We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT - GREAT - GREAT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge North Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Econo Lodge North Austin
Ranked #142 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT - GREAT - GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel awhile back for our "best-friend" road trip {before I found "tripadvisor" or I'd have written this review earlier} . We were there for a week and found it to be a wonderful hotel with a great staff. The sink is seperate from toilet/shower area which is a big plus for us when we travel. The room was plenty big for the week stay, the mini-fridge & micro in the room are great. Really nice pool that is beautiful at night with the lighting around the courtyard. I have a friend who just stayed here while attending a bowling tournament and said they have been staying here for several years and have never been dissappointed . GREAT room, GREAT people, GREAT price what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honesttexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
Hello! First, we love your screen name of "honest Texan"! Thanks for leaving us a review online. A special thank you to your pals that mentioned this hotel from the bowling competetion. Glad you and your party had a great stay at the hotel, and we hope to see you in the near future! Thanks again-

Charles Resta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    54
    57
    44
    86
See reviews for
63
71
51
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

They had everything I expected from a two star hotel off of the freeway and it was surrounded by restaurants that I enjoy. They had big rooms and I liked the bathroom layout. My sister's room was perfect, however, my husband and I had to learn a few "jiggle this/ jiggle that" tricks from the front desk in order to open our front door and switch the bath water from the faucet to the shower sprinkler. My only true complaint is that the housekeepers need to leave more than one set of towels in the rooms whenever it is booked for more than one guest.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debutante24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review on tripadvisor.com I am glad you had an enjoyable visit while at the property. I do apologize for not having more towels for you in the room. We can always bring you more towels or pillows if you like. Glad you had a nice day trip in Austin and we hope to see you in the near future. Take care-

Charles Resta
North Austin Plaza Hotel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

A few family members and friends decided on this hotel for our stay in Austin,TX based on its reasonable price and location. Once we arrived we were even more impressed with the rooms for the amount paid! One member of our group placed the 2 rooms under his name and ended up running a bit behind--it was no problem whatsoever to call in and have the name of another person added to the room which made checking in a breeze!! The hotel is not far from downtown and within close driving distance to many great restraunts--very accessible to I-35 as well (its on the service road a bit away from the interstate so traffic noise was not an issue at all). The pool was clean and there were people relaxing all day in the hot, hot sun! There is also a shallower kiddie or wading pool for the kids. I believe the hotel has an exercise room and each of our rooms had microwave and fridge! Finding a great hotel and a great price made our trip even better! Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We just ordered through their website which was very easy in itself. It seemed to have the best rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LSUINDENVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Hello! I appreciate you leaving some feedback from your visit to the hotel. My staff and I are very peased that you had a great stay. We look forward to seeing you again in June. We will continue to improve as a hotel and staff. Thanks again for your time-

Charles Resta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

I took my daughter's softball team up there last month for the national softball tournament and we stayed at this hotel. I was not sure what we were going to be getting for the price. We were presently surprised. The rooms & grounds,were very clean. The pool is awesome. We had two cars broken into the first night there. They only have security on weekends. I guesss the thieves know this.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyfordbulldogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Hello! Always nice having the softball teams return to the property. I am glad that you and your team had a nice stay with the exception of the cars being broken into! I hope the police were able to obtain some fingerprints and eventually catch these low lifes. I do thank you for submitting a survey online. Take care and we hope to see you soon for next years playoffs.

Charles Resta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The hotel is located on 35, it is a 10 minute cab ride ($17) from Sixth Street, it is very convenient to get around since it's right off the freeway. I was able to look at two rooms since I had some friends staying down the hall, the ventilation in their closet/bathroom area was horrible (felt like a sauna, and the shower wasn't even on!), they didn't have a phone in the room and the bathroom door didn't lock. Ventilation in our room was much better, but we had issues locking our room door. The room itself is spacious enough, plenty of closet space, plenty of parking and the pool area looked nice (we had a pool view room). I would recommend the hotel based purely on price and the location if you are wanting to explore areas of Austin other than spending time in Downtown, if you want to spend more time in Downtown, then just pay the extra money for a centrally located hotel. I have been to Austin several times and have found that paying a bit extra is well worth it there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave a survey from your recent visit with us.
We certainly will improve upon the items you mentioned. The first building rooms are superior to the second building as they cost roughly $5-10 more per night. We are constantly making changes to the property to better please our guests. Thanks again-

Charles Resta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
union, nj
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Not fancy, very basic. But also quite comfortable and no problems to speak of. I have stayed here twice and the first time was just okay. The second time the front desk woman was really nice and called the room to check and make sure everything wa sokay. Little touches like that are really nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Hello! Thanks for returning to the property! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we thank you very much for your input and feedback. Take care and we hope to see you soon-

Charles Resta
General Manaer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Just in town for a quick jaunt through downtown, and a trip down to the San Marcos River for some swimming. This place was awesome for the price we paid! We are budget travelers, and I rely heavily on TripAdvisor reviews. After reading through the reviews, I thought we should take a chance on this place...so glad we did! It was clean, the staff was helpful, and it was just perfect for our needs. Good location, there are a few restaurants within walking distance, and we had a lovely, quiet stay. It's not luxury accomodations, but the bedding was nice, the sheets were newer, the towels were not theadbare, and most importantly, clean!...it was well worth the money we spent. We paid $35.99/night plus taxes...GREAT!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingergrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Hello! Thanks for your fair and honest review of your stay with us. We always appreciate feed back from our guests. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a nice time in the Austin area as well. We look forward to seeing you in the future-

Charles Resta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
2.1 mi away
Budget Inn Capitol
Budget Inn Capitol
#129 of 197 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
2.0 mi away
Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#163 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Austin North
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#147 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North Austin

Property: Econo Lodge North Austin
Address: 6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North Austin 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ECONO LODGE A number of shopping malls and restaurants are nearby, including the neighboring Bikinis Sports Bar & Grill, which offers sports television, 25 beers on tap and a children’s menu. Enjoy our many amenities: Free continental breakfast and free coffee Free WiFi Fitness center Laundry facility Outdoor pool with sun deck Travelers will have access to copy and fax services as well as a business center. All rooms include a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron with board and cable television. Some rooms also include a flat-screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Non-smoking rooms are available. Its location with convenient access to area attractions makes the Econo Lodge the ideal option for business and leisure travelers in the Austin, Texas area. Book a room with us today; we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge North Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Austin Plaza Hotel Austin
Econo Lodge North Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing