We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Ranked #13 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Location of the hotel was perfect... We were upgraded to a suit room and it was really the best ...
Food, service was excellent... And ofcourse the management and staff was perfect,trying their best to make your stay unforgettable... Highly recommended...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALEV M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Hello Alev and thank you for the very nice review and recommendation! We are so pleased you enjoyed our property and hope you are able to come back and see us one day! I see that you are in Istanbul; we have a beautiful InterContinental there which would be worth visiting. Particularly their newly renovated Safran Restaurant; great views and live classical Fasil music! Sounds heavenly!

Thank you again and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

This fabulous hotel was recommended by a friend....what an amazing experience! We came for a nice getaway after the Christmas holiday. The hotel is beautiful with a fabulous setting on Congress St. giving easy access to everything Austin! The staff / customer service made the experience that much better....what a great group of people. The room was wonderful and the food was awesome. I would come back here anytime . See you soon.........

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you! Testimonies from guests such as yourself are priceless! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and do come back and see us soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Was on business and loved this hotel. It was recently remodeled and beautifully done. My room was so pleasant and I slept well in one of the most comfortable beds ever. It also had a high tech panel to control the air and lights from the bed. The food was the best I've had at any hotel and the service was phenomenal. Even the meeting room was enjoyable - with french doors to an outdoor terrace. It's also in the heart of downtown. Not one negative at this InterContinental, which was a pleasant surprise!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank CRMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Hello and thank you so much for that wonderful 5 Star review! We appreciate your business and that fact that you took time to share your comments. Take care and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My friend and I stayed here shortly after Christmas. The hotel is beautiful. The service we received everywhere was wonderful. The room was lovely! Jamiliah at the front desk was super helpful to us. We asked for tips on what to see in the city, and she gave us exactly the information we were looking for. With her recommendations, we had an amazing time in Austin. She was super kind and remembered us even. Jamiliah alone gets five stars!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

We couldn't agree with you more....Jamiliah does get 5 Stars! She is wonderful, as is the rest of our staff here at the InterContinental. Thank you and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was greeted by name by the valet as a returning customer. The front desk clerk also recognized me and had my upgraded room ready. I've stayed at the hotel a few times, but I was really surprised at how much attention they paid to making sure everything was right: from special pillows to a call from the concierge prior to my arrival checking to see if I needed help with dinner reservations. In addition, the rooms are very quiet and comfortable, the bathrooms aren't tiny, the gym is outstanding, and the location can't be beat. It's now the only place I'll stay in Austin.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great. Loved 1601.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhitBKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for this wonderful review of the InterContinental! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Intercontinental Stephen F. Austin for seven nights. It was a good stay. The hotel is in a great location, with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. The standard room is not very large, but what one can expect in a historical hotel, but they are updated and in good condition.

There was a small space available in the mini bar for personal items, but one has to be careful not to set off the sensors for other items.

There is a handy bedside touchpad to control room lights and temperature.

The pool and gym areas were clean and rarely had people there at the same time as us, as the hotel didn’t seem to be particularly busy. There was a good variety of equipment in the gym. As it was a lap pool, we did not make use of it, but the Jacuzzi was nice. There was also complimentary fruit in the gym entrance.

The downsides of our stay: considering we were staying there for seven nights (ie. a lot of sleeping time), our room was not ideal in that it was right by the elevators and every time the elevator arrived at the floor, there was a loud bing, which was audible throughout the night.
Another annoyance was that, although there was never an explanation offered, but it seems like by clockwork every two days, our keys would reset and after trying to get into our room with both of our key cards, we would have to go back down to front desk to have them reactivated. Again, like the elevator sounds, there weren’t huge issues, but over the course of a seven night stay, they end up being annoying by virtue frequency.

Also, while there were normally 2-3 front desk staff during the day, it was a bit frustrating that on the day we checked out, right at check out time, there was only one person working. If there is any time for there to be additional staff, it seems like check out time would be it.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Staff were courteous and helpful and the hotel made for a great home base as we explored Austin for the week.

On additional note: standard wifi was $49.95 for the week. It would have been nice to upgrade to a Club floor, but it would have added a substantial cost for the number of nights that we were staying.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allplanenotrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Hello and thank you for that wonderful review. I wanted to apologize for the noise issues you experienced. On your next stay, which I hope is very soon, please do let us know that you prefer a room that is away from the elevators, and we will do our very best to accommodate you! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I was amazed at the service at this property! Everyone went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay. The rooms are very clean, modern and spacious. I loved the touch pad by the bed to turn the lights off and adjust the temperature. I stayed here over New Year's Eve with my husband and 3 year old and we could not have picked a better hotel for comfort, service and location. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danabfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

What wonderful comments! Thank you for sharing and come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#29 of 201 in Austin
2,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#14 of 201 in Austin
2,227 reviews
9.3 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 201 in Austin
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#28 of 201 in Austin
1,800 reviews
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#20 of 201 in Austin
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Stephen F. Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
#15 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £107 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping it weird in style ever since we opened in 1924, thanks to the people of Austin who funded our construction! When we opened we were the tallest building in Austin at 10 stories tall. We have gotten a little taller, 15 stories currently, but the city has grown up around us over the years making us a hidden gem in the heart of downtown. We are located 1 block from 6th street, 3 blocks from the Capitol and walking distance to all the activities that make Austin the amazing city that it is. If you are looking for the true experience of Texas and Austin book a room with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing