We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W has really come into its own”
Review of W Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Austin
Ranked #18 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 January 2011

W Hotels promise a lot with their 'whatever'- 'whenever'- aren't we wonderful hype...and sometimes they deliver, sometimes they don't. I'm happy to report that the W Austin more than meets the mark.

From the moment you are greeted by the door-opening ambassadors to when you find yourself stunned by the interior decor, you will feel that you've arrived. The downstairs jewels are several cocktail lounges with Texas-sized fireplaces which roar as warmly as the service itself. These adult areas, four I counted, all with their own distinct ambiance, flow into each other effortlessly offering up smart sophisticaion or sexy vibes--take your pick and enjoy.

Security to your room is the latest---your card key only allows an elevator stop on the spa level or your room level. The spa by the way is perfectly appointed and the fitness center with a city view has the latest equipment available...even to the eco-friendly flourescent lighting.

The room itself is exactly what a hotel room should be...comfortable bed, large picture windows, black out curtains, excellent mini-bar selection, large shower....clean lines, smart looking. Maybe too clean---closet/drawer space is tight. I did love 'the sanctuary', a bedside collection of every charger-cord made so if you forget yours, no worries. The flat-screen tv picture kept freezing, so the satellite system might need some attention, but there's an ipod set up for your music.

Finally, the location is excellent...easy walking distance to morning coffee shops (Austin Java, Joe's Coffee Shop), 4th and 6th street nightlife, and better restaurants (La Traviata, Three Forks, La Condessa).

It's pricey---parking is $29/day and valet is the only option--but if you like the trendiest and friendliest, you will find it at the Austin W.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankBillingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,205)
There are newer reviews for W Austin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,188 of 1,205 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2010

We stayed at the W Hotel to celebrate our 10th anniversary. It was excellent in service and decor but the air conditioner did not work properly. We did not sleep that night, called at 3am and they said they would work on it. On check out we got no credit for the fact we got hardly no sleep in a $200+ stay, they said it was because the hotel was a LEED building and they were still working on the air. Well I guess we will stay at the Barton Creek Resort and Spa..our usual stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinarn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

We had booked four nights beginning Christmas Eve, and were very excited to stay at the brand new W. We booked a "spectacular" room category, with a lake view. Upon arrival, we were shocked at how tiny our room was. It is very poorly planned. There are no drawers to unpack clothes in, only one VERY uncomfortable chair, from which you could not watch TV. The bathroom sink took up almost all the vanity counter, leaving not even enough room to put one's dopp kit, etc. The heating/a/c unit is right next to the bed, and blows in your face. The drapes were hung backwards, such that when opened, they covered half the small window, rather than stacking along the blank wall. Internet service costs $7.95 for 30 minutes, $14.95 per day, and parking is $29/day. No coffee in room, no bar soap for the shower, only shower gel. The "lake view" is of the lake 3 blocks away, looking over several rooftops full of mechanical equipment. When I complained the next morning (Christmas) of the tiny room and all its deficiencies, the manager offered to "upgrade" me, but only for an added cost. Instead, we checked out that morning, and as I write this, we are ensconced in the beautiful Four Seasons Hotel, located directly on the river, with a room twice as large, balcony, etc., for the same price! I would never stay at the W again! Besides all my negative comments about the room, the lobby is totally stark, concrete floors, very cold and uninviting.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grayjay44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We stayed on the 11th floor (room 1117) of the W in Austin the day it opened. The hotel was busy that night and we payed a reasonable rate. The room we had had a nice view of Lady Bird Lake and was clean and fresh since it was brand new. The key cards are pretty cool. You just simply tap them on the door to open them up. The room is very contemporary, modern, and cool. It had the latest furnishings and clean since it was brand new. Parking is expensive at $29. The lobby is a bit strange. It is very small and dark. It felt very cramped with the hotel opening that day and it was busy. I would stay here again, but if you have a more traditional taste, this hotel is not for you. Also, the pool and spa are not open yet.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustinBeach001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jorge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Arzubi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valery K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#14 of 202 in Austin
1,417 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.4 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#26 of 202 in Austin
1,990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#17 of 202 in Austin
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Austin

Address: 200 Lavaca St, Austin, TX 78701-3928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Austin
#3 Spa Hotel in Austin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#11 Business Hotel in Austin
#30 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £247 - £502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin
W Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing