We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone downhill”
Review of Travaasa Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travaasa Austin
Ranked #14 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This is my third time here, and both times before were amazing. The service was great and the atmosphere was great. This time is disappointing. We came mid week because you get a slighter discount, but you suffer in service. We have been at the pool since 10 am (it is now 12:15) and there are no towels and no service. I called the front desk at 1145 to let them know (all the people around me are complaining too) because lunch is supposed to served at 1130 and we can't even get a drink. Still no one has come. There is a water fountain but no cups.

Also our room was so hot. We were both most of the night. We had it set to 70 but it hovered around 75-77. I called maintenance and they said they would check on it, but It didn't help. Around 930 this morning it was finally down to 73 and the room felt okay.

This is dramatically different from previous stays. I don't think I will come again during the week.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Permanenthoneymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Permanenthoneymoon,
I am so sorry to hear that you aren't enjoying your stay with us this time. I am following up with the issues you mention. If you're still here, let's connect to see what I can do to make up to you.
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    104
    34
    18
    13
See reviews for
99
316
75
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We accidentally found Travaasa and are so glad we did. It's a low key and relaxed spa with just the right amount of options for activities, amazing treatments and most noticeably for us (being from out of state) was how incredibly nice everyone was. From the minute we arrived, the staff were so accommodating and helpful. We recharged our batteries and had a great girls trip to Austin.

Room Tip: Our room in casita 4 was lovely with a balcony overlooking the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisGriffin75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Lois Griffin75,
Glad to hear that you accidentally finding Travaasa worked out so wonderfully. It sounds like you had some good R&R mixed with fun activities and great services I do hope that you and your friends return to visit us again next time you heading to Austin.
Best,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I took a last minute trip by myself for my birthday. Travaasa was everything I expected and more. The staff is amazing, friendly and helpful. Not once did I feel awkward about being by myself. Adam (food and beverage manager) was wonderful as was the chef. I really enjoyed chatting with them as I watched chef create his amazing dishes. The spa was phenomenal and I highly recommend Alex for the Honeybee body treatment. My room was beautiful. The bath products, heavenly. The challenge course was a big deal for me as it addresses a huge fear for me. Courtney and the staff, walked me through it and gave me so much encouragement. I wound up doing it twice!! As I was leaving today I was hugged and thanked for staying with them. Everyone made my trip so special. I could not ask for a more relaxing gift. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: I had a ground floor room and although many say the top floors have a better view, I enjoyed walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodiR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear JodiR67,
We are so honored that you joined us for your birthday and that you had such an amazing time. The team will be happy to hear that they helped make your day special and will look forward to seeing you back here soon,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kriscrack
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The resort is beautiful & peaceful….a perfect place to get away and unwind. though it is an "upscale" resort,,,the vibe is casual and very unpretentious.
view We had a canyon room with one queen bed which was (as another reviewer mentioned) on the small side. But, the bed was very comfortable and we never heard our neighbors (though I know that we had some.) And honestly, we did not spend a lot of time there, but did enjoy sitting outside on our patio on one evening.
The grounds and the pool were lovely. The spa was being renovated while were there, but we still enjoyed our services in its temporary home. The ladies at the spa were helpful in setting us up and I even took home some spa goodies!
The staff was friendly, helpful and always available when we needed someone. We had a great time at the fun & informative wine tasting with Edward. When (not if) we go back, we will definitely request to sit in his section at dinner so he can assist us with wine pairings. This guy is passionate about wine and knows his stuff! We enjoyed breakfast, lunch & dinner at the restaurant + snacks poolside with our Total Travaasa experience. all of our meals were very good…flavorful, fresh and I always went away satisfied but not feeling miserably full. The bartender (so sad I forget his name!) makes some creative and absolutely delish summer cocktails! I got brave & went with his recommendations…tried a couple of new things …so glad I did. Very impressive.
We went with the intention of signing up for a lot of the "experience." But we ended up just going with the flow…and doing our own thing. I will say that the sign up boards for activities do fill up quickly (they post them for sign up the night before at 9 pm) but I heard people say that they were able to join in activities that were filled up on the sign up sheets because there are typically "no-shows." Same thing with dinner reservations; reservations were full when we arrived for check in. But the person who showed us to our room suggested we show up at the restaurant to see if they might be able to accommodate us. After a very short wait, they did. Another option is eating at the bar where you can order from a separate bar food menu or the regular dinner one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kriscrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear kriscrack,
I appreciate your wonderful review of Travaasa. It sounds like you did a lot while you were here, but took some time to just go with the flow. We can't wait to have you back!
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had high expectations for Travaasa Austin, and they went on and exceeded them anyways! I truly felt like a special guest during every part of my stay, from the welcome process, to the extensive tour (thank you Brian!), to the room, to the amazing dinner and breakfast, and even while on a horse following Jody! They really know how to do hospitality right.
Note: If you have any food allergies, this is heaven for you. They will literally customize ANY dish already have a number of allergy friendly items available (gluten free, vegan, etc.). One of the best meals I have had this year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterE83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear peterE83,
Thank you so much for your fabulous review of Travaasa! It was a pleasure meeting you and I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed all of your experiences here. We look forward to having you and your wife stay with us soon.
Warm regards,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I visited Travaasa last weekend for a quick getaway.
We were so impressed. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by super friendly staff. Our room was small but very clean and nice - think "luxury meets nature". The restaurant was EXCELLENT every time. The menu is not super extensive, as it changes daily, but every single thing we had was AMAZING. Pricey, but amazing. There was a full list of activities to choose from every day. Our favorite thing was one-on-one horseback riding lessons and the farm tour. My husband did the challenge course and had a blast. The pool is beautiful. Everything about this place is just great. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSLJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear MrsSLJP,
Thanks so much for your awesome review of Travaasa! I am so glad to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. We're happy to hear that you loved our dining room and our small, but varied, menu of fresh foods. We can't wait to see you back again soon.
Best regards,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Beautiful resort but the service was ridiculous. Time after time, they messed up reservations, room amenities. The restaurant had such bad service for several meals (never dinner). Could be a really great resort but they seriously need to work on their staff's training. Would not recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank breit5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear breit5,
I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your October stay with us. I trust that we have addressed the issues you mention, but would love to hear more about your stay to make sure. Please feel free to contact me directly at 512-493-3668 to see how we can make it up to you. We'd love have you back for another stay to give us an opportunity to wow you.
All the best,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 201 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Hotel Granduca Austin
#7 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
W Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#6 of 201 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Austin

Property: Travaasa Austin
Address: 13500 Farm to Market Road 2769, Austin, TX 78726
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Austin
#2 Spa Hotel in Austin
#2 Family Hotel in Austin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#33 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Austin Hill Country only 30 minutes from eclectic downtown Austin, Traavasa Austin is nestled into 210 acres of the Balcones Canyonlands Preserve overlooking beautiful Lake Travis. Travaasa Austin boasts 70 guestrooms located within seven lodges interspersed along meandering paths allowing resort guests to soak in the natural habitat of the local Hill Country in a resort campus setting. The resort includes a movement studio, infinity pool, beautifully appointed restaurant and bar with outdoor patio and exhibition kitchen, a tranquil spa and gracious accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travaasa Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travaasa Austin Hotel Austin
Travaasa Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing