We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive Staff Good Location”
Review of Heywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heywood Hotel
Ranked #5 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Attentive Staff Good Location”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The staff was helpful and room was comfortable. The lounge outside the room is delightful. It is really not a B & B rather a boutique hotel that serves coffee and tea in the morning. We stayed in the queen bee room that has a shower with a wonderful skylight. I suggested to the management that they should add bathrobes to their amenities and received a note back that it was planned. It will add that final touch of luxury.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    10
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
87
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
308 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I held a Board of Directors Meeting in Austin recently and booked several rooms for my various board members and myself. Prior to booking, the owner Kathy contacted me to discuss our request for reservations as she wanted to ensure that a "large", relatively speaking, booking did not disturb her other guests. I took this as a great sign and was glad I could assure her that our group would be considerate and low-key. Beginning with the detailed booking and Kathy handling our dinner reservations, our entire stay was handled with kid gloves and true attention to details. Further to the service, the property itself is designed beautifully and we all found the rooms to be very comfortable. Located within walking distance of great bars, restaurants, music, and breakfast tacos the next morning, you simply could not ask for much more. Even the custom roasted coffee service in the morning speaks to the efforts made by Kathy and her staff. What a great choice for our stay. I can say without a doubt that Heywood Hotel would be a great experience for anyone visiting Austin and I hope you have the opportunity to share the same results we did.

Room Tip: The rooms in the rear of the hotel surrounding the upstairs "Courtyard" are quiet and easy...
See more room tips
Green Features: Superb design and materials. Clearly practice a true environmentally-friendly effort.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We only stayed for a night, but had a comfortable room. The owner was extremely helpful with suggestions in the area. Located just off of downtown in East Austin, which has a wealth of new and exciting bars and restaurants. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuckahoe, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was a great place to start our vacation. The property was clean and fresh and relaxing to lounge around on, before and after going out and about for the day. The upstairs patio is a little oasis. We stayed in the queen bee room, which was just fine for us, and had the most comfortable bed! The sleek furniture made the room seem larger than it was, and never felt crowded. The staff was super helpful for pointing us to the up and coming shops and restaurants in the area and the best taco and BBQ stands, which were all easily accessible by bike or walking, even to downtown. I definitely took advantage of the complimentary bike for exploring! The purveyor also has a conscious eye to using both local and environmentally friendly products and practices. This made an even more positive impact on my impression. Well done, and would stay again, and recommend to others highly.

Green Features: The purveyor also has a conscious eye to using both local and environmentally friendly products and practices. This support made me feel that they were not just taking care of us, or in it for the business, but for the betterment of their whole community.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine4152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at the Heywood Hotel for 4 nights in April 2014. The room was nice - updated, clean and stocked with nice soap/shampoo/products.

This is an older home that has been converted into a hotel with a large addition added to the back to create more rooms. We stayed in the addition and were happy with the overall hotel.

Complementary coffee/tea were provided in the mornings. They do not have a breakfast, but there was a breakfast taco place a few blocks down that we'd walk to to get $2 potato/bacon/cheese/egg tacos and they were really good.

I was a bit concerned about the location - it looks like it's in an older community with some rundown homes, but it was safe and we walked around the neighborhood at night to/from restaurants and didn't have any problems.

The best part about our stay was the complementary bikes that the hotel let us use. We kept our car parked at the hotel (for free!) the entire time we were in Austin and rode the bikes all over the city. There are a lot of bike lanes on the street and we had no problems getting around safely. Plenty of bike racks to lock the bikes up while you visit restaurants, the State Capitol, etc. We saw a lot of the city we probably won't have seen just because we were on bikes - plus it was great exercise.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helped us with restaurant recommendations and places to visit.

Overall, I recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Can't say enough nice things about it!

Room Tip: The rooms in the additon are larger and quieter because they are farther away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

If you're looking to experience Austin in a cool neighborhood but still close to downtown way, this is a great place to stay. Walking distance to great food (restaurants and food trucks), music and getting a non-polished but safe Austin vibe.This was my 2nd visit to Austin. The first time I stayed downtown, but decided to try a different area this time. I'm very glad I did and would stay here again. The staff gave wonderful recommendations, and it's a pleasant 15 min walk to NE Austin near Franklin's and just under 10 min walk to 6th st of east Austin. Room2 is very comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Having read all the wonderful reviews of this relatively new hotel, we were excited to stay here. The location is great, the staff very helpful, and the bedding very comfortable. The lighting was great which is unusual, and the boutique toiletries in the bathroom a nice touch. My only complaint, and the reason I can't rate this higher, is the AC. The heating/AC unit in the deluxe room(#2) is just awful. It cools fine but doesn't dehumidify. After the first night our clothes were damp. The staff was helpful and pointed out a dehumidifier mode on the remote. That helped for a few hours then it turned off. Frustrated on our second night, we finally turned it off. Fortunately it was unseasonably cool, and that was much better. I'm not sure what the solution is but it needs fixing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank phmokda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy S, Owner at Heywood Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
David, we were so happy to have you stay with us while you were visiting your family in Austin. I am so sorry your AC unit was giving you trouble. Thank you very much for bringing the issue to our attention. Upon learning that there was a problem, we went to work to diagnose the issue and get everything back to normal.

I'm very sorry you were inconvenienced in any way. Sleep quality is extremely important to us. If we have the opportunity to host you again, we want to make sure you are completely satisfied. Please feel free to get in touch with me personally when you book your reservation.

We encourage all guests to please bring any issues to our attention, no matter the hour, so we can keep you comfortable and happy. If you lose sleep, we lose sleep! And as a quick explanation to other guests, the humidity in the room was caused by the hot water in the bathroom. This room has a deep soaking tub, and all rooms feature a constant supply of hot water through our on-demand hot water system. Our hotel offers a home-like environment; please use the bathroom fan while bathing to help control humidity.

David, I am happy to hear you otherwise enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you next time you are in Austin for a visit! Thanks for staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
547 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,985 reviews
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
1,304 reviews
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
1.3 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 203 in Austin
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Hotel

Property: Heywood Hotel
Address: 1609 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78702-4455
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heywood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An artisanal boutique hotel and unique Austin experience. Half upcycled bungalow, half courtyard hotel, the Heywood embodies the intangible elements that define Austin: Creative. Easy going. Thoughtful. Cool. Located smack dab in the middle of the vibrant East Austin neighborhood and surrounded by local restaurants, lounges, and shops, this modern boutique hotel is an easy walk to downtown, Sixth Street, the Convention Center, and Lady Bird Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Heywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Hotel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing