We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay and Service at W Austin”
Review of W Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Austin
Ranked #17 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Superb! I can't say enough about this hotel, its staff, and the warm welcome that my husband and I received for our 3-night getaway. Caleb C. treated us like superstars as soon as we stepped in the hotel - the service was the best we've had in a very, very long time. When we arrived, our reservation was not in the system for some reason, and the staff provided us with complimentary drinks, a food discount, and just great service while they set us up. The room that we stayed in was modern, sleek, and the perfect setting for our stay. The hotel is located right in the middle of everything - great restaurants, 6th Street, and SoCo. And, if you want to go anywhere within 5 miles, you can ask the hotel's private car to take you there. Whatever we needed, the staff provided personalized attention to us, and we couldn't be more grateful. And, the room service food from Trace was amongst the best I've ever had!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charisse J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and the surrounding area and that Caleb was able to make your stay more memorable. Thank you again for the feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

This hotel was great. We have an awesome ambassador through Starwood who said this was a great hotel and she was right. Location is great to Rainey St, South of congress, running trail around lake and more. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spearsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our surrounding areas. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel seems to fancy itself as trendy and quirky, much like the city advertises itself. While it tries - with various soft seating areas and other pseudo-hip touches - it's really just OK. The staff is almost non-existent - they are at the desk but they are transactional rather than really helpful. The outlet plugs to charge laptops and phones are inconveniently located under the table holding the TV - I needed my flash light app to find the holes. The menu in the Trace restaurant is limited as well. So it's OK, but disappointing for the W brand.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DogWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review of W Austin and Trace. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and would welcome the opportunity to learn more about your stay as we strive for a seamless guest experience, and want to ensure that my team is present and available to assist with any guest needs. Should you be open to discussing your stay further, I can be reached at 512-542-3633 or gmwaustin@whotels.com.

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Having often stayed in Austin at cheaper hotels I was pleasantly surprised to find good rates at this property if you search hard.
The location, quality of food, and size of the room all made this worthwhile and I will be coming back to the property again soon.
A new Starbucks opening up just next door on the corner is an added bonus!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rollo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Sometimes a staycation is just what the doctor ordered. Especially when you have friends visiting from around the world and you want to enjoy all that downtown Austin has to offer without the hassle of long cab trips home after a night of fun. As a general lover of the W brand, and someone who has stated in a couple dozen around the world, my expectations for the W Austin were high. Austin (super cool city) + W (super cool brand) [should] = marriage made in heaven.

Sadly that was not the case. I am disappointed in W Austin and will have to think long and hard before taking my business there again.

The morning of my stay, the SPG iPhone app buzzed merrily, informing me that we had been upgraded to a Cool Corner Suite. OMG! *ring* *ring* - hey y'all, I have an awesome suite at The W, let's hang there for a while before we go out (message sent to several friends that morning).

Check-in comes around (6ish pm). LIne is long. Room card makers were broken. Staff was stressed and it showed.

Our turn. Associate welcomes us and proceeds to apologize, saying that she "just gave our room away to the couple in front of us." The only other remaining suite (the one that I was shown to have on the SPG app) was filled with cigarette smoke from previous guest. She then proceeded to lecture us on the upgrade policy--regardless of what the app says, we were told, wasn't guaranteed. The salt on the already open wound was that we had to wait about 20 minutes for an associate to escort us to our room as the card makers were broken and they were having to take all guests (one at a time) to their rooms (our keys were delivered 45 minutes later).

If it hadn't been for a tweet we sent to the awesome folks at @spg, I am confident that the W Austin would've dropped it. The tweet resulted in follow-up from manager, which got us some drink vouchers and a nice text late at night apologizing that the remaining suite was still filled with smoke.

An appropriate course of action would've been to refund the SPG points I used to cover my stay. The W refunded a small portion of the points spent, but not enough to make up for the great disappointment and lack of customer service we experienced.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I greatly appreciate your feedback and offer my sincerest apologies that we were not able to assist with honoring the suite upgrade. I can understand what a damper this would have put on your plans.

I know that my team has been in touch and provided follow-up, but should you wish to discuss your experience further, I can be reached at drew.mcquade@whotels.com or 512-542-3633.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Great venue, service, and professionalism! I held a corporate event at the W and would like to give credit to Jennifer Hunt, Javier Castillo, and Guy Yuksel who really made it special! Grant Grissom at the door was friendly and entertaining. Ask him about his impersonations. I will definitely be back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that my team was able to make your event and stay more memorable. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you and your group back soon.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I planned on staying at the Domain Westin, but it was oversold and I went to the W instead. The W has a definitely more Modern style than previous hotels I visited. The room I had was small with a Modern design and decor. It was interesting, and I could not say I disliked it, but it was not my favorite either. The hotel is centrally located in downtown and there were places available for dinner nearby. The lobby area and amenities are very nice and comfortable. This was probably the best part of the stay. Would I stay there again? Yes I would. Do I recommend? Well, it depends on if you like this style.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the W Austin. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your downtown stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#13 of 201 in Austin
1,457 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.4 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
2,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Austin

Address: 200 Lavaca St, Austin, TX 78701-3928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Austin
#3 Spa Hotel in Austin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#11 Business Hotel in Austin
#30 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £244 - £688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin
W Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing