We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, extraordinarily helpful staff, reasonable rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Ranked #155 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 14 March 2013

My recent stay at both Extended Stay America locations in Austin, Texas was just what i needed- affordable, clean, and accessible. At the 6th Street location, you are essentially just blocks outside of Everything. The Downtown-Townlake location is a bit further outside the busier sections of Austin, and was a $60 cab ride from the airport at 11:30 at night. That totally sucked for me, but at the same time it was my fault for not arranging proper transportation sooner. My trip was the essence of last minute. In a matter of 30 minutes, I had a plane ticket, and hotel reservation booked for a little over $300 using Priceline.com and comparing all rates thru Kayak.com. Needless to say, i went for the cheapest hotel i could find with decent reviews. Lucky for me it all worked out great. The Extended Stay staff at the 6th location, were extremely friendly and made me feel totally welcome. Austin from Austin is the man, thanks for the help bro. Overall, i highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling on a budget, but who also wants a very accessible well located hotel, without paying the BIG BUCKS. - KHJr

Room Tip: I stayed in a smoking section and didn't smell any smoke at all once i cracked the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOAustin, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Austin - Downtown - 6th St.. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case! It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a guys weekend in March 2013. Overall, I'd rate the hotel as 3.5, but since I don't have that option here, I rounded up to 4.

Overall, it was a good experience. The hotel represents excellent value for money, especially when you factor in the pros listed below. My only complaint is that this is an older property and the rooms could do with a bit of a refresh. Once rooms are upgraded, I would definitely return.

PROS:
- Free internet
- Mini kitchen
- Free parking
- Outstanding location
- Good value
- Great service

CONS:
- Rooms need a refresh

Room Tip: The x16 rooms are huge. The x31 rooms are on the corner and have two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_UKTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOAustin, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay while in Austin for your man's weekend. We are hoping to receive a renovation sometime this year so should your travels bring you back please visit us again. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The Extended Stay is very well located with lots of shopping, restaurants and drinking establishments within walking distance. The continental breakfast consisted of fresh fruits, oakmeal and breakfast bars -- all perfect for us. The only drawback was the visitors staying right above us coming in at 2:00 am one night and 5:00 the other and it felt as if you could hear every step (they may have been very large people). I would definitely stay again though. Austin is a great city!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOAustin, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to thank you for such a nice review of our hotel. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our hotel including our new 'Grab and Go' Breakfast. In the future should there be noise issues please dial to the front desk as there is someone on duty 24 hours a day so we can ensure all our guests are happy. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Perfect for quick stop in Austin on the way to Corpus Christi. Fair price. Stayed 1 night on the way to Corpus. Good location close to many restaurants on Sixth Street. Nice kitchen set up with everything needed to fix a meal if so desired.

Room Tip: Our room on ground floor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOAustin, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our property and the location so much during your most recent visit to Austin. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed 4 nights and thought the hotel was terrific for the value and price. It is somewhat no frills but was exactly as advertisied. Based on the price, the property was actually nicer than we expected. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOAustin, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to thank you for such a wonderful review of our property. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay last night. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Great location stayed here for over two weeks and like that there washing machines on site.

Very friendly staff and very helpful with directions getting around the city.

I picked this one because of location as and very glad.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommy2Katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOAustin, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for your great review of our property. I'm thrilled that you had such a positive experience while visiting Austin, comments such as yours are very rewarding to hear. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Hotel was about as i expected. Clean, fairly comfortable and close to bars/restaurants. Grab-n-go breakfast was as it is stated, but would be nice to be a continental since there are very few breakfast locations in the area. Probably will never visit Austin again, but if I did, i wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colobandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOAustin, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with Extended Stay America, Austin Downtown. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, should your travels lead you back to Austin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 201 in Austin
1,800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

Address: 600 Guadalupe St, Austin, TX 78701-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £95 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking Fees: 1-6 night stays: $10/night 7+ nights: $5/night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. Texas
Extended Stay Austin
Austin Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing