We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A neat place to visit”

Texas Military Forces Museum
Ranked #34 of 319 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A neat place to visit”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Be prepared to spend a lot of time there. I was doing research on a WWII Texas unit for a upcoming radio show and met a wonderful docent there Angie Rose who know everything.

Could have spent a good couple of hours but my grandson was getting squirally so we had cut time short

still very well worth the trip highly recommend it

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank s3production
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    55
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience! ”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful family experience. Excellent display of military equipment. Everything from the Alamo to Afghanistan. We will definitely visit again!

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Free trip thru military history of the Texas National Guard . The exhibits are very good and kids can climb into F16 cockpit, put on helmets and vests, see actual troop support trucks, tents, chapels for the troops. I was pleasantly surprised on the extent of exhibits available and the kids were able to get a good feel for what our troops experience in the field. Besides the jeeps, tanks, helicopters and artillery, there are many examples of what our troops do overseas in helping citizens in the Middle East and the Balkans in the recent past.
Caution is given on some of the material might be too graphic for children especially in the room detailing the Lost Battalion, thank you to the visitors center personnel for this caution.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldspring, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“NIce family outing with the kids”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

No cost its free. Kids enjoyed the exhibits. Nice place to spend sometime looking at our military history and I being a Vet enjoyed showing them some of the equipment I used in the service

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bruce s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
277 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Up close to USA military history and present”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

As a Dutchie, the USA military has special meaning for us, they were part of the liberation of the Netherlands in WW II. This museum has various periods of "war and peace" times on display. We were surprised by the special exhibit and video about the war in the Dutch Indies and the Birma railroad. The war against terror exhibit was impressive as well. In the main hall different types of tanks, trucks and vehicles can be seen up close. Outside were plenty of big machinery to see as well. Further we could park right in front of the museum, we didn't even had to cross the road and we were surprised we could just drive on a "working" military base as well.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dutchkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Texas Military Forces Museum also viewed

 

Been to Texas Military Forces Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing