We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Austin South
Ranked #56 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2009

We stayed while passing through Austin and we found this hotel to be a nice place to stay. The room was clean and spacious, the bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly. It's not a luxury hotel, no frills and extras, but is a good value. The free breakfast had more than enough for the 2 of us. I am not familiar with the Austin area, but the area surrounding the hotel seemed nice. Plenty of resaurants and shopping nearby. We would recommend this hotel if you need a good place to stay with your family and want a clean, comfortable hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cates622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We recognize that it takes time to go back and write a review so we appreciate your attentiveness to our hotel. We are glad to hear that your stay at the Springhill Suites Austin South was up to your standards. We strive to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel. Thank you again for your time and we hope to have you stay with us again the next time you visit Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    104
    44
    25
    11
See reviews for
88
50
14
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

I have to preface this by saying that I stay primarily at Marriott properties as they are a brand that I feel that I can trust. Great people and great value on the whole. This was my first issue of any kind with Marriott.

We checked into the hotel at 5 PM after a long, hot day of playing tourist. The lobby had just been freshly shampooed and all the furniture was off the carpet and blowers were running, so on top of the 106° heat it was really humid. I felt for the guy at the desk, he just looked miserable.

After checking in we went up to the room and found it neat and clean and well appointed. We all donned our swimwear and headed for the pool. Hey, it was 106° out. We got there and found a sign that read, "Closed due to swim lessons. You are free to use the pool at the Fairfield Inn next door." I was floored. I am sure they are turning the pool area into a profit center, but at 5 PM?

The computers in the business center (locked, you have to get a key to use it and I'm ok with that) were having major issues and I wasn't able to get our flights checked in nor our boarding passes printed out and luggage paid for. I went to the front desk to see if we could get the machines rebooted, but she used her computers to get our flights taken care of.

We left well ahead of the breakfast that is served, but I've never had a bad one at any of the Marriott properties.

My sole reason for not recommending this hotel is the issue with the pool. We paid for the room and expected to be able to use all the hotels amenities and could not without walking across to another hotel. I'm all for making money, but not at the expense of a customers happiness.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bassnote1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harttme, Sales Manager at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 13 July 2009
We rarely have swimming lessons in the pool area. Since we are donating the pool for a baby swim class we chose a time where we tend to see the least amount of traffic. No profit is being gained from the lessons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

I was a little concerned that we were able to book this room for $72 a night. I had prepared myself for the worst. I had travel to Austin with a friend and 6 kids for short 4 day vacation. The 2 rooms had 2 double beds, a pull out couch, refrigerator, microwave, and computer desk. The beds were absolutely wonderful. We ate the free breakfast which included Texas shaped waffles, eggs, sausage, assorted pastries, cereal, and many other items. I figured that the free breakfast alone saved us quite a bit. The staff was very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place offered at a very reasonable rate.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RphMOM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We recognize that it takes time to go back and write a review so we appreciate your attentiveness to our hotel. We are glad that you had an overall plesant experience with our hotel. Our breakfast has many items our guests can choose from and our rooms are 25% larger than the standard guest rooms. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you can come back and visit us the next time you come to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Our group stayed for 3 nights (3 rooms) and everyone was very satisfied with this facility.
Pros: Very responsive and professional front desk personnel, good breakfast / dining area, clean facility, comfortable beds, convenient location on I-35.
Cons: The closets in the king bed suites are very small and somewhat tough to get to, the in-room iNet connection is very slow.

This is a place that we would stay at again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had an overall positive experience aside from the size of the closets. We have a few different room types, therefore maybe next time we can get you into a more open floor plan. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel, we hope you will give us another try next time you're visiting Austin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OAK PARK, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I was very impressed by this outstanding hotel. The room was huge and immaculate.
Great Feng Shui!!! The service and ambiance could not have been better. It was refreshing to actually witness a staff that enjoys and takes pride in their job(s).
The buffet breakfast served daily was great and is also free. There was a wide assortment of cold and hot items and the word shortage did not enter into the setting.
I stayed for 5 nights on business and even had a meeting w/some business colleagues in the hotel after bragging to them about my great experience.
Austin is already such a great city and this hotel only enhances the experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TERRIERSRULE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appriciate the time taken out of your day to let us know how your stay was. We are very happy to know that you were pleased with your stay and enjoyed our breakfast and the size of our rooms. Our goal is to provide our customers 100% customer service. We hope you choose the Springhill Suites Austin South the next time you visit Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

We spent three days at the Springhill Suites Austin South while checking out the University of Texas-Austin with our teenager. The location was convenient to a major highway but our room was quiet. Beds (two doubles--not queens) were extremely comfortable. There was also a sleeper sofa which we did not use. The shower was perfect and easy-to-operate. The room was very clean and included a refrigerator and microwave--and two televisions. The layout of the room worked well for a party of three. The free in-room Internet access was also a plus.

The free breakfast included make-your-own Texas-shaped waffles. What a treat! Plus there were two waffle makers so we didn't experience the long lines common at other hotels.

The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Texas-shaped waffles for breakfast.
  • Disliked — Queen-size beds would be better than doubles.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rontel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We appriciate your time in writing a review. We are so glad you enjoyed the size of our rooms to make your stay comfertable for your family. Our guest rooms are 25% percent larger than the standard guest rooms. Our goal is to be the cleaniest and friendliest hotel. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We stayed on a Friday and Sunday night and both stays were great. Rooms super clean and well appointed with 2 TV's, fridge and microwave. Staff very friendly and helpful with local info. Hotel in a complex of 4 properties including a full service Marriott so you are walking distance from more extensive amenities including a nice restaurant. Location right off the highway so convenient for folks traveling and the room is big enough for a family since it's a suite with a pull out couch bed. Beds very comfortable. Complimentary continental breakfast very basic but a good start to get you on the road (we ate elsewhere since I know restaurants in Austin). tOverall a very good value with a lot of space and super clean.

  • Liked — Super clean.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tzankster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and taking the time to do so. We appreciate all feedback as we our goal is to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel. Since your last visit we have made many changes from staff to decor to amenities. I encourage you to give us a second chance as I think you will be pleased with our changes. We thank you again for your review and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Courtyard Austin South
#90 of 203 in Austin
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Austin Marriott South
#44 of 203 in Austin
401 reviews
South Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Austin South

Property: SpringHill Suites Austin South
Address: 4501 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78744-1803
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Austin South has been renovated! Located just off IH-35 and 8 miles from AUS Airport, our south Austin hotel features renovated suites with microwaves, mini-fridges and 25% more space than traditional Austin Airport hotel rooms. Just six miles from downtown Austin, we offer a free evening shuttle to 6th Street, the convention center and UT Austin. Guests love our free amenities including hot breakfast, WiFi, parking and indoor pool and 24-hour gym. Choose the newly-renovate SpringHill Suites Austin South and you'll see why we're a top choice among Austin Airport hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Austin South Hotel Austin
SpringHill Suites Austin South Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing