We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Ranked #11 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pismo Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Classy Place”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Had a beautiful suite with a view of the capitol building. The hotel is in a wonderful location. You can easily walk to some great bars and restaurants. The staff is very friendly and eager to please.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonJoviGroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for those very nice comments! I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the nearby eateries and hopefully, some of our great live music. Hope we can welcome you back the next time your travels take you from California to Texas! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    223
    72
    25
    6
See reviews for
148
318
37
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BillSTL
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 great days at the IC SFA. We had a top floor room and Club access, which we made much use of. The quality of the breakfast food that was included was actually some of the best hotel breakfast food I've had, and I stay in a LOT of hotels! And we very much enjoyed the afternoon and evening refreshments, although I had to go in search of cocktail glasses a couple of times. The only negative was on the last evening when we tried to get into the club to get a couple of bottles of water and it was already closed, even though the hostess had told us on a previous night we could use it until 10pm. However, the desk clerk was kind enough to send us up cold bottles of water to our room, which was much appreciated.

The room was huge and very quiet and comfortable. We loved having the big couch and chairs and lots of room to move around. There was very little street noise and we did enjoy the view of the city skyline.

The hotel location is ideal. It's a short walk to restaurants, the Capitol, and the bars and entertainment on 6th Street.

The staff was fantastic, especially the bell staff and valets. Best I've encountered anywhere. Always helpful and polite and friendly.

Overall, a fantastic stay, and I would stay at the IC again in a heartbeat.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BillSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Sounds like your stay was pretty perfect! Thanks so much for those very kind comments, BillSTL. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay not only with us here at the InterContinental, but in Austin as well. Do come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Friendly, courteous, professional and extremely helpful staff from the moment we pulled up to the curb. We loved our stay. Lobby was clean and inviting even with the construction of the restaurant. Our Room was also clean and beautiful. Thank you to the staff members that we had the pleasure of interacting with, thank you for always having a smile on your faces and a warm greeting, David, Jorge, Robert, Drew, Viviana, Chenisse, and Jamiliah. I hope I didn't forget anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello Jennifer C and thank you for that very nice review! We also appreciate the shout-outs to a few of the folks here who made you feel extra special, and hopefully, "at home". We'll be looking forward to your next stay with us! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The InterContinental was quite satisfactory. The staff was pleasant and helpful with restaurant recommendations and the room was adequate and comfortable. The best part of the InterContinental is the location--outstanding! It is close to restaurants, the state building, and nightlife; we were able to walk everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks so much for the very nice note, and for staying at the InterContinental! Glad you were able to take advantage of our great location, and hope that we're able to welcome you back one day soon! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife and I stayed one night and while a nice hotel, it could have been much better considering the price. We stayed in the Intercontinental Club level for about $60 more per night, but it included welcome drinks and snacks and breakfast the next morning. Valet is $30 per night and although I understand there is not much parking downtown, for the price of the room, it should be less. Valet service was great and the bartenders in the second floor bar and restaurant bar were great. Good service at the front desk but nothing special. Problems we had were in the "exclusive" Intercontinental Club, which you pay more to have access to, the welcome drinks that were available only had sodas to mix with. Front desk sent someone in to help us with juices and he got us juice, but only once. We didn't see him again and we were there for over an hour. Maintenance guy came the next morning around 930 to change the air filter while we were still in the room. Breakfast is not great especially if you have to pay $18 per person for it. Glad it was included. In my opinion, just not the greatest experience when we paid over $300 for room, valet, and a few drinks at the bar the one night we stayed. We liked the room, it was comfortable although pretty small. Location is great. Overall, just OK. We'll probably stay somewhere else next time we are downtown.

Room Tip: Free wifi if you join the IHC club. Best rooms are on the upper floors but don't expect a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttulefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thanks tutulefty, for the feedback., and for the shout out to our valets and bar; they're the best. With regard to being disturbed by one of our maintenance and the issue you had in our Club, I do apologize. We obviously need to know when these things happen, so thank you. If you'd like to discuss further, please feel free to contact the hotel and ask for Marilyn at extension 4201. Thank you again for your comments, and for staying at the InterContinental!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights over a weekend in Austin. The hotel has a great central location, close to 6th street and River street. You can walk nearly everywhere and there are plenty of decent restaurants close by. We had dinner one night in the hotel and that was good. The breakfast was fine. It is an old building and it shows the hotel is I believe being refitted at the moment and it needed it. All in all I would stay again as it was pretty reasonable for its location. Small quibble the wifi wasn't free, I just can't understand why a large chain like intercontinental feels it is necessary to ring the extra dollars out of their guests for this.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mulligan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Greetings from the InterContinental, and thank you for the very nice review. We're feel very fortunate to have this wonderful location; so glad you were able to take advantage of it! With regard to the Internet charges, I wanted to let you know that InterContinental actually does provide complimentary HSI to it's IHG Reward members. If you are interested in joining, or have questions, please feel free to contact us. Thanks again and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel to attend a dear friends' wedding. The hotel itself is very beautiful and well maintained. Although most of our friends were across the street at the Driskell, we decided to book at this hotel because we enjoy IHG properties. We are so glad that we did! The attention to detail with service is second to none! Although we had a rocky check-in experience, (waited 2 hours for the room ) we quickly forgave and enjoyed our time.

Key standouts, that helped us enjoy our stay was definitely members of the staff. Kate in banquets was simply great helping with the wedding party all week. Front desk staff (don't remember their names) were very helpful also. And without a doubt Anthony in the second floor bar. He went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our experience. Remembering all of our drinks, getting cookies for the kids, and even getting us info for us to get pizza on our final night (after the wedding celebration). We assumed Anthony was part of the management team because he seemed to be a little older than the rest of the staff but discovered he was just a bartender. He would better suit your property to be part of your management team! Just my opinion as a business owner!

We will be back.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are great for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StepheFAustinHotel, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Stephen F. Austin, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello Brenda N. and thank you so much for that wonderful review! Glad we were able to meet your expectations, and yes, thank you too for the shout outs to our great staff. You touched on two of our super stars, Kate and Anthony. They will be thrilled to know you mentioned them specifically. Thanks again and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#28 of 203 in Austin
1,934 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Stephen F. Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Stephen F. Austin

Property: InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Address: 701 Congress Avenue, Austin, TX 78701-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Austin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#8 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Green Hotel in Austin
#15 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Stephen F. Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keeping it weird in style ever since we opened in 1924, thanks to the people of Austin who funded our construction! When we opened we were the tallest building in Austin at 10 stories tall. We have gotten a little taller, 15 stories currently, but the city has grown up around us over the years making us a hidden gem in the heart of downtown. We are located 1 block from 6th street, 3 blocks from the Capitol and walking distance to all the activities that make Austin the amazing city that it is. If you are looking for the true experience of Texas and Austin book a room with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Stephen F. Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Stephen f. Austin Hotel Austin
Intercontinental Austin
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing