We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Ranked #11 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
La Jolla
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful service great location”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel is currently being renovated but the king suite we stayed in was spacious enough and well fitted. The location in downtown Austin was great for walking and exploring. The staff was gracious and helpful, providing wonderful service and provided a nice surprise for our children (cookies and milk for bed). Especially helpful was Tammie Linden at the business center who helped when we had difficulty getting our flight information and boarding passes, and suggested some nice actives for our children. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive, with several varieties of food and fruit. Check out was easy.

Room Tip: While the south side might be noisier in the morning as it is over the entrance, it provided a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaJollaWorldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello and thank you for that wonderful survey! I must apologize however for what you must have taken as renovation; we are actually replacing our elevators and I suspect you saw the "repercussions" of that. I hope your were not inconvenienced as a result.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and trust that you and your family were able to experience the best of Austin while you were here! As you said, there are so many venues that are within walking distance of our property, and we feel very fortunate to be in such a great location. Thank you again, and hope to see you again the next time you're in Texas! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    218
    71
    24
    6
See reviews for
144
310
36
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Tammy from room service was amazing! Let me sleep an extra hour after a long business trip!!! God bless her! It was a blessing to know that there are actually people out there that care and take there time out to do wonderful things to make you happier :)

Room Tip: Every room is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STRYKER2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you STRYKER2014, for that great 5 Star review and for the shout out to Tammie! We get compliments on her very regularly; she's just the type of person who can anticipate what you need, and then make it happen. We're real lucky to have her on our team.

Thanks again and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

[Would be 3.5 stars if that were possible]

Austin is such a fun town and the Intercontinental is perfectly placed so that you are close to the action, but not stuck right in the middle of the action (the bars etc on 6th St can get a little on the loud side). Easy walking distance to all the good stuff!!

The building is lovely and has a really nice, old world charm to it, and the rooms are perfectly fine. The beds at Intercontinentals are always great, and this property is no exception. We also had a lovely view of the Capitol Building on this occasion.

There are slight problems with some of the services. Whilst we were there (for only 3 days) the internet and TV service dropped out repeatedly, the 'welcome amenity' items we were told with great gusto would be in our room as a welcome from the hotel only actually appeared on Day 3 and after much chasing at the front desk, and the breakfast which we ordered to the room (at a really high price, too) was missing some items and had errors with the rest of the order.

That said, I really enjoyed the stay and would come back here again. It is a charming property with really lovely staff, just don't expect it to be the most slick hotel you've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Kelly and thank you for your feedback. We are elated that you liked our hotel overall, but hope that we are able to welcome you back again, to "make up" for those service issues. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We loved our stay at the Intercontinental. As a platinum IHG rewards member, I was surprised they upgraded me on our recent award stay at the tail end of SXSW when the hotel was packed. We loved our huge room, the marble bathroom and all the amenities. It would be nice if they gave you more than a few inches of space in the refrigerator though. The hotel is just a block off the 6th Street entertainment area, so it's a great base for the bars along the street. It was quite noisy during SXSW itself, but it was pretty quiet even on St. Patrick's Day when 6th was hopping.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello Elizabeth and thank you for the nice compliment. I'm sorry your room was a little noisy. The next time, please ask the front desk if you can be relocated, and you have my word that we'll do our best to move you to a different room. I hope you enjoyed all that Austin has to offer, and I also hope that we are able to welcome you back soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leander, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here at Christmastime. It was amazing. Our room was gorgeous, with a huge bath and magnificent tub, a great big four poster bed, and a comfortable sitting area. It is within a short walk dozens of restaurants, bars, and music venues. Room service was fast and the portion sizes were generous. There were fresh flowers too! Valet was quick, and all in all we had a wonderful stay and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
And we can't wait to have you back Gail! Thank you for the lovely survey, and hope to see you and your husband again real soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stay at the InterContinental in Austin every year for the SXSW Music Festival. It is the perfect location- you feel right in the center of the action but you are actually just one block outside of the noise and can get great rest. This year I was in the middle of closing an important deal and without my own printer or fax machine and the Guest Services team, especially Ms. Linden really came through and helped me out so much. Thanks to Tammie!

Room Tip: The higher up, the quieter (during SXSW).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello JO from Austin, and thanks for that really nice survey! You mentioned Tammie specifically; she's a gem and we're so proud to have her on our team. Just one of the many folks that strive for great guest service every single day. I hope you were able to enjoy SXSW while you were here....!

Thank you again and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My office hosted a reception at the Stephen F. during SXSW 2014. The staff bent over backwards to make it a success. Shipping, decorations, a friendly staff behind counter and the concierge desk... If you've got an event, this is a great place to start.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thanks Colin, for that nice review! Glad you were able to make it to SXSW all the way from chilly NJ! The weather here wasn't perfect, but I hope it was a nice respite for you. Thanks for letting us know how we're doing, and do come back and see us again real soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 203 in Austin
1,912 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Stephen F. Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Property: InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#13 Green Hotel in Austin
#15 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping it weird in style ever since we opened in 1924, thanks to the people of Austin who funded our construction! When we opened we were the tallest building in Austin at 10 stories tall. We have gotten a little taller, 15 stories currently, but the city has grown up around us over the years making us a hidden gem in the heart of downtown. We are located 1 block from 6th street, 3 blocks from the Capitol and walking distance to all the activities that make Austin the amazing city that it is. If you are looking for the true experience of Texas and Austin book a room with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing