We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Staff, Cold Pool, Nice Lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum
Ranked #40 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Lobby is nice, had a fire place with a nice table of free snacks and tea, but unfortunately the kind of things you don't really want even if there free. Rooms are just ok, Staff is cold and snotty, indoor pool is not heated and hot tub has problems. Says Hilton on the outside but disappoints once in you’re in. Price was good so I didn’t complain. Hotel isn't bad just not what I was expecting for "Hilton" Was traveling with my wife and daughter so wanted something a little nicer, will try somewhere else next time

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dan,
Sorry you didn't experience our normal great service. Please don't hesitate to bring issues to our attention in the future. We are not perfect but will do anything we can to fix it. Sorry you were not able to experience our new furniture we just installed. It gives the room an entirely different feel. Give us another shot next time you are here.
Thanks,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

They were great, but overpriced. The rooms were nice, amenities were nice. They offer cookies and coffee all day in the nice upscale lobby with a fireplace. The location is not great since it's 10 miles from Sixth Street, and there are really no places to listen to music anywhere nearby. But the thing that ruined it for me was the breakfast buffet. My friend made the reservations and checked into the hotel and I came later.

I wake up at 6 and leave him to sleep while I go downstairs to the breakfast buffet. When I'm done, they bring me a check! What!? Isn't this included? Only if you have a green ticket. I check with the front desk and breakfast is not included. But there is no indication at the buffet that the breakfast buffet may not be included and they don't separate it out like a restaurant, it's just a part of the downstairs lobby.

Additionally, the buffet was an overpriced, not very good buffet that I wouldn't have paid for since I either would have gone somewhere else or eaten from my 'stash' of food that I bring with me to hotels. And in this case, I would NOT have had breakfast there for sure since the buffet was barely more than a continental breakfast with crappy eggs that didn't even look freshly made and tasted 'watered down' and dry like powdered eggs. I asked if they were from fresh real eggs and they said yes, but they didn't taste like it. The only part that was better than a crappy hotel continental breakfast was the fresh fruit.

So, we had to add another $10 each to our almost $150 a night hotel room for extra breakfast. I complained to the front desk staff and he seemed to indicate that he'd told management about this problem many times and that there was nothing that he could do. I complained to the waitress and she said that I should have asked first and not assumed. Apparently they give you a coupon for breakfast when you check in, and I suggested that they ask for the coupon ahead of time and then offer a menu to those without a coupon stating the price of the buffet and that it's not included. She and another waitress seemed angry, and pointed to a sign on the wall WAYYYYYYYYY over in a corner that there would have been no possibility of me seeing, that shows the price of the buffet.

If they had put such sign immediately next to the buffet where it could not be missed, this would have been far better than way off in a corner where it can't be seen and where no one would be inclined to look for the price of the said buffet.

Not only do I think this is tacky, either offer the breakfast at a high end hotel or don't. Don't have a buffet sitting out and say, "Well, that's not for you, that's only for our special customers". Even the crappiest of hotels give you a continental breakfast, sheesh. But if you insist on having an optional breakfast for some customers, it should be made clear to all of the guests that the buffet is not included for some customers and make clear the price upon sitting down. Not all guests make the reservations themselves and so don't know what the conditions were upon check in. Maybe this is petty, but extra charges should be made clear to all customers so that they can avoid them if they desire. Extra, unwanted charges are always annoying.

Room Tip: Don't assume that you get breakfast, you don't. Buffet is kinda crappy anyway, you'd get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Kerri,
I am sorry that breakfast policy was confusing. Hilton Garden Inn does not provide free breakfast. We offer an extensive breakfast that includes, fresh fruit, hot items, cook to order eggs and omelets, oat meal, waffles, etc. If you become a Hilton Honors member and achieve gold or diamond status you can elect to get free breakfast. We feel at $9.95 what we serve is an amazing value and you don't even have to leave the hotel or wait in line at IHOP. Sorry it was so confusing. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future.
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Wonderful hotel! This hotel was in a good location to see all of Austin. It was clean and the room was well appointed. The kids had a great time in the indoor pool and hot tub was great too. The staff was very polite and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Ellen,
So glad to hear that you and your family had a great time and were take advantage of our indoor pool and hot tub. We hope to see you again when your travels find you here in Austin.
Thanks,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Lobby and rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Friendly service and good hot breakfast. Would stay here again. Internet service was consistent and allowed me to work without issues. Lobby was comfortable to sit in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Billie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Billie,
Thank you so much for the great review. Glad to see that you found the room so comfortable. Wait until you see the rooms next time you are here. NEW FURNITURE!!! It looks even better.
Thanks,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We chose to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary in Austin, but were torn between another area Hilton hotel we'd used in June, 2013. Upon checking the weather forecast, we decided on this hotel, with indoor pool and spa, in basically the same area. We were surprised, upon arrival, at our upgraded room to a suite, and the desk clerk's assurance that we had been given a very quiet room. Then, about 15-20 minutes after we were settled in, a knock at the door brought another surprise... an iced bottle of champagne. Our room was FABULOUS, and tremendously quiet. The area had an enormous amount of restaurants and other hidden treasures that kept us occupied for our entire stay. We WILL BE BACK to this almost hidden gem in northern Austin!!! The staff went out of their way to make this an awesome long weekend! Thanks Austin's Hilton Garden Inn, NW Arboretum, for making our stay soooooo special!!! We will see you all again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Melanie,
Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for letting us be apart of it. So glad you shared with us that you were coming for your anniversary. It gave us the heads up we needed to make sure your stay was extra special. See you on your 40th!!!!
Thanks,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our basketball team stayed here last weekend. The service was excellent. Nicole was great. Breakfast very good. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Rooms were nicely appointed and very clean. Great location. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Tim,
Thank you for trusting us with your team. Glad we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our staff took such good care of you. Let us be there for your again on your next tournament in Austin.
Thanks,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Room was clean and comfortable. Bar was enjoyable for a nice glass of wine. Breakfast was great. Location was convenient. All the staff was friendly. Exercise room had quality machines and good free weights.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Mark,
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so glad you were able to experience all of our amenities while you were here. Our Precor fitness equipment is really awesome. Everyone loves it.
Thanks,
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Northwest Austin
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin NW - Arboretum Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum

Address: 11617 Research Blvd, Austin, TX 78759-4031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Austin
#21 Business Hotel in Austin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £64 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Austin NW/Arboretum hotel which boasts an ideal location in the Northwest Arboretum while also giving you prime location to The Domain shopping in Austin. We offer complimentary WiFi as well as clean, spacious rooms to make you feel right at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum Hotel Austin
Hilton Austin
Austin Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing