We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One thing after another”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University
Ranked #127 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Crockett, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One thing after another”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

From the time we checked in it was bad. They had change our original room for maintenance problems then we get to our room to turn on the air .... We wait for about 2 hours thinking it will cool down, it never does so we call down to the desk... She was very helpful and friendly.... We had to move rooms because the air was not working there... We get to the new room and there was trash on the floor... We didn't complain again because this was the last suite they had... On top of that the bath mat they had there had mold looking stuff on the side... The hotel is outdated overpriced and in a bad neighborhood. The bed was comfortable but after everything else it didn't make up for the hassle Will not stay again nor do I suggest you stay

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tammywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_astn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
I am so sorry there were so many issues with your stay. I know that it must have been very frustrating and I sincerely apologize and would love another chance to make a good impression! Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    59
    55
    37
    41
See reviews for
79
46
12
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This Hotel was good for what we needed. It was clean, and had good service, and the price was good for what you get.

It was close to where we needed to be. I will note that the surrounding residential area is Urban. Some people MAY feel uncomfortable because of this.

This is not your DREAM hotel. If it is only serving as a room for the night, it far exceeds expectations.

Room Tip: We were by the elevator, and you could hear very minor noise. Very Minor. But if you want to be in c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The good: Clean linens, hot shower, nice team at the front desk.

The bad: A cockroach skittered across the lobby on my last day there. The walls are thin. The carpet in my room was moldy and smelly. The fan did not work in my bathroom. The lock on my window was half-broken.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrisns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I found staff great,rooms tidy and included breakfast was great value. I flew in from Brisbane Australia for Formula One GP next weekend and found it great place to get over jetlag from 24 hour flying. You have good range of options of getting food delivered.

Room Tip: Higher floors and rooms not facing the I-35 as the noise can be bad if you want windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The staff is very friendly and courteous; they were willing to assist in any way they could. All of my questions and/or requests were handled in a professional and timely manner. The Check-in process was easy and hassle free. The rooms were always clean, neat, and tidy. The staff always went out of their way to make you feel at home. Breakfast was plentiful and there were many different choices. Room rates were very reasonable and the rooms are fairly large. I would recommend staying at this hotel because the staff is so welcoming and gracious.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustSoYaKnow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_astn, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much! We love kind remarks like these. I will alert the staff to your feedback and give them the recognition they deserve. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The room was comfortable enough for the night I spent there before my flight the next morning. The window didn't seal well and because it was in a very cold winter in Austin, my room was not warm. My bathroom was not super clean and had rust spots in the shower. The bed was good enough for a few hours of sleep. It wasn't in the nicest area of Austin and there were not a lot of good non chain food options around it. Overall I wouldn't seek it out, but it will do in a pinch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelikiespi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strawberry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We stay at Country Inn & Suites many times when on business trips. This was a particularly nice location. Nice rooms, friendly staff, good basic breakfast and a quiet neighborhood. We would stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cx_astn, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback. We love having you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
St. Johns
Comfort Inn Austin
Comfort Inn Austin
#147 of 200 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
St. Johns
Hampton Inn Austin-North at I-35 and Hwy 183
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University
Address: 7400 I-35 North, Austin, TX 78752
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > St. Johns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Austin-North
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North Hotel Austin
Country Inn Austin North
Austin Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing