We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Terrace Bar!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Ranked #10 of 205 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I didn't stay at this hotel, but I visited the bar for drinks with a coworker. We had spotted the Terrace Bar on a previous trip and wanted to check it out. The bartender, Taylor, was very friendly and helpful. They have a broad selection of drinks and nice wine list. The atmosphere was great to enjoy a glass of wine outside on the terrace overlooking the capitol and the chairs/couches are very comfortable.

Overall it was a nice experience and will return on future trips.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blonde_intheDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for those wonderful comments! We appreciate your feedback and your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,199 - 1,205 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed at the SFA for business meeting. The room was great. Upgraded to a suite. No complaints.

The meetings rooms were fine. The breakfasts and lunch provided were great.

Would choose SFA whenever visiting Austin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

We appreciate your comments! Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We failed to make reservations, but the staff at the front desk were able to find us a room. The room was small and extremely nice and comfortable. We visited a local street event a few blocks away and had an amazing weekend out of town. We would highly recommend this older, but refurished hotel. It's a landmark hotel, elegant and affordable.

Room Tip: Make reservations ahead of time. We could have had a bigger room if we had booked ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Hello and thank you for taking time to provide feedback from your recent stay. We are so glad you found our property pleasing, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Our first (and lovely room) on the 9th floor was right next to the elevators. While resting in the room we heard a consistent clack-clack-clack as one of the elevators moved up and down. No way to sleep with that going on. Upon request the front desk quickly and graciously moved us to another, larger room which was even nicer than our first. Our two-day stay in this hotel was terrific. We were warmly greeted by all the staff we met. The location was excellent for seeing the sights of downtown Austin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuxster51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you! Hope to have you as our guest again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Room was great, large, clean and updated. Really a great historic hotel with an amazing restrauant "Rolling Fork"....plus a very nice balcony to have a late afternoon cocktail. It also has an awesome location, can walk to almost everything downtown. Only drawback is parking. They do have valet which is expensive. You can park overnight across the street (on the street) if it is available.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill_Radio61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

We would like to thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay, and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I've stayed here a few times, and enjoyed it every time. There is a certain amount of history seeping into the place, but it is still modern enough to make you not worry about the wiring.

If you like room and a nice lounge, I recommend paying extra for the "club" suites. If you don't mind walking around, forego that and budget extra time instead.

Of course, if you stay here long enough, you'll have to decide: are you one of the "keep Austin weird" types, the nostalgic UT types, or the SXSW techie types? Or maybe the old-time Texan type? You get more of the UT and old-time Texans here, which I prefer. (Techies are so last month when it comes to hotel stays.)

Room Tip: Big rooms cost extra but may be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLAfromMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments! And Thank You for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay here, but you may be drawn into this historic hotel as we were by the 2nd floor wrap-around veranda, or the historic plaque on the south facing exterior. Once inside you walk through a beautifully appointed lobby with a very cool library-lounge. Walk up the classic staircase to its first landing and see the birdcage with butterflies (not real) that spread out across the facing wall to the right and left and choose which side to go up, as the stairs split off to each side. To the left at the top you'll find the bar and you'll find yourself walking out to the veranda that looks directly over the street. We didn't stay in a room, but you'll enjoy the overall experience of an reatores. historic hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mysteri0usTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Hello and thank you for the wonderful comments! I'm so glad you found our property appealing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 205 in Austin
2,125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#13 of 205 in Austin
2,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 205 in Austin
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#23 of 205 in Austin
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Stephen F. Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £150 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will feel like you are truly experiencing Austin from the moment you arrive. Originally built in 1924 and located in the heart of downtown Austin just one block from 6th Street, 5 blocks from the State Capital, and surrounded by all the best that Austin has to offer. Enjoy our rich history, luxurious facilities and accommodations, and true southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing