We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a one bedroom suite with club privileges.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Ranked #12 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Get a one bedroom suite with club privileges.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here on 6/23-24 in suite 1110. The suite and hotel are small compared to other hotels, especially since it is an older hotel, but very charming and elegant. The front desk staff were great and the concierge very helpful with dinner recommendations, she was the best! The club room was pretty much empty anytime after breakfast, nice to have drinks and snacks all day. But they should put a warning sign up for their famous very spicy scones. Nice to have a drink on the upstairs balconies and the view of the capitol was a nice bonus!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex3485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Alex! Thank you for taking time to leave some comments regarding your recent stay with us. Hope we get to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    207
    63
    24
    6
See reviews for
127
293
33
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Guest Services is top-notch. The attendant was extremely considerate and went above and beyond to make sure I received the best service. Tammie was great with assisting me on printing, scanning, and faxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisakbari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Greetings from the InterContinental, and thank you for those very nice comments! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Four nights, first time in Austin. Both concierges were outstanding, extremely helpful, definitely ask for their help. All staff very friendly, solicitous, genuinely wanted to ensure we had a great visit. Room was very comfortable, only minor critique was the small amount of fridge space, the rest being allotted to the minibar, charges for which were triggered by the slightest jostle. Enjoyed the small lap pool and Jacuzzi. Perfect location for exploring downtown and the capitol.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello Ted in wonderful New Jersey! And thank you for the very nice comments. Yes, our refrigerators are terribly sensitive! The next time you're here, please ask us to remove the existing items so you'll have more room for personal items; we'll be more than happy to take care of. Thank you again and see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Intercontinental for 3 nights while visiting family. The front desk and bell staff were very friendly and helpful. They seemed genuinely interested in pleasing their guests. A guest services rep, Tammie, was particularly helpful when I was having printing challenges in the business center. Additionally, this hotel is in a great location, close to restaurants, bars and the capital building. When weather permits, the terrace lounge is a great place to enjoy a drink and watch the action of Congress Street. Room gets only very good because it was quite small.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CF19715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hello from Austin, and thank you for the 5 Star review! When you visit us again, please ask for a larger room, as even though this is an historic property, we do have larger rooms and will do our best to make sure you are in one on your next stay! Thank you and looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The valet staff was excellent and even set my luggage up in my room. The restuarant "Roaring Fork" that is connected to the building is an added plus but the hotel actually has it own restaurant too. The bar on the second floor is nice as it is connected to a balcony/patio that raps around the entire length of the hotel on Congress and 7th streets (lots of room). It's nice to go sit on the patio and people watch (because you are looking down on everything and your above all the bustle) and relax at the end of the day.

The hotel is beautiful. It's an old building from the 1920's and has been restored recently. My room was gorgeous. Great location downtown in Austin (walking distance to the Capital and 6th Street).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Linda, on behalf of the entire InterContinental Stephen F Austin, I'd like to thank you for the wonderful comments from your recent stay! We're thrilled to have met your needs and expectations, and truly look forward to seeing you again real soon. We'll save a seat for you in Stephen F's Bar & Terrace....!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Check in was smooth and man at desk was friendly and had suggestions for dining and entertainment.
Rooms are small, think NYC sized not Texas size ! Stayed at the Hampton Inn around the corner last night and the room was 3X larger.
Decorator went a little crazy with all the patterns in one closet of a room.
What hotel remodels the entire place and does not add electrical plugs ?
Not one in the room! only in the bathroom WTH, having to crawl under bed to find a power stip.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DallasNitpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Greetings from the InterContinental! I'm so pleased you provided comments, but hate that you did not ask where our outlets are, as we have numerous one on the side of the desk and night stands! We have a high demand from business travelers, and a top priority during our recent renovation was to make it "business friendly", so I'm truly sorry you did not see the signs indicating the power outlets. Perhaps we need to make them more visible. And yes, some of our rooms are smaller, as we are an historic property, however we do have larger ones as well. Please do ask for one on your next stay. Thank you and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Spent the weekend at the Intercontinental in Austin. Staff from the Valets to the Desk Clerks were very friendly and provided great service. Regular king bed room was smaller than usual but extremely nice. Hotel is located just one block from great food, drinks and live music in Austin. Gym and terrace lounge were also very nice. Recommend for anyone visiting Austin.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank miami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello Miami M from the InterContinental in Austin! So glad to have hosted you recently, and sure appreciate those nice comments. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 200 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#19 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Stephen F. Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Property: InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
#15 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping it weird in style ever since we opened in 1924, thanks to the people of Austin who funded our construction! When we opened we were the tallest building in Austin at 10 stories tall. We have gotten a little taller, 15 stories currently, but the city has grown up around us over the years making us a hidden gem in the heart of downtown. We are located 1 block from 6th street, 3 blocks from the Capitol and walking distance to all the activities that make Austin the amazing city that it is. If you are looking for the true experience of Texas and Austin book a room with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing