We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Important to visit for an insight into Texas todya.”

Bullock Texas State History Museum
Ranked #4 of 321 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum that chronicles the history of Texas with three themed exhibits: Land, Identity and Opportunity.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Beaverton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Important to visit for an insight into Texas todya.”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We've all heard that Texas is unique, and it's hard not to notice the pride Texans have in their state. This museum helps visitors understand why this is so. What other state was its own country? What other state fought a revolution to win its own freedom? Not that they got it right always -- they fought that fight because Mexico outlawed slavery and Texas came down in favor of that crime. All in all, well done museum. Take at least two hours. We moved along, but 1 and a half was not enough.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,331
    579
    130
    35
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a cold afternoon”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Spent an afternoon here with three generations, and there was something for everyone. On the ground floor there was a (temporary, I assume) exhibit about the evolution of mammals, which enthralled everyone.

The rest of the museum is devoted to the history of the state. It sort of glossed over the original inhabitants (I thought) and glorified (I thought) the defenders of the Alamo, but overall, it was clear, concise, and entertaining, if a bit expensive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElliottBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fascinating place”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I came to Texas with almost no knowledge of the history of the place; I knew there was an Alamo, I knew there'd been a massacre there, I didn't know who'd massacred whom. The museum is comprehensive, it's clear, it's fascinating. It starts in prehistory, gets going when the Spanish turn up, and stops in 1970, but only because it's run out of building; there's nothing that I'd want to remove to squeeze more 20th-century in.

Free entry first Sunday of the month

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThomasWomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Feeling tired after a day of sightseeing in Austin, we weren't sure whether to visit the Bob Bullock museum, but we decided to go ahead. Well worth a visit, we spent about two hours here, but could have stayed longer. We particularly enjoyed the 20th century exhibits.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdeleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent snapshot of Texas History”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Walking in cold is very entertaining, but they also have special exhibits such as the recently discovered ship wreck off of Galveston Island. Also, there is an IMAX theater in the building and covered parking in the building as well. Very user friendly, with a gift store and sandwich shop. I am proud to be a member of this Museum.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Swede037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bullock Texas State History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bullock Texas State History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing