We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Ranked #11 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
“Great Reception”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My office hosted a reception at the Stephen F. during SXSW 2014. The staff bent over backwards to make it a success. Shipping, decorations, a friendly staff behind counter and the concierge desk... If you've got an event, this is a great place to start.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thanks Colin, for that nice review! Glad you were able to make it to SXSW all the way from chilly NJ! The weather here wasn't perfect, but I hope it was a nice respite for you. Thanks for letting us know how we're doing, and do come back and see us again real soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    227
    73
    25
    8
See reviews for
148
331
39
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I managed a block of 40 rooms for employees and clients during SXSW. Anyone who has managed a block before knows how much of a headache it can be - with constantly changing itineraries and high maintenance guests. The Group Rooms Coordinator was extremely attentive and took care of my daily edits to the room list in a timely manner. I've heard nothing but positive things from the guests that stayed in the rooms during the block as well. We've held a block at the SFA for 4 years straight now and have no intention of changing hotels.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laytron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thanks Laytron. It's hard to imagine, but SXSW seems to be getting bigger and better each year and we just love hosting all the wonderful people that come into Austin to take advantage of it! We are tickled that the InterContinental suits your needs perfectly, and I wanted to thank you for mentioning Jason, our Group Rooms Coordinator who was so much help to our SXSW guests. I'll be sure to pass your comments on to him. Thank you again, and we'll see you for the 2015 SXSW festivities! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed last week for 4 nights, and it was a good experience overall. The service was stellar, and Tammie was particularly helpful printing out boarding passes and ordering a taxi. It's nice to stay in a place where they make the effort to know your name and where requests are taken care of efficiently and always with a smile.

The gym downstairs was better than most hotel gyms--that is to say, not as good as a "real" gym, but much more than just a couple of machines as you normally find in hotels--and the jacuzzi was terrific. The pool is small and poorly marked or lit for lap swimming--the ends were dark, so it was hard to know when you were getting to the wall--but this is a minor complaint. Best of all, I was the only one in the pool or jacuzzi every time I used them.

We had a corner room that was nice and large, though the layout made strange use of the space--for example, a huge block of wasted space just inside the door. The bathroom was also large, but the sink area (where you'd want some space) was cramped. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom door creaked loudly enough to wake me up from a dead sleep a couple of times. I could have asked someone to fix it, and I'm sure they would have, based on the great service we got any other time we needed something; I just forgot to mention it. The towels were very plush, and the bath products were good quality. The room was a bit noisy--footsteps above, mostly--but not horribly so.

The restaurant with the strange name--The Roaring Fork (can you see the marketing team choosing that off the brainstorming flipchart? I can't)--was surprisingly good and reasonably priced. The location was within easy walking distance of anything downtown...though downtown Austin is not so exciting, but that isn't the hotel's fault. All in all, a good experience, and again, cannot say enough about the great service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_X2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thanks for that great survey Dave! We are always curious to know how our guests think we're doing, and appreciate the feedback. One of the things we take great pride in is our guest service, and it sounds like we met your expectations in that category, especially Tammie, so thank you for the shout out; I'll be sure to let her know. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

was in Austin for SXSW. i always stay at an Intercontinental when I travel on business because the service is unparalleled. this particular one exceeded expectations. the staff is extremely attentive and cheerful. room service is very good, and the afternoon chef, Sean, makes a killer plate of sweet potato fries. the lady in the business center, Tammie, was super helpful. i needed to print out a few important things and when the business center computer crashed, Tammie personally attended to my needs. never got that level attention from other business hotels. can 't wait to stay here again next year.

Room Tip: worth asking for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onejap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
So glad you were able to experience SXSW and all that Austin has to offer! Thank you for the great feedback, and we can't wait to see you again too! Next year....(or sooner)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife and I just returned from the IC in Austin and had a great stay. We were upgraded upon arrival and the staff was very friendly throughout our visit. The lounge and Roaring Fork restaurant had excellent drinks and food, reasonably priced as well. Our room was on the 9th floor facing 7th St and was fairly quiet, the only noise to speak of was the A/C unit that turned on and off pretty frequently, my only complaint. We used the workout facility in the basement, which was nicely equipped, then had a good breakfast in the Club IC. Overall a very good place to getaway for a few nights, great location and staff!

Room Tip: 9th floor, facing south, pretty insulated from external street noise, again A/C- Heating unit was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLI72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hello and thank you for that great 5 Star review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your getaway with us! We have some wonderful properties in San Antonio as well, but the next time you and your wife are up to another road trip, come on back and see us! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great bar! Awesome terrace (when weather permits). Brandy always takes great care of us-- remembering our drinks, and giving great service to any friends/clients we invite! This is a great place to welcome outsiders to Austin!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_Fritz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
GeorgeFritz! Thank you for that great review and for specifically mentioning Brandy. How lucky are we to have her on board? She's fantastic! Hope to see you again real soon, thanks for the recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Small but nice rooms with everything you need: TV, safe, a good amount of hangers, 24 hour room service. Gym, which I had to myself in the afternoons which was great. Free coffee in the morning waiting for me in the lobby as I leave for my work day. Great bar and food. Good choice for a visit!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Canari14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi Canari14! So glad you were able to spend some time with us from chilly NY! Hope the weather was cooperative during your stay. Thanks for taking some time to write this great 5 Star review; we really appreciate your feedback, and are thrilled you found us acceptable. Come back and see us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 202 in Austin
1,966 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 202 in Austin
2,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 202 in Austin
1,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#17 of 202 in Austin
1,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Stephen F. Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Property: InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
#15 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping it weird in style ever since we opened in 1924, thanks to the people of Austin who funded our construction! When we opened we were the tallest building in Austin at 10 stories tall. We have gotten a little taller, 15 stories currently, but the city has grown up around us over the years making us a hidden gem in the heart of downtown. We are located 1 block from 6th street, 3 blocks from the Capitol and walking distance to all the activities that make Austin the amazing city that it is. If you are looking for the true experience of Texas and Austin book a room with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing