We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, Amazing Service! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Ranked #11 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kingston, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, Amazing Service! ”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nts/5days this passed week. I have stayed at several intercontinental hotels and they never fail to impress! This is no exception. If you are going to be in the area for business or pleasure do yourself a favor and stay here. The hotel is beautiful, rooms are big& the level of service is second to none. The food is great, pool, jacuzzi & spa. Walking distance to convention center and 6th street. We were able to walk to everything!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank VacationDelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for your note! We feel so fortunate to have this incredible location; close to so many fun Austin experiences, from live music to great restaurants! So happy you enjoyed your stay not only with us, but your trip to Austin! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    224
    72
    25
    6
See reviews for
148
319
38
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had a great stay there. Terrific location, very comfortable room - good size with huge bathroom. Free wifi included and lovely bar with $2 happy hour beers - absolute bargain,
Parking was a bit expensive, but probably about right for a top end city centre hotel.
Would stay again without a shadow of a doubt.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Wow Tom, thanks for great review and recommendation! We'll be looking for you the next time you make the trek to the USA and Austin! Take care and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed over Memorial Day weekend. The hotel is very nice, the room a little small but clean and very nice. Great location. We could walk to restaurants and 6th Street. The second floor terrace is a pleasant spot for a drink and the best bowl of popcorn ever! Everyone there was very nice and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hello and greetings from Austin! I just wanted to say thanks for the nice note and for letting us know how we're doing. We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! Do come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is listed as a four star hotel and I can see why! The bathroom and room was not only very plush but impeccably clean! The concierge and front desk were especially friendly and accommodating. My husband was impressed with remote control switch next to the bed that controls the lights and even the temperature. He also liked the keurig (sp?) coffee maker. The pool is a saltwater pool perfect for swimming laps. This is a good hotel for business traveling. Jamiliah Paschal at the front desk was absolutely wonderful! When I realized I forgot my lint roller for my lint covered black skirt, She made sure the hotel BOUGHT lint rollers and got me one! What a relief, since this was a business dinner and I didn't want to show up covered in travel dust!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiCi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi CiCi and thanks so much for that glowing 5 Star review! And thanks too for the Jamiliah shout-out; she has a knack of making our guests feel right at home, and is a true asset to our hotel. So glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us; Houston is just a short distance from us, so come on back when you get the chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived at check-in time, and since our room wasn't ready we were given an upgrade. The room itself (king on the 15th floor) was very nice, and we also made use of the lap pool and jacuzzi in the basement and enjoyed those very much. Jamiliah at the front desk was especially friendly and helpful! And the location is great with much to walk to in and around downtown. We would definitely stay here again if/when we return to Austin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mplanglinais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Well, we sure hope you get to come back and visit Austin and the InterContinental again! We'll be waiting! Thanks for the kind comments and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here on 6/23-24 in suite 1110. The suite and hotel are small compared to other hotels, especially since it is an older hotel, but very charming and elegant. The front desk staff were great and the concierge very helpful with dinner recommendations, she was the best! The club room was pretty much empty anytime after breakfast, nice to have drinks and snacks all day. But they should put a warning sign up for their famous very spicy scones. Nice to have a drink on the upstairs balconies and the view of the capitol was a nice bonus!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex3485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hi Alex! Thank you for taking time to leave some comments regarding your recent stay with us. Hope we get to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Guest Services is top-notch. The attendant was extremely considerate and went above and beyond to make sure I received the best service. Tammie was great with assisting me on printing, scanning, and faxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisakbari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Greetings from the InterContinental, and thank you for those very nice comments! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,939 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
2,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Stephen F. Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Property: InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
#15 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping it weird in style ever since we opened in 1924, thanks to the people of Austin who funded our construction! When we opened we were the tallest building in Austin at 10 stories tall. We have gotten a little taller, 15 stories currently, but the city has grown up around us over the years making us a hidden gem in the heart of downtown. We are located 1 block from 6th street, 3 blocks from the Capitol and walking distance to all the activities that make Austin the amazing city that it is. If you are looking for the true experience of Texas and Austin book a room with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing