We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right where you want to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Ranked #11 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here two nights and found the service to be great, from providing umbrellas, to help in the business center and to taking care of a request for the room. Good location on 7th Street and Congress, within walking distance of most of downtown. Our room was large and comfy, no complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pensfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hello and thank you for taking time to complete this survey! We are so pleased that you enjoyed our property, and Austin. Please do come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Checked in on a very busy Friday and as Platinum members we were placed on the club level which was very nice. The hotel has been recently renovated and is beautifully decorated throughout as well as historic. The room was very small with a queen bed but beautiful decor, colors and furniture and the tiny bathroom was very nice. I understand that these historic hotels can be small but love them for their charm. The location is perfect to walk all over downtown. After a fun evening and dinner out we finally returned and went to bed late. When I first laid on the bed I couldn't believe how uncomfortable it was and it was caving to the middle and I am small! The bed at the Intercontinental in Montreal last summer was heavenly! Then to further disrupt a good nights sleep, were the loud slamming doors as guests entered and exited their rooms - the walls were shaking and it started again before 7am in the morning. This class of hotel needs to address some way for the heavy doors not to slam shut instead of a softer close and if the gap under the doors was not quite so big that would help with noise control - I even put a towel down there at night. I am always skeptical when I read such mixed good and bad reviews of the same hotel but feel the need to be honest. I went back and checked and see very few mentions of the beds in any of the reviews - good or bad. Hopefully it was a random incident. The front desk promised to check it out and did comp my parking fee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nowpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We so appreciate you taking time to post a survey from your recent stay with us. I do want to apologize for what sounds like a frustrating night's rest. I have shared your comments and we are actively looking into your issues. I do hope we are able to welcome you back one day soon, this time for a more restful night's sleep! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed 1 night in October, Plat Ambr Member and they treat you fantastically (I wish all Intercontinental Hotels were like this). Traveled for Business. Friendly Faces from the minute the valet helps you with your bags and vehicle. Great check in, greeted by name. The hotel is very clean, very well decorated, and the lobby has a nice busy, but comfortable feel. Room was excellent, large with high quality materials. I used the exercise facilities downstairs and they were very clean with plenty of machines and equipment. Ate at the Roaring Fork, connected to Lobby and the food was excellent without being expensive. Had a drink upstairs on the 2nd floor bar, it has a great wrap around balcony overlooking Congress St and 7th. 2 block walk to the heart of 6th street music scene. Had a great in room breakfast- get the eggs benedict. Every time you pick up the phone in the room to ask any questions, directions or about the facilities you are greeted by name and that is a very nice touch. I'm hoping I need to come back to Austin very soon, and I will be staying here again!!!

Room Tip: High Floors are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atltraveler607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments! We take great pride in our guest services; I'm pleased to know we did not let you down! We certainly look forward to the next time you are in Austin, and hope we are able to host you at that time! In the meantime, I hope that you have the opportunity to stay or dine at our sister property, the InterContinental Buckhead, there in Atlanta. Thank you again and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Great team here. They take great care of you and are more than willing to go out of their way to ensure your stay is great.

Tammie Linden and the team at the front desk were very helpful in any request i ad from forgetting my tooth brush and replacing it, to helping me get to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoryaSmits12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Hello and thank you so much for the very kind words. We take great pride not only in our beautiful and historic hotel, but also in our incredible staff, including Tammie who truly delivers that great guest service that we strive for. I will be sure to share your comments with her as well as with her supervisor. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is very well located in downtown Austin. We were able to walk to the capitol building, the Bullock Museum, and the Congress St. Bridge. Our room was very nicely appointed, the bed comfortable, and very quiet at night. Probably because this is an older building the room was a bit small by today's standards but wasn't a problem. Valet parking was expensive but very efficient. Hotel employees were very friendly and always helpful. Overall, we found this hotel to be a good choice for us.

Room Tip: We opted for an executive king room which was on the top floor and gave us access to the lounge on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DICKKEIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We are so fortunate to have this wonderful location. Our guests love being able to walk to so many fun and interesting places, then return in time for a nice evening on our terrace! Thank you for taking time to share your comments, and I do hope we are able to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We recently spent an evening downtown in Austin and found a good price on a room at this hotel. I am an Ambassador's Club member at this hotel chain, so my room was upgraded and included a gift of fruit and cookies, which is a nice touch. Staff was polite and attentive. The rooms were very clean.
There are other downtown hotels that cost quite a bit more than this hotel, and I think this location is absolutely perfect. Whether you want to venture out to 6th Street, the capitol or Ladybird Lake, you can walk easily from this hotel.
We did not use the restaurant facility, so I can't comment on it's quality. We did, however, have many fine restaurants a short walk from the hotel.
All in all, shop around for a good price in downtown Austin. If this hotel comes up on your search, know it is a fine value among the many choices available.

Room Tip: If you travel consistently, it will be worth looking into the Ambassador's program. You must pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steinermayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for allowing us to host you recently, and for the wonderful recommendation! Hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Very personable, pleasant & accommodating staff, especially appreciated the hospitality of Guest Service Agent, Jamiliah Pascal. Beautifully elegant & comfortable Southern hotel, centrally located for best downtown experience - & the Tito's gift bag didn't hurt either ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review, and for choosing to stay with us at the InterContinental! We are so fortunate to be in this great location, and equally as fortunate to have Jamiliah and many other incredible staff to serve our guests. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 201 in Austin
2,007 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#14 of 201 in Austin
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Stephen F. Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
#15 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £126 - £502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping it weird in style ever since we opened in 1924, thanks to the people of Austin who funded our construction! When we opened we were the tallest building in Austin at 10 stories tall. We have gotten a little taller, 15 stories currently, but the city has grown up around us over the years making us a hidden gem in the heart of downtown. We are located 1 block from 6th street, 3 blocks from the Capitol and walking distance to all the activities that make Austin the amazing city that it is. If you are looking for the true experience of Texas and Austin book a room with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing