We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't count on early check in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Austin - North Central
Ranked #172 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Austin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't count on early check in!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I had a client in town to look at real estate. They wanted to check in before we got busy. The clerk said that the room wasn't ready and we would have to wait 15 to 20 minutes. We thought that would not be long and felt they might have the room ready even quicker. Wrong! The clerk made them wait until 3 o'clock check in time, a 45 minute wait. Miraculously all the rooms were ready at 3 o'clock! I don't get it, why make a customer wait? Obviously it was not a ready issue. House keeping shouldn't take 45 minuets to make a bed!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DDavidATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - North Central, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The situation you described regarding the wait time for checking in is truly regrettable. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will train our staff to be more resourceful and efficient in checking guest into the hotel. We are very sorry. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. Please contact me, at AMT@extendedstay.com, so we can speak directly. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    8
    20
    51
See reviews for
25
19
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, OR
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed at Extended Stay Austin, North Central from May 9-13, 2013. Room was fine, bed comfortable, carpets a little worn and looked not so clean. But overall for the price it was fine. I'm not totally picky and usually fine if room is clean.

Room Tip: One thing though...if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that doesn't face the freeway beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

day staff are argumentative and rude. I was only contacted regarding paying my bill which was always wrong. I was charged for another rooms fees and was spoken down to by Colette and Martin at the front desk when I seeked clarification.
Never once did they offer to clean my roim in the ELEVEN nights I was a guest.
They charged my friends credit card Without Authorization.
My room key was deactivated at least 7 times during my stay.
Absolutely THE WORST customer service I have ever experienced.
THE CUSTOMER IS WRONG HERE..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - North Central, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the staff not being able to attend to your needs appropriately. Please know, Colette and Martin were only trying to help you; however, I am disheartened to hear that their communications were not executed in the best way possible. As well, we did charge a third party credit card, per the authorized form, for your first 2-nights at the hotel as requested. After that, payments were scheduled as your stay was extended. I am sorry if that message was not conveyed properly. We would never charge a card without the proper authorization first.

Again, please accept our most sincere apologies for the issues you experienced while staying with us. We hope you had a good stay overall and will join us again at any one of our brand locations throughout the U.S. and Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
199 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked this hotel through Expedia and was initially kind of wary of what it would look.
Our stay was very pleasant and it exceeded our expectation.
The check-in was smooth and easy. The attendant was friendly and helpful.
Our room was pretty spacious with a full kitchen (full fridge, pots and pans, plates, bowls, cups, silver wares, stove, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, and a coffee maker, a living room (that can be converted to another sleeping area), a bedroom, and a bathroom space (only bar soap is provided, you need to bring your own shampoo and and conditioner; they also have irons and hairdryer).
A grab and go breakfast is provided between 6 AM - 9.30 AM. They serve apples, oranges, instant oatmeal, coffee, tea, cocoa, muffins, and granola bars.
Plenty of parking space. We didn't get to use their swimming pool or fitness center.
We were locked out of our room one night and the manager swiftly resolved the situation.
Though the carpet needs a little touch up and the air needs to be freshened up, our overall stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Coffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

so me and my two friends checked in at about 11 pm we went up to our room opened the door and we saw a bag on the counter then a the sudden we hear someone say hello? SOMEONE WAS SLEEPING IN OUR ROOM! so my friends ran down the hall and I stayed in case this person wanted to know why we broke into their room. but instead he locked the door. so we go downstairs and tell the lady at the from desk that she booked us someone's room and all she said was sorry. didn't offer a discount or refund or anything! then she says there is only one room available so we take it and we ask if if is non smoking because we wanted a non smoking. so we get to our room and there are cigarette burns in the bathroom and on the countertops in the kitchen area. and the floor was really sticky! so we decide to go downstairs to the vending machine and when we get in the elevator three other people get in with us and the three people all have blunts in their hands. it smelled like weed in the elevator and in the lobby. so we go into the vending machine room and the vending machine doesn't take quarters. overall it was just a very weird expierence. I'm not gonna lie it was pretty funny considering I'm 18 and it was my first time being in a hotel without an adult. so my friends and I thought the whole thing was hilarious but yeah the hotel was pretty bad.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessicajean0_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - North Central, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. The situation you described regarding being checked into an already occupied room is truly regrettable. In addition, we are very sorry for your experience you encountered with some of our other guests. Your comments were reviewed by the entire staff, and we will make sure everyone is aware of the need to inform Management when we have a guest practicing these types of activities in our hotel. I really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. Please contact me, at amt@extendedstay.com, so we can speak directly. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

First we did a reservation for a non smoking room and as we cheked in late, the reception guy told us that they just had one room left and it was a smoking one, and if we didn't want it, we nedded to look for another hotel, so at 10pm, we didn't have a choice but stay. When we first opened  the door, the most shocking thing was the cigar odor mixed with air refreshner odor, it was just nasty. Then the sofa bed was really dirty and smelly. I think that the worse part was when I took off my shoes and putted my barefeet on the carpet... SO sticky, like it has never been cleaned. It was just the worse hotel room that I have ever been in. Then in the morning, when went to have "breakfast"  there was just coffee, hot water, apples, baby muffins and oatmeal to go. That was it. So I was thirsty and I asked the clerk for water, as simple as a glass of  water and the answer was: 'you have a filter in the sink in your room'... and I didn't wanted to go back to that nasty room. So that was it. Worse hotel ever!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronicaMontilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - North Central, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Veronica - I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I am so disappointed that the room type you booked was not available at your time of check-in. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are going to be working on how to handle reservation requests moving forward. In addition, I have met with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to make them aware of the guest room issues you experienced during your stay at our hotel.

I really appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. Please contact me, at amt @extendedstay.com, so we can speak directly. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

After eleven months staying at that hotel, I realized how bad were Robert and Martin as Managers for that location.

When I move out, I forgot to take with me an expensive jacket, a watch, and some other items.

After taking to Martin, and getting his assurance that they will hold the jacket for me; when my GF went to pick it they sais that they have never saw it.

Then, after complaining to HQ, they change their story to authorized them to throw it in the garbage.

I just recommend people to stay away from Stay America; there are better hotels where things just do not disappear???

Shame on the Hotel Managers, and the Regional Managers that do not investigate things properly

Last thing, area is surrounded with a high crime and drug addicts.

Room Tip: No Spa, no restaurant, do not try to walk around the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOAustin, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - North Central, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am so disappointed that your items were not located after you checked out of the hotel. Please accept my apology. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am retraining our housekeeping staff about our lost and found practices. You also mentioned the area was unsafe, we as a management team are working diligently to ensure the safety of our guests and take the necessary precautions to maintain the area. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Austin North
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#142 of 199 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
0.9 mi away
Budget Inn Capitol
Budget Inn Capitol
#131 of 199 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge North Austin
Econo Lodge North Austin
#143 of 199 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Austin North Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Austin - North Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - North Central

Property: Extended Stay America - Austin - North Central
Address: 8221 North I-35, Austin, TX 78753 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Austin - North Central)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - North Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - North Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Austin
Austin Extended Stay
Extended Stay America - Austin - North Central Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing