We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but NO Bistro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Austin Marriott South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Austin Marriott South
Ranked #48 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
177 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“OK but NO Bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Touring the area with our 9 year old grandson. Stayed using points.

Got in a late and were going to just eat at the Bistro but they do not have one yet. Looked like construction is scheduled for later this year. Room was a little dated - small bathroom and no fridge.

Wanted to use the pool but did not really have time after we got back from dinner.

Bottom line, it is a Marriott and was good, just not yet upgraded.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bad4bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy Z, General Manager at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately you can only find a Bistro in a Courtyard by Marriott, but we do have a wonderful restaurant, The Limestone for our guests to enjoy great local dishes. I am sorry it was closed when you arrived late that night. Our refrigerators are located in a cabinet directly under the TV in the room along with a small safe for our guests' convenience. We are scheduled for a renovation next year and hope you will stay with us again when you return to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    139
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
72
74
19
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very friendly staff, nice rooms and a good location. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The breakfast was more than I had imagined it to be and really pretty tasty. The staff greeted me each time I walked by the front desk sometime by name. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy Z, General Manager at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the kind words about the staff, your room and a great breakfast! This staff makes our hotel. The team we have at this hotel is what makes it such a special place. They make all the difference in your stay. Friendly, helpful, and eager to please. I am proud to have such a great team. I am delighted to hear of your great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We headed to Austin for 2 nights (6-13 to 6-15) to see a graduation and I was not involved in the booking of Accommodations. We have stayed at numerous Marriott properties throughout the world so we expected to have an enjoyable experience.
We did not expect the treatment we received from Brent Richardson.
Upon entering the Hotel we were checked in by Brent who must have overhead me mention
to my GF about a quiet room and he placed us in an interior room whose windows had completed a sound proofing improvement 4 days prior.
He now had my undivided attention.
The property was at capacity as there was a ROT(Republic of Texas) motorcycle rally that weekend.
We saw him at the property the entire weekend and only upon leaving did I discover he was the front office manager....you would have thought he was at least the manager if not the owner!
He was as genuine and hospitable of a Hotelier as one can imagine.
We were greeted by name throughout our stay and his staff, whom we interacted with a few times, were also very gracious and pleasant.
We had a great breakfast both days and found the quality and selection excellent.
Thank you to all the staff at this fine hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AB1knobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We appreciate your kind feedback about us. We are pleased to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations! Our staff makes sure that every guest feels special, and I'm glad that we were able to accomplish that.We hope to host your stay next time you are in town visiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I have been travelling around America so we needed affordable but after staying in dodgy motels for 2 weeks I wanted something a bit of a step up.
This was definatly that.
The rooms where clean and modern.
Even though it's off a highway you couldn't hear a thing.
The staff where extremely friendly and helpful.
We had breakfast included but didn't use it so can't say what it's like.
Location wise it's close enough to everything if you have a car, if your after somewhere that you can just leave the hotel and wander around Austin and see 6th street this isn't the place for you. There's not a lot in walking distance but they do offer a shuttle into town which is free but tips are appreciated, it runs till midnight so you just go into the marriott where it drops you in town and ask them to send it to pick you up. It's a nice easy way to get around and experience Austin's nightlife without having to worry about driving and parking.
The only comment I would make is that there's no free wifi in your room only the lobby, you can get it in your room but at a cost of $14 a day which I find a bit steep considering you can stay at any cheap motel and get wifi in your room free this is a nice hotel it seems crazy not to provide your guests with it we found it especially annoying as we are from Australia we used wifi frequently to research what we wanted to do and booking flights and tickets ect so to have to go to the lobby frequently to organise the next parts of our trip was a little annoying but we dealt with it and still had a lovely time.
Thankyou for your wonderful hospitality Marriott south

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is a great choice for travelers looking for an affordable four-star option in a pretty convenient location with excellent service.

First, the service of the hotel staff was excellent. When I checked in, we arrived a little bit earlier than the check-in time, so understandable that our room was not ready yet. But the manager checking me in still felt bad for making me wait, that he comped my internet service. I thought that was quite exceptional - especially since it wasn't even quite the check-in time yet.

In terms of the room itself, I have no complaints. It was spacious, clean, exactly what you would expect from Marriott standards in my opinion.

The location is pretty convenient, especially if you have a car, considering as it's close to major roadways to/from the airport and downtown (both approximately 15-20 minutes away). The SoCo district is even closer, less than 10 mins away. If you don't have a car, I know the hotel offers a shuttle into the downtown area.

The only negative is that there isn't anything in the immediate vicinity (you're flanked by major highways), so nothing is walkable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview,Tx
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We found the service to be exceptional! The staff offered to get our luggage into our room! The bed was very comfortable. We were on the back side and heard no interstate noise. The only negative was poor lighting in the bathroom. Free parking is a great plus.
The breakfast brunch was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

As a platimum member with almost 1 million points accumulated over the past 30 years, i was disappointed with the Austin Marriott. Normally, i am offered an upgrade...didn't happen. The conceriege room was closed for the weekend. Only one of three elevators were working causing ten minute waits. The staff seemed disinterested in helping with any problems. The next evening stayed at the Marriott Plaza in San Antonio and had an outstanding stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinnipiac10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy Z, General Manager at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback of our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Unfortunately, there are nights when all our suites have been sold and we cannot offer upgrades to our frequent Platinum Elite travelers. Our concierge lounge is open every Sunday night through Friday morning. We do offer complimentary breakfast certificates to our Platinum guests when the concierge lounge is closed.
I hope you will give us another try when you are in Austin again. If you would like to discuss your stay any further, please feel free to contact me!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Courtyard Austin South
#111 of 197 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Marriott South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Marriott South

Property: Austin Marriott South
Address: 4415 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Austin
#40 Family Hotel in Austin
#51 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austin Marriott South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Austin Marriott South is just a short drive from the State Capitol, Austin’s exciting live music scene on 6th Street, or any downtown attraction. Guest rooms feature a refrigerator, high-speed Internet Access, flat screen TVs, and luxury bedding. The property offers complimentary parking and features an on-site restaurant, the Limestone Lounge & Kitchen, as well as an indoor pool and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Austin Marriott South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Marriott South Hotel Austin
Marriott Austin
Austin Marriott South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing