We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel. Needs up grading” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge North Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Econo Lodge North Austin
Ranked #142 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Somerset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel. Needs up grading”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Very nice hotel with clean rooms but really needed some updating.They had a very nice pool and a great breakfast. The front desk was extremely kind, courtesy, friendly and helpful.The location was perfect for us as we were doing some sight seeing rather than just passing thru. A good place to stay at a good price

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry G, Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Joao42,

Thank you so much for the review!

I completely agree that we're due for renovations. Thankfully, it's finally happening and we'll have a new product to deliver to all of our customers. I'm glad my staff were so helpful while you were here, and I'll be sure to tell them you said so. Come back and see us the next time you pass through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    54
    57
    44
    86
See reviews for
63
71
51
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Granbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I booked two nights here so my daughter could attend a roller derby clinic. I figured we would make it a fun weekend trip since we live over 3 hours away. I've stayed at plenty of Choice Hotels in the past and never been unhappy, so I was expecting the same here. Omg I was so wrong. Check in was fine and took very little time at about 4:45pm on a Friday. My first problem was that the rooms open to the outside. There is zero security this way, and that makes me uncomfortable. Second, the room was really gross. The carpet was dark, stained, and the room stunk do bad I wasn't sure I could stand it. The beds were really hard and made creaking sounds with every minor movement. The bathroom was dingy, rusted, and just seemed dirty. Then let's talk about how there was some huge group of tree trimmers staying there whose giant trucks took up large parts of the parking lot. They also pulled out a smoker and were drinking, playing loud music, and partying well after dark. When we went in search of the ice and vending machines that should have been near our room, we found there was no vending machine there, but was almost overcome by the stench from the laundry room. Oh, our bed sheets were damp on arrival as well. Wandering around to the complete opposite side of the property to locate a vending machine we saw several sketchy looking people just hanging around. Many rooms has the doors just hanging open and it was obvious that people were living in there full time. Overall the atmosphere was very unsafe and I hardly slept worrying that my car would be broken into. I decided to just check out at 745 the next morning, cut my losses and make the long drive home after the clinic. The clerk informed me that I would have to call expedia to ask for a refund. I told her that I wasn't too worried about that, I was just anxious to leave. She then really rudely said "well go then!" She didn't even bother to ask what the problem was. I guess she probably already knows... I've never had such a horrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grocerygetterjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry G, Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Grocerygetterjo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a truly thorough review. This is the type of feedback my entire management team needs to hear about.

After reading your entire review, I would really like to speak with you personally regarding your stay. If you don't mind, please contact us at the hotel as soon as you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The good:
A good decent breakfast kept stocked during breakfast hours.
An Awesome 9-foot deep swimming pool that felt great with the 100 degree weather.
Room was clean and has a microwave and mini-fridge. TV had about 60 basic channels.
Staff was very nice.
Only about 8 minutes from the capitol and 12 minutes from Round Rock

Bad:
Bed was slightly hard, although the pillows were super soft.
Our room never saw housekeeping during our 2-day stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbrentharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry G, Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
mrbrentharris,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel!

It was a pleasure reading your review; you were in-depth in your description of our rooms and you offered us constructive feedback on our beds and housekeeping staff. I will use your review during one of our staff meetings. Give us a call the next time you're in Austin!

Regards,
Phil
Front Office Manager
Quality Inn - North Austin
512-617-4900
gservices@qualityinnaustin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Staff very pleasant.
When checking in, he heard us mention the book so he booked us a room on the 1st floor (preferred) with a pool view for the same low rate we were quoted online
Room was clean and had all the essentials ... Nice hot shower

Continental breakfast incl hot waffles, eggs n sausage. Again staff was helpful and friendly.

Would recommend this place in the middle if austin.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cactuscycles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry G, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Valued Traveler-

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. We're happy you found the accommodations and service levels excellent and that the breakfast was enjoyable.

We look forward to seeing you again when traveling to Austin and we'll share your comments with all of our staff members.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

As a quality inn I didn't have a problem with the hotel. Continental breakfast was good. The location was great. Staff members were courteous and helpful when needed. The king size bed was comfortable. There could have been a couple more outlets but they are in the renovation process. This was a great affordable place for someone away from home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharae G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry G, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Mrs. Green-

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your recent visit with us. We are happy the staff was professional and extended their helping hands whenever needed and the accommodations were clean and comfortable.

We will share your comments with our staff and management and we hope to see you again when visiting the Austin area.

Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I came out here for SXSW and the location was great, it helped being around a lot of the action for a price that makes SO MUCH more sense than everything else during this time.
The room was decent, but it came with WiFi and good air conditioning, few electrical outlets though. What made this stay from a 4 to 5 in my experience was the continental breakfast.. The fifth star was the friendly and hardworking Peggy her service was amazing, she was accommodating and really nice to visitors. I really felt at home a lot in part to her work ethic and service. Overall, come check this place out especially if you're here for South by!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreRaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
AndreRaph,

I am ecstatic about your review! My breakfast attendant will definitely receive a copy of this review and I appreciate your comments. I'd love for you to return to our hotel the next time you're in town. Our hotel is in the midst of renovations, so you'll be able to experience an even BETTER stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Trust me when I tell you that this hotel is not worth your hard earned money. The management of this establishment is not worth any of your exasperation, caused by explaining why your stay is going to be a horrible experience. Let me tell you what I went through as a fellow consumer: I spent 1 hr+ to check in, because management in all their wisdom decided to have only one clerk, (only positive, was the clerk Julius on duty, sharp under pressure), rooms smelled of feet, and the Q showers a joke, they have signs posted that you will have a Q shower experience (curved curtain poles, state of the art fixtures) they sit on a throne of lies. If you visit Austin stays away from this hotel, unless you want a vacation filled with frustration, irritation, annoyance, and anger. I would have rather slept in my car than pay the $80.00. You have been warned.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reuben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry G, General Manager at Econo Lodge North Austin, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Reuben,

After reading your review I'm quite stunned by your experience. I certainly wish to convey my regret at the disappointment you must have felt when attempting to check in. It is a hotel policy to have two or more Front Desk agents on event/busy weekends; one employee manning the front desk is NOT the norm, and I have addressed the issue personally.

You were a little unclear about your expectations for our Q Shower, but all the same I do apologize you were unable to enjoy your experience.

On a positive note, our hotel is currently undergoing renovations and I cordially invite you to return to witness the new changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
2.0 mi away
Orangewood Inn and Suites Austin North
2.1 mi away
Budget Inn Capitol
Budget Inn Capitol
#128 of 197 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#163 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Austin North
Red Roof Inn Austin North
#147 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Austin University/Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North Austin

Property: Econo Lodge North Austin
Address: 6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North Austin 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ECONO LODGE A number of shopping malls and restaurants are nearby, including the neighboring Bikinis Sports Bar & Grill, which offers sports television, 25 beers on tap and a children’s menu. Enjoy our many amenities: Free continental breakfast and free coffee Free WiFi Fitness center Laundry facility Outdoor pool with sun deck Travelers will have access to copy and fax services as well as a business center. All rooms include a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron with board and cable television. Some rooms also include a flat-screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Non-smoking rooms are available. Its location with convenient access to area attractions makes the Econo Lodge the ideal option for business and leisure travelers in the Austin, Texas area. Book a room with us today; we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Econo Lodge North Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Austin Plaza Hotel Austin
Econo Lodge North Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing