We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Ranked #11 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely room, great staff”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were very comfortable in our lovely room with efficient and practical layout. Upgraded to a suite, we had the extra luxury of an extra half bath. Really lovely traveling as a couple, especially if you are on different schedules. The bath had everything I appreciate, good water pressure in the shower, a tub, excellent lighting in an area to dress and get makeup on, all toiletries provided including mouthwash and razor. The bed was comfortable, the tv and changer worked, and the staff helpful to bring non-down pillows on request. In fact all our questions were answered quickly and in a friendly manner. Given the convenient location, I am sure we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello Ann and thank you so much for that wonderful review! Please do come back and see us the next time your travels bring you from sunny California to Austin! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    216
    69
    24
    6
See reviews for
142
306
34
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent over $2000 on a 4 night stay. Everything was going ok until we returned to our hotel after our first evening out in Austin. The room was untouched. The bed wasn't made, the towels weren't changed, nothing. We spoke to the manager and the best he could offer us was free breakfast which was already included in the room. Because we booked with Hotels.com, we were trapped. We couldn't move to a different hotel so we were forced to stay in our used room. Hopefully they decide to clean our room tomorrow. Do not stay here or go through Hotels.com unless you want to risk this happening to you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Confronch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for the feedback. It is my understanding you have made contact with our management team and the issues you mentioned have been resolved. Should you need additional assistance, or have questions/comments, please don't hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good location, hotel a little dated, (similar to IC Mark Hopkins in San Fr), service unrivalled. Valet parking at $33 per night a little on the steep side ($20 across the road). Breakfast buffet very limited in choice. Super and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frudle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for that very nice review! Hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We came to Austin for getaway weekend. City was so active and clean. Hotel was clean and all of the staff was accomodating and friendly. The valet staff was fast an very welcoming as well as giving great recommendations for our visit. Definitely will return again:)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello Nancy, from the InterContinental in Austin! We're so glad you chose us for your get-away weekend! Come on back real soon, we miss you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a good experience here overall. The rooms were small, but updated nicely. Was here for a business meeting and the meeting staff did a good job setting up and refreshing the conference room regularly. The only food we had on site was during the day for the meeting, so never for dinner. Breakfast, lunch, and refeshments were nice.

I have only one complaint and this really isn't the hotel's fault. My room backed up to an alley. The garbage trucks started their pick up about 3 a.m. one morning. To say it was a noisy experience would be an understatment. I lost several hours of sleep over. So if you have a choice, try to get a room that overlooks anything but the alley.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klb990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Oh no, I'm so sorry for that noise issue! I'm sure that was frustrating, and I do apologize. I am glad though, that we met your expectations in all other areas. Our banquet folks are top notch, and I'll be glad to share your nice compliments with them and our culinary team as well! Hope to see you again soon, this time in a room AWAY from the alley! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Very nice service, rooms are a little small but comfortable in a historic building, employees are very committed to give you a great service.
Location is the best close to everything, with a great variety of bars and restaurants a short walk away.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gerfsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
You hit on all the areas we are most proud of: our guest service, our property and our location! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at the InterContinental, and look forward to welcoming you back real soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

One Sunday night was wonderful,it would have been nice to spend longer. The staff was so accommodating in every encounter. The valet guys so helpful, front desk ,knowledgable and helpful to our every need,and the bartender well, they knew the right kind of wine to serve. The indoor pool and hot tub,so relaxing . The room is beautiful and comfortable . I will plan a trip with family to this hotel.

Room Tip: we where on top floor and the view was outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We're thrilled you had such a wonderful, albeit short, stay with us! Now, we need to get you back so you can pick up where you left off! Thank you and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
1,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,904 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Stephen F. Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Property: InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#13 Green Hotel in Austin
#15 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping it weird in style ever since we opened in 1924, thanks to the people of Austin who funded our construction! When we opened we were the tallest building in Austin at 10 stories tall. We have gotten a little taller, 15 stories currently, but the city has grown up around us over the years making us a hidden gem in the heart of downtown. We are located 1 block from 6th street, 3 blocks from the Capitol and walking distance to all the activities that make Austin the amazing city that it is. If you are looking for the true experience of Texas and Austin book a room with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing