We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Ranked #154 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Surrounded by fantastic eateries, bars. Unless you were needing to travel out beyond the city, everything is within walking distance or buses are available for $1 trip including to the airport (every 30 mins). But if you have a car, parking is free (bonus!).
Breakfast is basic-coffee, oats sachet to cook in your microwave, muesli bars, muffins,apples.
Great Laundry-4 washing machines @ $2 load plus dryers
Room was clean and adequate with kitchenette and full sized fridge.
Room was unserviced (6 day stay) but fresh towells would be provided if requested.
Only a couple of short blocks from the amazing Whole Foods store.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dools51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm so pleased to hear that you found our location to be convenient to so many other establishments in the Austin area. As well, that you truly enjoyed staying at our hotel in general. It was a pleasure having you stay with us!

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

stayed here for 4 nights, got a great deal with a promo code off the net, close to all the bars on 6th. room was small with kitchenette but clean and quiet, free Wi-Fi, do it yourself laundry facilities, room air con was a little noisy but after a few drinks on 6th I didn't notice it as much! staff ok would stay here again as the price was cheap. as others have said the free breakfast is just a coffee station with pre-packaged muffins Great bar next door Little Woodrows

Room Tip: high floor carpark side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krazykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It was disheartening to read that your air conditioner was loud and you felt the room was small; however, I am so pleased that we were able to provide you with a clean, quiet room and friendly customer service.

The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Great location on 6th st, clean rooms, little kitchenette. Great value, would definitely stay here again. Definitely nothing fancy, and the breakfast is extremely simple. But if you're just planning on spending most of your time outside the hotel and need somewhere to sleep and clean up, it's great.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank grsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Manuela - Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that you found our grab and go breakfast to be disappointing. In response to your feedback, I am forwarding your comments on, as this is a new feature for all of our hotels, one we are still fine-tuning.

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at dtl@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We spent one night at Extended Stay America. We chose this hotel because of its great location with lots of bars, restaurants and sights like the Capitol just off. The room is okey, big enough and fairly clean but nothing special. However, breakfast was a great disappointment: one coffee and one plastic-wrapped muffin to go.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Before booking, I wish I knew that the staff did not like dogs, even though the hotel accepts dogs. They complain if they bark but it's like complaining if a baby cries and they accept babies at hotels. One employee and a manager complained that one of their guests had complained about our dog barking. Well if you know that a hotel accepts dogs, you should not stay at a hotel that accepts dogs. And you should not work at a place that accepts dogs, if you don't like them! It's like moving in an apartment complex that accepts kids and you don't like kids! We always take our little dog with us when we travel and have never had any problems, but of course, if you go kicking on the door, she is going to bark at you! The room we stayed in had broken closet doors and stained towels in the bathroom. We got 2 wake-up calls around 2:30 a.m., which we did not request but also had guests and employees partying outside our room around 2 - 4 a.m. On top of all that, another guest hit our car in the parking lot as he was backing out and his insurance (Safeco) did not want to pay for the damages.

Room Tip: Don't stay there unless you like to party all night and don't mind wake-up calls during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Suzy - I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The situations you described regarding noise disturbance throughout the night and staff not being attentive to your needs are truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. I have spoken to the night attendant about paying closer attention to noise after hours as we need to ensure all our guests are comfortable and satisfied. As well, our property is pet friendly so while we do enjoy having furry friends on-site, we also need to keep noise down for other guests. I apologize that this was not communicated properly and will work with my staff to ensure it is moving forward.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Please contact me, at dtl@extendedstay.com, if you would like to discuss this further. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We were visiting family and also wanted to see the city. This is a great location to really start to see Austin. From the Cactus Cafe to South Congress, Museums, Botanical and Sculpture Gardens, REI, Whole Foods and of course 6th Street is at your door step. Our only issue was the smell of smoke in the hall right off the elevator, but it didn't come in the room, so it wasn't a problem. The rooms are also quiet...no real sound transfer. Good price, GREAT location

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Michael - Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and the city of Austin. I will look into the smoke odor you found in the room to ensure we try to minimize this in the future.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I've stayed here twice, both times for 1 full week.

The value for money on this hotel is great. I've not stayed in many American hotels, but compared to European hotels, the room is very big, as is the bathroom.

As a smoker, I opted for the smoking room. It did stink of smoke, more than I would have expected. So if you do not smoke, you will not appreciate smoking rooms one bit.

My first visit was good. My fridge was leaking on the first day I arrived. I reported it to reception and it was dealt with the same day. Room was clean and very comfortable.

My first visit was good but not as good as first visit. This is because there were bits of muffin on the floor which the maid had obviously missed while cleaning. I reported it twice, but nothing was ever done. A shame as the reception staff are great.

Everyone is very friendly here. Location is awesome for bars and restaurants. Can't beat the price in central Austin.

Breakfast was small, but that is always explained and it's correctly represented. Nice to be able to grab a muffin. The coffee was awful so I had to dose it with flavoured creamers which were available.

I would stay here again and I would recommend it. if you're looking for good value and comfortable, but no more than that, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It was disheartening to read that we were unable to provide you with a fresh smelling, exceptionally clean room; however, I am so glad to that we were still able to make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

Address: 600 Guadalupe St, Austin, TX 78701-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £96 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking Fees: 1-6 night stays: $10/night 7+ nights: $5/night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Extended Stay, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. Texas
Extended Stay Austin
Austin Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing