facility - mediocre service - watch for hidden fees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

The good - Very nice hotel room with GREAT sheets and bed! 4 fantastic Golf Courses.Very good spa experience, but they charge top $ approx $3/min for massage. Wonderful workout facility! Wonderful buffet breakfast with fantastic service for your drinks.

The poor - Website is very confusing and not easy to book on. Spent lots of time trying to tweek our reservations and had to call. When I did call two different times I was told someone would call me back and neither time did that happen. On my third call someone made the changes I wanted, but was going to charge me ove $100 more than I knew it should cost. When I brought that up he willingly changed the price to what it was quoted on their website. ( Why wasn't this done initially?) Was told we were getting All you could play golf package, but when we wanted to paly more the wanted to tack on a $25 cart fee. Also watch out if you prebook golf at a disount, as I was told you cannot cancel and get your money back. Only refund money if they close course. We waited to book golf 72 hours in advance once we were pretty sure weather would be good.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott1donaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 November 2010
I appreciated this review from this recent past guest and know that we were transitioning to our new resort website which may have caused some of the issues experienced. Please make sure that you take time to enjoy reviewing the indepth review of all our resort amenities and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    808
    472
    283
    184
    84
See reviews for
471
484
46
574
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

Just got back from a golf trip for 3 days, 2 nights at Barton Creek. We stayed at the resort and played the three courses, and found everything to be outstanding. I organized the 8 person buddy trip, and the resort staff made that very easy.

The rooms were spacious, modern, had great views. The golf courses are hard to beat, conditions always good and the layout of the two Fazio courses = brilliant. The staff also goes out of the way to do all they can to serve. Several times I had to talk them out of doing things that we wanted to do ourselves, which is good.

Only small disappointment is that the fire pit had no fire, and I was too lazy to ask.

I owe my wife a trip to Barton now that I've taken all these friends, and I really look forward to the next time to get down there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffLJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 November 2010
The resort appreciates this fantastic review and rest assured will have a glowing fire in the firepit on their next visit. Join us for our 1st Annual Holiday Lights and Ice : Nov 24th - Jan 2nd : Our 3,800 square foot Ice Rink under the resort pavilon and an amazing collection of Holiday Lighting will be unveiled very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

My husband and I booked a one night stay at Barton Creek for our 12th wedding anniversary this past weekend. I have to admit I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews but we decided to give the resort a shot. Boy are we glad we did!! The location is absolutely breathtaking. We were allowed to check-in early (around 2) even though the website is quite adamant about a 4pm check-in. We were given a room in the Tower on the 7th floor with an amazing view of the golf courses, pool, and hill country beyond. Upon check-in, the concierge (Martin)advised us that the hotel was fully committed for the evening and if we had a good parking spot that we should consider keeping it. Better advice could not have been given as we had a magnificent time at Barton's bar with Anne Marie and crew early and then a late dinner at the 8212 Wine Bar and Grill with Althea who was a spectacular waitress. The room was fabulous and the bed, bath, etc extremely comfortable. Breakfast buffet in the Hill Country Dining room was scrumptuous. The workout facility is very ample and the locker room was comfortable and well appointed. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to relax, unwind, eat good food, drink good wine, and be treated well. As with any "resort," you are going to drop some coin on food and wine but for a special occasion, it is totally worth the money!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 November 2010
We appreciated this glowing review on a special occasion in the reviewer's life and appreciate the gracious compliments on the individual staff members that were noted. Thank you for your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

Mom/daughter spa retreat turned out wonderful. Rooms were beautiful, grounds well kept, resort very nice. Loved our massages. Largest fitness center I"ve been to. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Wasn't dissappointed with anything and that's unusual!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isiah4110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
We were delighted to read the above review and if one thinks our Fitness Center is large, wait for the 1st Annual Holiday Lights & Ice Season featuring our 3,800 square foot Ice Skating Rink under the Resort Pavilon between November 24th and Jan 2nd, 2011. Incredible Lighting displays will adorn the resort grounds to make it the best Season of Giving ever at Barton Creek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

Depends on your priorities. If you are willing to pay the high cost so that you can play one of Texas' top golf courses, then this is an good choice. But, if you are looking for an elegant, relaxing Austin get-away, then this is a terrible choice. Either way, the cost is high and they don't try to pretend otherwise. Former President G.W. Bush calls this his favorite Golf Resort. They offer a variety of accommodation options from the $200/night basic room to the $1,400 Longhorn weekend football package. They also have timeshare offers for luxury villas. I don't know what a former Presidents pays.

Located 20 minutes West of downtown Austin on the edge of the Texas hill country, it has very good views of the golf course, grounds, and native Texas scrub brush/trees if that is your thing. Since the airport is on the SE side of Austin you can figure it will take 35-60 minutes to get there depending on the traffic. Unless you just want to stay at the Resort, you will want to have a car. And good GPS guidance.

This resort offers all the amenities you could reasonably want. Several dining options, several bars. Patio and poolside drink service, though the 2 bars by the outside pools were not open in the early afternoon when we were there in late October. Multiple pro shops for both golf and tennis. 2 outdoor and 1 indoor pool that I saw. Besides some of the best golf in Texas, they also have very good tennis facilities. As a guest, you will still need to pay something like $25 to play though. They also offer both golf and tennis lessons, club fittings, tennis ball machine rentals.

In short, the prices charged are more breathtaking than the view. I could not recommend this resort for anything other than as a golf outing. It is doubtful that anyone uses TripAdvisor to look for golf outings so I scored it a 3 - an average resort spa for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DFWTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
Many thanks for the notes that this well travelled guest wrote on the resort. Will add that there are many times of the year including the late Fall and Winter Season where rates are very price valued for any great traveller to come and visit. Keep an eye on the website for terrific specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Our family can't say enough about how wonderful our daughter's wedding weekend was at Barton creek!! Kirsten Crawford is amazing!! everyone at the Hotel is so nice. we had both our rehearsal dinner and wedding at Barton Creek. you cannot go wrong with this location. We felt like guest at our daughters wedding!! Thanks to all, The Gachman Family

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decor0995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2010
What an amazing family the Gachmans were, so wonderful to know....Kristin Crawford is absolutely the "best of the best" She loves to create the most memorable experiences for our social guests. Thank you for the very gracious feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

We chose the Unlimited Fazio Package (appears to be the guarantee to Fazio availability) for two and were joined by another couple. In case you are wondering how much Fazio is enough ... your subsequent rounds that day are on a space available basis. We were there Texas/OU weekend and it was pretty quiet. Try alternate shot or scramble golf for your second outing of the day (why wear yourself out?). There are four golf courses: Fazio Foothills and Crenshaw Cliffside are right on the resort property (Foothills is a championship caliber track for championship caliber players - not for 18 handicappers), Fazio Canyons (lots of fun) is about two miles away (shuttle service), and the Palmer Lakeside is in Spicewood, Texas (40 minutes west!). Check in for all four is in the pro shop downstairs at the main resort building (very efficient overall). If Fazio Foothills is "cart path only", don't bother; play somewhere else. If Fazio Foothills has been overseeded within the last 10 days, it will be cart path only. Rental clubs are Calaway X-22 at $80 a day and includes a dozen Calaway balls in a logo tote bag (they try to make it a good value!).

Our room (in the original building) was very nice.

The restaurants and services are first rate. You don't need to leave the property. Free self parking is abundant.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfnut77024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#5 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 200 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Address: 8212 Barton Club Dr, Austin, TX 78735-1406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing