We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is free, it is interesting and it is great history”

Texas Military Forces Museum
Ranked #34 of 317 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“It is free, it is interesting and it is great history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We visited this museum many years ago and it was not something that would generate a lot of "that was really neat" comments. After our visit yesterday, I must say that we both loved it and are prepared to return to spend more time there.

The museum has been updated (since our last visit) with many more vehicles, guns, pictures, exhibits and aircraft. One can easily spend almost two hours reading the history of the Texas revolution, its part in the Confederacy and onward. The exhibits are being upgraded on a continuous basis and new additions are coming. There are quite a few flat panel displays available for viewing information, there is a small book sales/souvenir area and rest rooms are on site and clean. And there is plenty of close by parking at no cost.

If military history interests your family, do not hesitate to visit this place and take your time looking at the many relics of war on display.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lonestarlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    55
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

It is a good place for someone who enjoys learning about history, specifically world war 2. The museum hosts real tanks and other military vehicles.

They also show the history of the 36th division and the role it played in WW2. It was worth seeing once.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 99varin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is one of the best small museums I've seen. They have lots of interesting displays covering everything from the beginning of Texas up to the modern war on terror. There are many many inside exhibits and lots of outside stuff too! Highly recommended. It's free but you do need an ID card for every adult in order to get on base.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MJSpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
474 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“fun for the kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Fun for thekids. Lots to see, lots to learn, verz friendly volunteers. If you are in the area, and have the time, do it. Its definately worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lots of interesting stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I've been to many museums similar to this one, and many things on display here I had never seen before, including an extensive WW II war trophy collection (they have Rommel's hat!) accumulated by the 36th infantry division. Outside they have an "Honest John" nuclear missile and many different types of tanks, APCs, and trucks. I found the exhibit on the 112th and 124th Cavalry Regiments particularly engrossing, a very interesting narrative that I was unaware of. The museum is very kid friendly.

There are a few rooms dedicated to different units associated with Texas that the museum doesn't really know what to do with, I'm not sure either. This museum is very good, and with some work it could be one of the best in the country.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Dallas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Texas Military Forces Museum also viewed

 

Been to Texas Military Forces Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing