We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, weird tub”
Review of W Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Austin
Ranked #19 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Visited Austin last weekend and stayed a the W Austin. Staff was very nice and helpful. Hotel is located around the corner from a couple of great restaurants (Austin Java, La Condesa, and Lambert's. There is a market across the street on 3rd where you can buy water, drinks, etc. The bar/lounge on the 1st floor was really busy and had good drinks. Didn't visit the pool area but it sounds as if it is THE place to be on a weekend day. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was quiet as well. The only complaint was the bathtub. It was short in length and really deep. It is difficult to get in and out of the tub without some gymnastics. It is akin to one of those walk-in tubs you see on TV without the door. Be careful if you drop something while showering as the tub faucet will greet your behind. The water pressure in the shower was also suboptimal and took "Green" to a new extreme.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. Thank you for your feedback regarding our tubs as well. In the future, please feel free to email GMWAustin@whotels.com or call (512) 542-3633 and we'd be happy to explore other room lay-outs that have varying tub and shower set-ups. Thank you again for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had a great time in Austin this summer and one of the best parts was the W Hotel
It's beautiful, groovy, comfortable, a great location and they were very nice!
I left some clothes in the closet, checked out and came home. Not until I unpacked a much lighter suitcase did I realize what I was missing.
They found the items, were so nice and sent them back to me FED EX (my expense of course)
Thank you very much, I really appreciate this great service.
Best

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hello Janet, thanks for your review of the W Austin. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed my stay and that my team was able to assist with your left items. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our stay at the W was more than we had ever expected it to be. The staff went above and beyond every chance they had making sure we were more than taken care of.

Our first day at the pool we were shown true hospitality from 2 people in particular. John and Brittany. Thank you so much for showing us what the W is all about.

We will definitely be back!!!!!

Thank you!!!!!! Kyle & Gracie

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kyle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Kyle & Gracie, thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I am so glad to hear that John and Brittany were able to make your stay more memorable. Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Perfect location to enjoy the best Austin has to offer! The staff was great!
The pool offered a great escape before we got to the serious business of having a blast at the area bars. ALL WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us this summer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I'm from Texas, I'm use to hot weather. I am under 40 and love the atmosphere. But the air conditioning at the W is horrible. I was there a week ago with 8 other couples and everyone had the same experience...way to hot. To the point where I won't go again.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank TheAggieTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review. My sincerest apologies for the discomfort you experienced while with us. I'd like to learn more about your stay so that I can share the feedback with my team. Should you be open to discussing your stay further, I can be reached at drew.mcquade@whotels.com or 512-542-3633.

Thank you again for the feedback.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A friend recommended this hotel and we could not have a better experience! My boyfriend and I visited this hotel for a couple of days in July. We were so excited we stayed here! We drove from Houston and we did not use the car at all since we were able to walk to the major tourist spots including the Capitol, 4th street, UT, etc…
Very romantic hotel because of the pool, bars, and room layout. The pool was incredible! We loved hanging out for an afternoon and enjoyed drinks. You can’t miss it since it has a great view in the rooftop with all downtown buildings around. The hotels bars were excellent as well, with several ones to choose from. The room was smaller than usual but very modern and cozy. The bathroom does not have a door, except the toilet. It was not a problem for us but perhaps it could be for someone that likes more privacy or is not a couple.
Overall, we loved staying at the W and we look forward to spend more days here in our next visit to Austin. We will not book any other hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anapapa1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your romantic getaway with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the W for a long weekend. The rooms and amenities are what you would expect. The location is very convenient to all downtown attractions. There are readily cabs available. However, we mostly walked our used Uber. The concierge was extremely helpful in finding reservations and attractions. The door man make you feel at home. The fitness center is state of the art. The pool was crowded but fun people watching.

Room Tip: City view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopefullyHelpful1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our concierge was able to make your stay more memorable.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#13 of 201 in Austin
1,457 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.4 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 201 in Austin
2,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Austin

Address: 200 Lavaca St, Austin, TX 78701-3928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Austin
#3 Spa Hotel in Austin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#11 Business Hotel in Austin
#30 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £252 - £663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin
W Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing