We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent Every Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge North Austin
Ranked #149 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 18 April 2012

North Austin Plaza has always been good to me each and every time I stay with them. They are always freindly, and meet my every need. You will always receive the same quality as you would with a huge hotel chain, But with better treatment and a much better rate.
Thanks NAPI Staff...

Room Tip: all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justdavis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

Last night was our first trip to Austin and we arrived late at night. We reserved a room at North Austin due to its attractive rate, positive user ratings and 3-star recommendation from AAA. We are not picky travelers and view hotels just as a place to sleep and clean ourselves.

When we got there, I had a good feeling about the place. The front desk lady was nice and we got a room that was located right in front of where we parked our car. That was where the good things ended.

When we entered the room, it didn't look nor smell right. And I couldn't believe this: the carpet in the whole room was sticky. That was not the worst part. When we entered the bathroom and ready to take a shower, we noticed that the shower curtain was moldy and the bathroom door couldn't close properly. I also noticed that both the bath towel and the pillow cover had red stains on them. We ended up not using the towels and only used pillows that looked clean. I wasn't comfortable when taking my shower. Since we were so tired, we didn't have much choice but staying the night at this place.

My wife and I were even very upset at AAA for recommending this hotel. We couldn't believe that this place would be in business, let alone got 3-stars from AAA.

Very, very disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AReasonablePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We spent 3 nights at North Austin Plaza during SXSW. The hotel was just a place to sleep, and we spent literally no time there during the day -- for that purpose, it did the job. It was run down and in need of updates, but was reasonably clean. Some of the power outlets didn't work, had a musty/stale smell, weak water pressure, no safe, etc. Not a high-end hotel by any means.

If you're looking for a place to crash, this will do. If you're looking for a nice hotel or will be spending more time in the room, look elsewhere - there are plenty of other options within a half mile.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TA_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to submit a review of your most recent stay with us during South by SouthWest 2012.There will be major updates in the next 3-4 months. In fact, the hotel will be converting to a Quality Inn! We expect great things in the months ahead with the continued customer service you can expect when staying with our team. Glad you had a nice time during South by Southwest and we hope to welcome you back again. Thanks again for your feedback, always appreciated-

Charles Resta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel this last weekend and were extremely disappointed! When we checked in on Friday, we asked for 2 extra pillows and were told they did not have any. When we returned to our room on Saturday night, it had not been cleaned or the bed changed/made. We went to the desk to get towels and received ones that appeared to have been floor towels in the 1960's. One of our friends was also staying at this hotel and when she checked in to her room, she found human waste in the toilet that had been there for some time. Even after she made them aware of it, the toilet was not properly cleaned. I cannot believe they stay in business!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank capmkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinplaza, Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Hello! We respect your opinion and appreciate your feedback. The front desk agent was not able to get you pillows because they were alone and can not leave the desk to go to housekeeping. We should have had more pillows available at the front desk. That is an error on our part.
As for your account of your friend's situation; we heard of this complaint some time after they checked into the room. When we went back to inspect the room there were visible stains around the toilet. NOT human waste as you put it! We certainly cleaned the toilet upon noticing these stains. Can't believe the amount of exaggeration in your account of your friend's situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel took me in after Midnightbecause my flight was late coming in, the staff was very friendly. room was clean and easy check in and out

Room Tip: good place to stay , food place and bars all around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlcbear411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Hello! Thanks for submitting a review of your most recent stay. I am pleased that we made your first trip to Austin a memorable one! Hope to see you in the future. Thanks again-

Charles Resta
North Austin Plaza Hotel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I booked the room when I came to visit for SXSW. With the car rental and the hotel room, it was still SO much cheaper than paying insane amounts near downtown.

Let me break it down for you. No, it does not smell like roses. No, the Internet is not very high speed. No, the hotel room doesn't have a flat screen TV. No, there are not dead bodies in the room.

The price was SO affordable, one shouldn't be surprised that it's a bit worn.

While the place is definitely well visited, given the amazing rate I received, I felt that I deserved the quality given. If you want to go up, try the downtown hilton that is 10X more expensive.

I will definitely stay here again if i'm traveling with a bunch of guys who care nothing more than to find a place for a couple hours of shut eye before the next day's festivities at SouthBy.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VKG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austinplaza, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Hello! Thanks for your straight-forward review. We love to have input from our guests. However, our rooms do come with flat screen TVs. If you request a pool view room, these rooms come with a 37 inch flat screen TV. Our prices are extremely fair and I am glad you took notice. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again!

Charles Resta
North Austin Plaza Hotel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
2 mi away
Budget Inn Capitol
Budget Inn Capitol
#145 of 202 in Austin
8 reviews
1 mi away
Clarion Inn Austin North
Clarion Inn Austin North
#165 of 202 in Austin
191 reviews
2 mi away
Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#160 of 202 in Austin
175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Austin North
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#137 of 202 in Austin
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North Austin

Address: 6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £37 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North Austin 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ECONO LODGE A number of shopping malls and restaurants are nearby, including the neighboring Bikinis Sports Bar & Grill, which offers sports television, 25 beers on tap and a children’s menu. Enjoy our many amenities: Free continental breakfast and free coffee Free WiFi Fitness center Laundry facility Outdoor pool with sun deck Travelers will have access to copy and fax services as well as a business center. All rooms include a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron with board and cable television. Some rooms also include a flat-screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Non-smoking rooms are available. Its location with convenient access to area attractions makes the Econo Lodge the ideal option for business and leisure travelers in the Austin, Texas area. Book a room with us today; we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge North Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Austin Plaza Hotel Austin
Econo Lodge North Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing