We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Ranked #121 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel is within minutes of downtown, without the downtown price! The room looked like it was recently redone, and was very comfortable. Above all the service was the best part! I stayed for a few days, and each person I encountered was very friendly and helpful, especially Sabrina at the front desk!
Noon check out was great, and transportation to downtown and airport was quick and easy. Would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art94588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding our hotel. Yes, we recently completed a full renovation in June of last year. I am glad that you found our service outstanding. Sabrina is a great asset to our team, she consistently provides great service to all of our guests. I will be sure to post your review for our staff to read.

We look forward to your next visit with us.


Sincerely,

Pamela Willingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We procrastinated booking a hotel for a weekend trip (Presidents Day and Valentines) so pickings were slimmer than we had imagined.. This hotel was in the right location for our planned activities and the price was great.

The room was totally fine. We had the King room, so it had a microwave, fridge, desk...There's free wi-fi..all the usual amenities of a hotel. Check-in and out was quick and easy. No breakfast, but we knew that booking. There is coffee.


So why is this 2 stars? We were in room 121. I will tell you now, if you check-in and they hand you keys for 121, DONT TAKE THEM. Friday night was a bit noisy. We could hear everything at the front desk and the lobby, as well as the elevators dinging. I should've asked to change rooms that Saturday, but it was very full and I didn't think much of it, and figured I'd be tired enough to sleep. Saturday night...awake from about 1:30-4AM. Incredibly loud drunk people coming in every fifteen minutes. So that isn't the hotels fault, but honestly, 121 should NOT BE A ROOM. It shared a wall with the "kitchen" lobby-thing, it was the first room off the lobby and right by the elevator bank, and directly across from the public restrooms in the lobby. So drunk people, alright. I won't hold that against Red Roof. Then its 1:45 and Rihanna "SHINE BRIGHT LIKE A DIAMOND" is just BLARING, and so I put on clothes in this sleepy-rage and stagger outside my room to find and destroy the source, and it's a radio. in the kitchen. in the CABINET. that is built onto the wall that divides the kitchen from my room. Seriously. It's on louder than I knew a radio that size could play.

Honestly, what? You can have lobby music. You can even have Top 40 lobby music. But how about you turn it off at 10PM? Also, clue, don't put the radio inside a cabinet at top volume that is directly next to a guest room.

Sunday morning we asked for a new room. We got 101, which they showed us and asked if it was OK, I said yes, even though this one is by another back entry door..I figured we may get people coming and going but nothing like the lobby. This was correct, occasional awakenings due to doors, but a solid 80% sound reduction.

So. The room was absolutely fine, everything I need in a hotel room. The staff was great, they moved us without question (probably because every guest who ever stayed in 121 demanded to move). Parking was plentiful, and the location was perfect for access to McKinney Falls, Barton Springs, Town Lake, South Congress, etc etc. However, I will have flashbacks every time I ever hear Rihanna again. Turn 121 into a storage room and never put guests there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from 121.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are very important to us.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and that you found our newly renovated hotel to your liking.

I apologize in regard to the noise from the coffee area- I understand how frustrating this can be when you are trying to rest. I will remind our staff that the music needs to remain on in the evening.

I hope you will choose us again when your travels bring you to the Austin area again.


Sincerely,

Pamela Willingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed one night. Room was clean although needed some minor maintenance (but not enough to cause concern). We had a room facing the interstate. You could hear the heavy traffic however we solved that problem by putting on the air conditioning fan

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcm682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our newly renovated rooms. I understand about the noise from the freeway and we are researching options in order to resolve this.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Austin area.


Sincerely,
Pamela Willingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The staff was great, helpful and friendly. The hotel has recently been updated and the rooms are clean, comfortable and new. No problems with finding an easy route to downtown Austin. The hotel is near I35 and Hwy71. A noon check out time was great. A good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasSAgirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is always nice to read such great comments in regard to our staff and hotel.
I am glad that you liked our newly renovated property and found the guest rooms clean and comfortable.
I will post your review for our staff to read.


Sincerely,

Pamela Willingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here at RRI for an extended period of time (November 2013 to January 2014)after our home was destroyed in a flood. To say we were traumatized is an understatement. The staff at this hotel (particulary Sabrina at the front desk, and Tony the maintenance guy) were outstanding! They did everything they could to minimize our trauma and make our stay pleasant. The hotel was very clean, beds quite comfortable, and location very convenient. THANK YOU Sabrina and Tony for making a traumatic time in our lives less traumatic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that our staff provided you with great service during your stay. It is unfortunate that your stay with us was due to unfortunate circumstances, however I am glad that we were able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
I will be sure to post your review for our staff to read.

Thank you again for such wonderful comments.


Sincerely,

Pamela Willingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Great Value with a recently renovated facility.right off HWY 35 within a 12 minute drive to the Austin Airport. Very clean and great beds. I would stay anytime I fly out of Austin. Nice and helpful staff. Convenient parking. In all you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bonarrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always nice to read such great comments about our hotel and staff.
I am glad that you found our new beds comfortable and enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. I will be sure to post your review for our staff to read.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Austin area.


Sincerely,
Pamela Willingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is actually one of the nicest Red Roof Inns we have stayed at. We are big fans of RRI because of their pet policy, although we didn't have our dogs with us on this trip. This inn is a "big city" Red Roof Inn and is a multi-story hotel, very likely remodeled after being taken over from another chain. The only problem we had was that we arrived early and so the housekeepers had not fully supplied our room with linens and while they did bring some hand towels to the room, it never got fully supplied. Nevertheless we found it very comfortable and enjoyed our stay here very much.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the freeway, as it is a little noisy although the noise insulation is prett...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela W, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you found our hotel clean and comfortable. We strive to provide the best possible service to each of our guests.

I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Austin area.


Sincerely,

Pamela Willingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Austin
Wyndham Garden Austin
#52 of 202 in Austin
1,555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Austin South
8.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin South / IH35
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Austin South
Courtyard Austin South
#63 of 202 in Austin
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Signature Austin South Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South

Address: 4701 South I-35, Austin, TX 78744 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Austin - University of Texas)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#70 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £52 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The Red Roof PLUS+ Austin South, TX is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to I-35, SR-71 and South Congress Ave (SoCo) shopping district. The Red Roof Inn Austin is conveniently located near Austin Bergstrom International Airport (AUS), University of Texas-Austin, Southwest Texas State University and St. Edward's University. This hotel is also near the Texas State Capitol, Lyndon B. Johnson Memorial Library, Texas Memorial Stadium, Krieg Field and Palmer Auditorium.When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. The Red Roof PLUS+ Austin South with free WiFi, suites, an outdoor heated pool, in-room safes, elevators, interior corridors, and more. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Austin - University Of Texas Hotel Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing