We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Nice Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Ranked #156 of 201 Hotels in Austin
San Angelo, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and Nice Staff”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We attended a concert on 6th Street and this hotel was right across from the venue. Walking distance to everything downtown.
The room was a little run down but it had everything we needed. The staff was super friendly but I was disappointed it did not have a swimming pool and the selection for the Grab n Go Breakfast was limited. No Juice or milk. Please the vending machine took my money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Hi Corina,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It was disheartening to read that we were unable to accommodate your pool request; however, I am so pleased that we were able to make your stay a pleasant one due to the friendliness of my staff and the location of our hotel. We will certainly check the vending machine to ensure it is operating correctly; thank you for bringing this to our attention. It was great to hear from you and we would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    81
    80
    37
    56
See reviews for
28
97
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Extended Stay on 6th and Guadalupe in Austin is fine for an economy stay for business (or economy pleasure) in town. Great location with new restaurants and walking distance to anything in downtown Austin (just do it early evening after the heat subsides). Amenities are adequate, folks are friendly and helpful (welcome to Austin) and the place is safe. Nice stay. Don't expect the Taj. . .but a good clean and economical place to stay with great access to local hot spots!

Room Tip: They're all fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. It's great to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay with us but the city as well. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights, and I wasn't all that impressed.

Negatives:
It was fairly old,
Funny smells in the hallway
Little bugs flying around
Mattress cover was pilled and you could feel that through the sheets
Unable to regulate the temperature in the room: either stuffy or too cold.
Old and run down, possibly unable to get as clean as other hotels
TV did not get CBS, stating a problem with the satellite feed. I asked at the front desk and was told they have cable, not satellite, and there was no problem since the other stations came in fine

Positives:
Lowest price in the 6th street area
Olga at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.
Grab and go breakfast
Fridge and microwave in room
Free WiFi

Overall, I was fine for the few nights I was there, but next time I think I will pay more to stay at a place a little nicer and cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adinarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am so disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your most recent visit to Austin. Please accept my apology. In response to your feedback, I am working with our maintenance and housekeeping staff members to correct the issues in your room. As well, we are focusing on improving our cleanliness procedures to ensure these types of situations do not happen again.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at dtl@extendedstay.com. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Great spot for everything "central" and practically the only hotel on 6th. Very handy to the night life and also some shopping. There was one front desk lady that was very rude especially when checking in, but all other staff were soo helpful and gave good advice. i hardly spent any time in my room, and there was a big fridge and 2 burner stove and microwave - but sooo much great food nearby. Double glazed windows so traffic noise was very minimal!

Room Tip: all rooms are probably the same - no issues with road noise as double glazing blocks out all the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Hels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 14 June 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that someone on our staff did not attend to your needs properly during your stay. Still, we are pleased to know that the rest of the staff took such great care of you. As well, I am so glad that you enjoyed your in-room amenities and the location of our hotel.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
159 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Found this hotel and was happy to stay here. Free parking and walking distance from e 6th streets' main music venues. In the heart of downtown yet quiet at night as its a few blocks from "the scene." Rooms have kitchenettes and are very clean with an elevator.

Room Tip: doesnt matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kclud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I am glad to read that you were pleased with your room, the free parking we offer to all of our guests and our location. Being so close to downtown is a huge plus, so we are glad you were able to enjoy the area!

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Terrible terrible property. I arrived last Sunday after flying all day to be told that some guests already staying there decided they would stay another night. The front desk clerk apologized and said I could go to their sister property several miles south of Downtown instead and stay. While I was trying to find another hotel, there were a number of other guests that came in, and some that called, to claim their reservations and were turned away as well.
What a terribly run property. Would not recommend to anyone, even as a last option.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 17 June 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I was disheartened to read that we were unable to accommodate your reservation. Please accept our apologies. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have spoken to the front desk in detail about how to handle this type of situation to ensure your experience is not repeated. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at sthau@extendedstay.com. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The location is great and easy walking distance to most things in Austin. A few blocks up 6th street take you to the bars, nightclubs, restaurants, etc. The famous "bat bridge" is also a 10 minute walk (but even though spending two evenings there I never saw the bats!). Whole Foods supermarket is about 10 minutes walk away.
Front desk staff are friendly and helpful and the place is clean and tidy. "Grab and Go" breakfast served in the lobby each morning is truly grab and go. Tea, coffee, granola bars, wrapped muffin and fruit. Nothing exciting, but enough.
I would stay here again if I returned to Austin.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 7 June 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our friendly staff and your clean, tidy hotel room. As well, I am very glad that you enjoyed our great location, close to many different establishments in the area.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

Property: Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Address: 600 Guadalupe St, Austin, TX 78701-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking Fees: 1-6 night stays: $10/night 7+ nights: $5/night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Extended Stay, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. Texas
Extended Stay Austin
Austin Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing