We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location at a SUPER price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Ranked #156 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location at a SUPER price!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Couldn't have asked for a better location. If you are looking for all the bells and whistles of a 4 star this wouldn't be for you. But if your looking for a clean place to stay in the center of it all then this hotel is spot on and at a great price. This hotel on 6th street in Austin is a great neighborhood and is walking distance to everything. Extended Stay America's are designed to be a home away from home for people that need to be in a place for a short time but do not want to rent an apartment. They have full bathrooms, and a kitchen area with a full size fridge, cooking & dining appliances and all you would need for your cooking and dining needs and comfortable bedding and desk areas. They also have coin operated laundry facilities for those that need that. Free parking in the city is a major plus. Be warned they only offer cleaning services once every 7 days included in your price, but you can pay f=to have it more often if needed and you also have a refresh service for a reasonable price if you need fresh linens etc. My only complaint would be there are no benches in the outside area for sitting while outside.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Beth - Thank you for your great review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our convenient location, your fully equipped kitchen and our laundry facilities. As well, I am happy to hear that you found your room to be clean during your visit. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    80
    79
    36
    53
See reviews for
26
92
33
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If there was a way to give a -1 star to this hotel, I would do so. We stayed here for 4 nights on business and a the only advantage of this hotel is its location. The hotel charges rates comparable to a 4-star hotel, but offers below 1 star service. The rooms are stale, the furnishings are cheap and poorly taken care of, daily housekeeping is offered for an extra fee, the breakfast coffee is lukewarm and watered down, the linens and towels are badly worn - have holes, the bathroom is in disrepair, and, worst of all, the management and the employees don't care. Avoid it like a plague.

Room Tip: avoid it like a plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank First105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 26 February 2014
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that the condition of your room did not meet your expectations. As well, I apologize that our grab-and-go breakfast and the quality of your towels and linens were unsatisfactory. I will be meeting with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated.

I hope that you will contact me directly, at dtl@extendedstay.com, should you wish to discuss this further. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

Cantu, Italy
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The great value of this hotel is the location, directly downtown in 6th st. Moreover, the value for money is generally good. I used to stay at this hotel in the past and the service level has decreased a bit; during my stay some construction work was in progress making the stay less comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Luca - I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am glad to read that you were pleased with our location. Still, I'm sorry to hear that our staff has not attended to your needs properly. As this hotel's manager, I can assure you that this has been addressed with the entire team and I am working with them to better our customer service moving forward.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

West end of 6th street. Plenty of good bars and things to do close by. Great for parking. Rooms are comfortable as expected. No hot water Sunday morning as everybody was checking out & showering at same time. This was explained by hotel staff who were apologetic and helpful, but no hot water is not acceptable. Water also has a very strong odor. Toilet flushing was also very bad. Some kind of weird plastic holder in the tank. Took 3 flushes each time. Big issue for me. Very unsanitary. Loud crowd noise also expected from street. Probably will be much worse during warm days. It was very cold the 2 nights we were there. I probably would not stay here again. Many other choices very close by.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheeser08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We agree with other reviews that said this was a great location and great price for downtown Austin. It's within walking distance to east and west 6th street, has free/safe parking, is new and clean. We gambled with Priceline and was able to get this hotel for less than half price. Even at regular price we would probably stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank swmogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that we were able to provide you with a clean, comfortable stay at a great rate. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We checked in for one night in Austin and wanted to find a reasonably priced hotel in a great location and were not disappointed.

The hotel is located about 4 blocks from the start of the 6th Street District where a plethora of choices of bars and clubs awaits. If you want to avoid the frat scene, head around the corner to Lavaca and check out the lobby lounge at the W Hotel. 5 minutes away from that is a nice jazz dive called the Elephant Room. The hotel grounds itself are nice if unimpressive, done up in a cream coloured building. The rooms and interior look slightly dated, but always comfortable. The room itself was a nice nook that did not feel too cramped or close, and the facilities were working wonderfully.

Clayton was the manager receiving us on arrival. He was helpful and personable and definitely started us off the right way. I'd stay again at this place in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It's great to hear that our hotel's location met with all of your needs and that you found your room to be comfortable. We are also delighted that you were able to enjoy the sights and sounds of Austin and that our staff made your stay a memorable one.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

New hotel.
Standard 3 to 3.5 but new.
Maid service is optional - has to be paid for - 3.00 / day - at your choice - have them come as often or as infrequently as you like.
Helpful and friendly front desk staff.
Rooms are basic but clean, no bugs, 110 a night in December, comfy beds.
Huge parking lot.
Six blocks to the centre of everything.
3 great restaurants such as Lamberts or Wahoos within a 4 minute walk.
Basic breakfast - fruit, coffee, muffins, granola bars.
Music scene is 6 blocs away.
Safe at night!
Well lit.
Not much noise.
Air conditioning.
Low water pressure in shower though :(

Room Tip: Top floor. Face away from street - though not a lot of noise anyways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancouver90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service our staff offered, your clean room and our hotel's safe as well as convenient location. Still, I am sorry for the low water pressure in your room. I can assure you that our maintenance staff is looking into this issue and making repairs as needed.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

Property: Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Address: 600 Guadalupe St, Austin, TX 78701-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking Fees: 1-6 night stays: $10/night 7+ nights: $5/night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Extended Stay, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. Texas
Extended Stay Austin
Austin Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing