We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything small in Texas!”
Review of W Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Austin
Ranked #17 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Whistler, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Everything small in Texas!”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Overall this was very average W - it lacks some the localized themes/charm the other Ws have managed to incorporate in their decor.
Apparently, I got "upgraded" to a 325 square foot room. Very ironic, espcially for Texas. The W seems to be the only hotel in Texas to use European sized rooms. Everything in this hotel seems cramped, the lobby, pool and and dining area.

The hotel is ok for wear due to the fact it's new but I'd wish they cleaned up more after the weekend parties. I'd check out the Driskill if you want a more authentic Austin experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurajfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Helo Juraj, thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. We appreciate your feedback regarding our room size, and apologize for any cramped feeling you experienced. I would very much like to learn more about your stay and especially any cleanliness issues you observed. I can be reached directly at drew.mcquade@whotels.com or 512-542-3633. Thank you again for your feedback, and I look forward to connecting.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    263
    96
    37
    29
See reviews for
111
383
57
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Had a great stay at the W Austin over the weekend. Rooms are very nice, modern style. Bars downstairs are all very cool with live DJ and packed so definitely one of the more popular spots in Austin. Service was excellent all throughout the stay. I was in a rush when I left and forgot to take my shirts from the closet. I called back and straight away Owen went up to the room, found the shirts and fedexed to me all at no charge. All done withing 10 minutes - excellent service. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Lake view was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I've stayed at the following Austin hotels all within the last four years: The Four Seasons, The Stephen F. Austin, The Hyatt and The Driskill. This week I had the pleasure of staying at the W which will no doubt be my hotel of choice going forward when visiting this great city. The service was spot-on in all respects: attentive without being overbearing, from the bellman to the concierge to the valets to the bar staff. The vibe of the hotel is great but it's still appropriate for business meetings and plenty of peace and quiet can be had in the beautiful rooms. I had a lakefront "spectacular" room which was furnished in the typical W modern style. It was adequately spacious with great features such as a high-end iphone charger music player (e.g. not "I home"), a beautiful subway tile shower with shaving mirrors built in and a well stocked mini bar. A great 42" flat screen and I loved the black and white photo of Willie Nelson jogging in a race in our room. The bar was great for drinks and dinner; the location is ideal as you are plenty close to Austin's nightlife but removed enough for quiet and access to Lake Austin's jogging trails. Great free coffee in the AM and reasonably priced breakfast tacos and pastries to go (it's nice not being forced to eat in a high-end restaurant. My biggest regret: we only had one night!

Room Tip: Lakefront is a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickshrimpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This hotel has a convenient location and friendly service. Unfortunately the decor is awful and the lighting is even worse. Our suite was undersized with most creature comforts squeezed in except for drawers or adequate closet space to store your clothes. Hopefully they will fix this the next time they renovate.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CASE-JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile


I enjoyed my stay here more after the weekend ended. Too many bachelor and bachlorette parties, I felt like I was on spring break. Unable to enjoy the pool since it was crowded, loud and dirty from miscellaneous drink spills and I'm sure other gross things. It had a brown tint that reminded me of a watered down rum and coke. I wish there was another option for guests that didn't want that experience. I came wanting to relax and sip a few cocktails, maybe read a book. Not happening here. The room was standard in regards to what I would expect from a w property. I really appreciate that they did put us in a quieter room which we requested. Overall, the room was nice I just wish it was a little more relaxing. They did overcharge us (2000 in deposits for a 2 night stay) . We are still waiting to e credited back. The manager was nice in helping resolve it. However, it took time out of our vacation, and we had to speak to multiple employees who were unable to help us before connecting with him to resolve the issue. Just a hassle that I would have preferred not to deal with.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Hello, and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. My apologies that our WET Deck was unable to provide the relaxed atmosphere you were wanting. In the future, my team would be happy to share other relaxing poolside locales near the hotel as well as suggest hours where the WET Deck may be less of a party atmosphere. I do want to ensure that your billing issue is dealt with, so would very much appreciate a follow up should you not have been credited back yet. Our director of rooms, Joanna McCreary can be reached at 512-542-3632 to assist with the credit. My apologies that you had to spend time dealing with this while on vacation. Thank you again for your feedback, and should you choose to visit again, would love the opportunity to personally assist with your reservation. I can be reached at drew.mcquade@whotels.com or 512-542-3633.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I asked to extend my stay by one night. They told me it would be one price but the next day when I was out at a meeting they called me to say that I could not have that rate and that I would need to come and remove my things from my room. Horrible experience. Will never go there again.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michellescrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Hello and thank you for your review of the W Austin. My sincerest apologies for the miscommunication on my team's part in regards to extending your stay. We do our best to accommodate all guests, but understand that we were unable to extend your rate due to the city wide event that was happening. My apologies again, and should you choose to stay with us again, would love to assist you personally in making your reservation. I can be reached at drew.mcquade@whotels.com or 512-542-3633.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Very accomodatating for a large group and were able to take care of all of our needs. Use of a secure garage for all the cars was a must. Our room had a great room (corner room). The living room was a nice place to relax downstairs and the restaurant was good as well.

Room Tip: The rooms are a little small but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 202 in Austin
1,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 202 in Austin
1,966 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#18 of 202 in Austin
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Austin

Property: W Austin
Address: 200 Lavaca St, Austin, TX 78701-3928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Austin
#3 Spa Hotel in Austin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#11 Business Hotel in Austin
#30 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin
W Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing