We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Groups”
Review of Travaasa Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travaasa Austin
Ranked #19 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place for Groups”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I was in charge of planning our group's semiannual meeting and I chose Austin and Travaasa. Everyone loved it. The group is all ad agency owners so they are hard group to impress. Beautiful location, great food, service and activities. Because it is away from town, our group spent much more meaningful time together. Highly recommended for a group.

Room Tip: No one in our group had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExclamationMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
ExclamationMark,
Wow! Thanks for the great review of Travaasa. We were honored to be selected to help you hold a great retreat for your group and are so glad that it was such a successful event. You guys were really fun to have here and I do hope you consider us again in the future.
All the best,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    108
    37
    19
    13
See reviews for
99
325
76
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
East Bernard, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Was an Awesome place. We went for Valentines Day and this is defiantly one that we will never forget. Staff was Super nice and went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable. The place itself was great, from the scenery to the rooms. They have sooooo many activities to do, that we didn't even leave the resort. The food was also outstanding. It is a very peaceful and relaxing place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Stephen D,
We are so honored that you chose to celebrate Valentine's Day at Travaasa! It is great that you had an awesome time here and that you'll never forget your visit. We hope that you return to visit us again soon.
Best,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

beautiful setting
locally sourced, healthy food
fun activities
excellent service
and heavenly QUIET
lovely pool, nice hiking trails, educational classes
horses! great massage options, full service nail salon, well appointed rioms with locally roasted coffee, Reidel stemware

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
G K,
I appreciate your review of Travaasa! We are happy that you enjoyed your heavenly and quiet stay with us. It is great that you had a mixture of fun and relaxation during your stay. We hope that you return to us again soon,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I visited Travaasa with my husband for a long weekend. The property was beautifully maintained and an ideal getaway with no kids. We did the "Travaasa total experience" so accommodations, meals and spa credits were included. The property grounds are wonderful - with hiking trails in a nature preserve and quiet secluded rooms and quiet spots to sit, read and enjoy the scenery. The staff was exceptional - everyone seemed happy to be there and genuinely wanted to help. The classes that are included with your stay range from archery to pilates and provide a lot of options depending on your interests. The food at Jean's kitchen is healthy and delicious.

If you are used to high end travel and expecting a Ritz Carlton spa experience, this is not quite at that level. Rooms and spa are nice - very clean, modern decor - but it does not feel luxurious. Rooms are not offered with king beds and all rooms have showers only, no tubs. The spa is a bit lacking in the locker room area - no steam rooms for instance. The pool deck area is limited and pool not heated (or at least was not during our visit). Overall I would recommend this property and I would return again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sage Casita #7 and it was an ideal location with close proximity to the spa and res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Anna B,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Travaasa. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you participated in so many of our activities. You'll be happy to hear that we are anticipating a spa remodel and adding some King Suites in the near future, so hopefully you'll find everything you need when you return.
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford Hills, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a wonderful place to be stranded because of the snow in the Northeast!
To a person, the staff at Travassa had it right. I was surprised how many people knew my name. They remembered the special requests of their guests day to day and anticipated our every need.
Spa personnel, activities leaders, cowboys, dining room team and the maid service were all pleasant.
Food was very good including many great options for me, a vegan. Chef was accommodating, tailoring entrees for my diet and preferences!
I would love to return for a vacation visit with my wife.

Room Tip: I loved my near spa location (cottages 5-7) but friends on the other side of the proper were all ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BedfordDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
BedfordDiner,
We were very glad to give you shelter from the storm! I really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I know my team will be thrilled to read your comments and we look forward to meeting your wife on a visit soon.
All the best,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driftwood, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

From the moment we checked into Travaasa until we checked out, our every expectation was met.
The food is locally sourced and prepared with ride. The menu is varied each day and has something for everyone. The spa is outstanding. Make sure to get a massage. Once you are done, go to the pool, hot tub and sauna for even more relaxation. Make sure that you join in the activities such as hiking, archery, horseback riding and relaxing around the infinity pool.
The staff is excellent and you can tell that it is their intention to make your stay with them memorable. The only down side is that there are no rooms with King beds.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floors of each building have a better view than on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
James F,
We are so glad that you had a relaxing and fun-filled stay at Travaasa. It sounds like you enjoyed many of our activities, and that our staff did help you have a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I visited Travaasa with my sister for a girl's weekend. The nice thing about the resort is that you can make it as relaxing or adventure filled as you'd like. With over 30 activites daily, there is always something for everyone. We tried the giant swing and challenge course which were adrenaline packed. I would like to thank Courtney and Jamie for their patience and for encouraging me to get out of my comfort zone....they were awesome (and are also very safety conscious)!

We ate most of our meals at the restaurant (farm to table meals) which were all healthy and wonderfully made. The food is actually grown at their farm which is down the road. All-in-all, would whole heartedly report this resort. I'm hoping we get a chance to visit the one in Maui!

Room Tip: Though the resort feels secluded, restaurants and cinemas are near by (we visited the Moviehouse and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyOrangeDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Happy OrangeDuck,
It is wonderful that you and your sister had a great weekend together here. I'll make sure to pass along your review to Jamie and Courtney who will be so pleased that they helped make your stay adventure-full. I happen to be visiting the Heavenly Hana property at the moment and can tell you that it is really great, so I hope you do make it out here.
All the best,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
8.7 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
10.1 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#6 of 202 in Austin
310 reviews
14.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 202 in Austin
426 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 202 in Austin
1,967 reviews
14.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 202 in Austin
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Austin

Property: Travaasa Austin
Address: 13500 Farm to Market Road 2769, Austin, TX 78726
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Austin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#2 Family Hotel in Austin
#4 Spa Hotel in Austin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#33 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Austin Hill Country only 30 minutes from eclectic downtown Austin, Traavasa Austin is nestled into 210 acres of the Balcones Canyonlands Preserve overlooking beautiful Lake Travis. Travaasa Austin boasts 70 guestrooms located within seven lodges interspersed along meandering paths allowing resort guests to soak in the natural habitat of the local Hill Country in a resort campus setting. The resort includes a movement studio, infinity pool, beautifully appointed restaurant and bar with outdoor patio and exhibition kitchen, a tranquil spa and gracious accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travaasa Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travaasa Austin Hotel Austin
Travaasa Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing