We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
Ranked #155 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Hitel was well placed to visit South Congress St, S Congress bridge ( for the bats), town lake and city centre. All within 10 minutes walk . Room had fridge freezers, cookers, microwaves etc and was very clean. Cheap central stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gak2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We decided to stay here for a couple reasons: An event on the Congress St. Bridge, so we wanted the location, and free parking. The location was fine, as was the parking. The price, though, was too high for what they offer - namely next to nothing. No maid service and not even a pool!
We checked in with a very friendly man and we asked for some drinking glasses for the room. The room was in a fairly quiet location and was clean, but had an odd layout with the king bed up against the wall on one side and the tv stand at the end of the bed so one of us was going to have a difficult time getting in and out of bed. Also when we arrived in the room the night stand was turned upside down so we had to move that to the correct location as well as replace the lamp, phone, and clock onto it. The coffee table was also turned upside down on top of the couch. Very weird.
Another problem I had was that there was no full-length mirror in the room. This was the first hotel that I've been in that didn't have a secondary mirror somewhere in the room. As someone who wears glasses I find it impossible to put on makeup unless I can get close to a mirror. You just can't do that with the mirror over the sink, especially if you're under 6' tall. So guess who had to use a compact mirror for makeup? Yeah...not ideal.
We ended up having to ask THREE times for those stupid glasses before actually getting them.

Pros: Location; free parking; friendly staff; clean rooms; fairly comfy bed
Cons: Everything else! Horrible sandpaper towels; having to ask several times for cups and none of that stuff being in the room anyway; odd room layout; no pool (!!! Who doesn't have a pool?); Awful "breakfast" with not much more than granola bars and crummy coffee; no full length mirror in the room; and though we really didn't need it, there was no maid service. We saw maids around but no one cleaned our room the 2nd day.

We would not stay here again. If I needed that location again I would probably just suck up the parking fee at one of the nicer hotels in the area. I'm sure they have mirrors AND a pool.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goddess0063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Found the place to be very nice. Clean rooms. Small breakfast option. Full size refrigerator. I thought the parking lot and entry area was a bit dirty. Walking distance to food. We ran to the trail in two short blocks. Will try this again on our next visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Bob - We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our clean rooms and convenient location. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in early August. We were able to secure an affordable rate through Hotwire so we weren't expecting the world. However, we would've at least appreciated cleanliness. The countertop in the kitchen was dirty with pale orange smears all over it. The kitchen does not come equipped with the usual cutlery, cups and plates you'd expect. All of this has to be requested and picked up from the front desk.

The 'grab n go' breakfast consists of coffee, tea, oats, muffins and granola bars.

If you aren't travelling by car, I'd suggest staying at a hotel within downtown as it isn't the best having to walk over the bridge into downtown in the searing heat during summer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Emma - Thank you for telling us about your experience. We are very disappointed to hear that your room was not cleaned properly. We will review your feedback with our housekeeping staff to make sure every room is cleaned to our standards.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, at adt@extendedstay.com, should you wish to discuss this further. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on 5th & 6th August 2014. We wanted to be close to downtown, but at an affordable price. The prices of hotels in downtown Austin are extremely high. Even this hotel, at $160 per night, was not cheap considering how basic the hotel was. But the alternatives were charging between $300 to $500 per night!

The check-in attendant was efficient although a little cold. A smile, and a "enjoy your stay" would not have gone amiss,

The room was large, with a kitchenette, but the beds were rather hard. Not the most comfortable nights sleep you will have.

The room also smelled of smoke. It was a non-smoking room, and had smoke detectors on the ceiling, so I can't imagine that previous guests had been smoking in there. But it was definitely a smoky smell.

Can not comment on the breakfast, as by the time we went to get it, there was nothing left!!!

Location was ok - a bit if a trek across the river into downtown, but walkable in about 20 minutes.

You get what you pay for, but unfortunately, even the budget hotels in Austin cost a fortune.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaplinmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. I appreciate your comments about your spacious room and your kitchen; however, I regret to read that your room had a smoke odor. I will meet with my housekeeping staff to review cleanliness standards so that we can work to prevent odors in the future. As well, I do apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast was not properly re-stocked during your stay. I will work with my front desk staff to ensure that we are keeping the breakfast items properly stocked during the appropriate hours. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. Please contact me, at adt@extendedstay.com, if you would like to discuss this further. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

First, the location: You can walk to South Congress, Town Lake Park, downtown -- it's really very nicely situated. However, it's very basic. The bed is not particularly comfortable and there are NO accoutrements in the room. You have to request coffee cups, coffee pot, dishes, silverware, etc. We even had to ask for an alarm clock. They accept pets but charge $25 per pet per day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank foodieschmoodie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so we are disappointed to hear that you did not appreciate our new customizable kitchen packs. We store our kitchenware in a sterile environment so that we can ensure our guests are receiving the cleanest items possible. We apologize if this was not fully explained to you at check-in.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so we really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, we would like to hear it. Please contact us, at adt@extendedstay.com, so we can speak directly. We do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I recommend paying more to stay somewhere else. When we arrived at 4:30, they said we would need to wait to check in so they could have a "clean" room for us. The wait was only about 10 minutes but the room was not clean. The first thing we noticed was that the room smelled strongly like body odor. There was a huge pile of mail on the counter with the previous tenants name. There was cigarette ashes inside the burners of the nonsmoking room. The bathtowels appeared to have been removed from the floor and folded back up because they were dirty. Then the attempt to sleep began. The bed was horribly uncomfortable with 3 tiny pillows and a small scratchy blanket to share. This place is a joke. If you're staying one night then it's probably tolerable but otherwise look elsewhere. Just FYI, I booked through hotwire with a $57 rate.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Crystal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. The situation you described regarding your room not being cleaned properly is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am meeting with my housekeeping staff to review our cleanliness standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. As well, I am disappointed to hear that you found your bed to be uncomfortable. Your feedback will be helpful to us as we continually work to improve our hotel. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at adt@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake

Address: 507 S 1st St, Austin, TX 78704-1207 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £80 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake Texas
Homestead Suites Austin
Austin Homestead Suites
Homestead Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing