We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Weekend!”
Review of W Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Austin
Ranked #18 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The staff and management made this a memorable stay for my 40th! From the upgrade to the suite to the cake and wine waiting for us after a party in the Living Room. It was top notch!! I'm a loyal Starwood guest and do about 100 nights a year. It's nice to know we have such a great property in my home town!

Room Tip: Communicate with the staff prior to your stay if it's a special event. They will treat you well...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jbmcd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,206)
There are newer reviews for W Austin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 1,206 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hosted a bachelorette party in Austin and we stayed here because it had a pool, a bar, and the location was great. The rooms were clean and comfortable. At the pool, we rented a cabana, which was nice -we could get out of the sun and away from the crowd. Overall it was a good choice for the bachelorette.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cecily_Sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent feedback. I'm glad to hear that you and your group enjoyed your time at the hotel and on our WET Deck.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Me and a group of 6 friends stayed at the W for a bachelorette weekend. Over the course of two nights, we had a pretty awful experience. On the first night, one of our rooms was broken into at 4:30 am by a drunken man who climbed in through our patio. When we called down to the front desk, they simply apologized. No security was called to the room and no further service recovery was given. An email late the next day was all that the management decided was appropriate. The next day, we had specifically asked for a full turndown service along with a change of sheets and extra towels and amenities. When we returned to our room 6 hours later, the room was still untouched, but a stack of towels had been dumped on the side table. The room had not been cleaned, there were no fresh sheets, and no turndown had been done. For the rates that we were paying, we were extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hepferm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review. My sincerest apologies for your recent stay experience. We strive for a safe and superior customer service experience, and I can see that this was not met. I can assure you this is not the impression we wanted to leave you and your group. I understand that my team has been in touch with you regarding your experience, but should you be open to discussing further, I can be reached at 512-542-3633 or drew.mcquade@whotels.com

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were in Austin for one night to attend an event at the convention center in downtown Austin. Booked this hotel last minute via priceline and named our own price. Got an awesome King room for $100. Easy to get to, and the customer service was exceptional. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The onsite restaurant had a delicious breakfast selection. Overall, loved the place and will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikej593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

From the moment you step onto the property you feel welcome. Spacious room, comfortable bed. Will definitely be back. Also had a very nice breakfast at Trace, the on site restaurant. Great customer service.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Always fan of W hotels and this does not disappoint. The hotel has look and feel of many other W's but more spacious. Service was outstanding and the corner suites very spacious and quite. The lunch was excellent and staff very friendly especially DJIBOUTI at front desk. I have historically stayed at Four Seasons in town but W is better experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dubin115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that my staff was able to make your stay more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was one of the most beautiful W hotels I've stayed at in terms of architecture and facilities. Here are some pros and cons:

Pros
-best Starwood hotel gym I've seen yet; facilities were enormous, had tons of equipment, free weights, and a lifting station (they even provided free, extra long headphones, which was great because regular headphones are always too short to reach the machines when you're using them!)
-friendly Acura driver who let us make two stops
-beautiful facilities and lobby area
-free wifi that actually worked
-very central location, right on the water and within walking distance of fun areas
-hotel let us check in hours early so we could enjoy the pool that day
-the spa gives you a free glass of champagne when you get a massage
-this W, unlike others, offers a "privacy screen" for the transparent shower, in case you aren't staying with someone who'd want to see you naked


Cons
-we stayed there on a Sunday, which is one of the days they have their rooftop pool party; the hotel got instantly filled with extremely loud, obnoxious and drunk people, and the music was so loud that I had to leave the pool - in fact, I could still hear it from my room on the top floor!
-pool area is generally very small and the "pool" is more of a bathtub

Room Tip: South-facing rooms give you a fantastic view of the river
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and facilities. My apologies that our pool experience left more to desire, but appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
1,426 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.4 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 201 in Austin
1,992 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#17 of 201 in Austin
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Austin

Address: 200 Lavaca St, Austin, TX 78701-3928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Austin
#3 Spa Hotel in Austin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#11 Business Hotel in Austin
#30 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £245 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin
W Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing