We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Ranked #158 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The great value of this hotel is the location, directly downtown in 6th st. Moreover, the value for money is generally good. I used to stay at this hotel in the past and the service level has decreased a bit; during my stay some construction work was in progress making the stay less comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Luca - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our location. Still, I'm sorry to hear that our staff has not attended to your needs properly. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that this has been addressed with the entire team and I am working with them to better our customer service moving forward.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

West end of 6th street. Plenty of good bars and things to do close by. Great for parking. Rooms are comfortable as expected. No hot water Sunday morning as everybody was checking out & showering at same time. This was explained by hotel staff who were apologetic and helpful, but no hot water is not acceptable. Water also has a very strong odor. Toilet flushing was also very bad. Some kind of weird plastic holder in the tank. Took 3 flushes each time. Big issue for me. Very unsanitary. Loud crowd noise also expected from street. Probably will be much worse during warm days. It was very cold the 2 nights we were there. I probably would not stay here again. Many other choices very close by.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheeser08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We agree with other reviews that said this was a great location and great price for downtown Austin. It's within walking distance to east and west 6th street, has free/safe parking, is new and clean. We gambled with Priceline and was able to get this hotel for less than half price. Even at regular price we would probably stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank swmogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable stay at a great rate. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We checked in for one night in Austin and wanted to find a reasonably priced hotel in a great location and were not disappointed.

The hotel is located about 4 blocks from the start of the 6th Street District where a plethora of choices of bars and clubs awaits. If you want to avoid the frat scene, head around the corner to Lavaca and check out the lobby lounge at the W Hotel. 5 minutes away from that is a nice jazz dive called the Elephant Room. The hotel grounds itself are nice if unimpressive, done up in a cream coloured building. The rooms and interior look slightly dated, but always comfortable. The room itself was a nice nook that did not feel too cramped or close, and the facilities were working wonderfully.

Clayton was the manager receiving us on arrival. He was helpful and personable and definitely started us off the right way. I'd stay again at this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It's great to hear that our hotel's location met with all of your needs and that you found your room to be comfortable. We are also delighted that you were able to enjoy the sights and sounds of Austin and that our staff made your stay a memorable one.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

New hotel.
Standard 3 to 3.5 but new.
Maid service is optional - has to be paid for - 3.00 / day - at your choice - have them come as often or as infrequently as you like.
Helpful and friendly front desk staff.
Rooms are basic but clean, no bugs, 110 a night in December, comfy beds.
Huge parking lot.
Six blocks to the centre of everything.
3 great restaurants such as Lamberts or Wahoos within a 4 minute walk.
Basic breakfast - fruit, coffee, muffins, granola bars.
Music scene is 6 blocs away.
Safe at night!
Well lit.
Not much noise.
Air conditioning.
Low water pressure in shower though :(

Room Tip: Top floor. Face away from street - though not a lot of noise anyways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vancouver90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service our staff offered, your clean room and our hotel's safe as well as convenient location. Still, I am sorry for the low water pressure in your room. I can assure you that our maintenance staff is looking into this issue and making repairs as needed.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is very close to 6th street (a block away) and a5-10 min walk to the Austin City Limits Theatre. Free parking. Price was $110 plus tax for queen room. Stayed New Years Eve. Very quiet. Would definitely stay again! Bed was comfy. Check in and out was easy and quick.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I truly appreciate your comments regarding our hotel and location. We are glad you found our rates reasonable and the comfort of your suite ideal.

Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Perfect place to stay on 6th street, clean , spacious room, no noise , we had a back room overlooking the car park , so good to have a Laundromat in the building , we loved everything about staying there , we were visiting from Australia and stayed 5 nights , We Loved Austin .

Room Tip: Great place to stay we stayed 5 nights , perfect location on 6th street , we had a room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such delightful things about our Downtown Extended Stay Hotel. It's great to hear that our staff, hotel and location made your trip very comfortable and enjoyable.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

Address: 600 Guadalupe St, Austin, TX 78701-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £101 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking Fees: 1-6 night stays: $10/night 7+ nights: $5/night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Extended Stay, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. Texas
Extended Stay Austin
Austin Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing