We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - terrible bed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum
Ranked #37 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Rockwall, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - terrible bed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I've stayed at this hotel many times. The mattresses haven't been updated in some time, and leave comfort something to be desired. If you like a comfortable bed this isn't your place. The location is great, and very easy to get to. Close to food, drink, and shopping areas.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Mark,
So sorry to hear that your bed was so uncomfortable. We have the signature Hilton Garden Inn Sleep System bed. It is adjustable so you can set your firmness desired. Sorry if that wasn't explained to you properly. I hope it is better next time you are here.
Thanks,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    182
    60
    31
    9
See reviews for
183
108
32
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Tx, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was my first time at the Hilton Garden Inn. I enjoyed my stay. Breakfast cooked to order was wonderful. Staff was great with our children, who were participating in Special Olympics Bowling. I can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Tonyia,
Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad that you are planning to come back. We had a few guests here for the special Olympics and we enjoyed everyone so much. We look forward to see you again.
Thanks,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel is awesome. This is our third stay at this particular hotel. We have always had a wonderful experience. I have a son with special needs. The staff is always nice to him and willing to help me out in anyway. They even offered to help me get my items out of the car. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank texastravel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Wow, thank you for the great review. We are so pleased to be able to take care of our repeat guests. It's a testament to our dedication to all of our guests and what I feel separates us from everyone else.
Thanks,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I travelled to Texas in Jan '14 for the second time in 2 months with work, It wasn't the Hilton Garden I stayed in during my first visit so I was apprehensive as it was a 3 star in comparison to the 4 star on my first trip.
But it outshone the 4 start hands down! Great stay, a home away from home. The staff were extremely friendly and lived up to the Texan hospitality. Nicole at the bar or reception deserves a special mention, she was great!
The pool is very small and a bit cold but the jacuzzi is great, hot and great jets once you find the button on the wall to turn it on!
The breakfast was fabulous, a great choice and range of hot and cold food, from a fry to porridge to fruit.
There wasn't a restaurant as such but in the evening you could order from the bar menu and they would make t fresh for you i.e. Texan burgers etc.
Bone Daddy's bar is next door, where you get great beer and bar food with a great atmosphere.
Great for a business trip as it's located in the heart of Research Blvd but not great for a city trip.. approx 10 miles from downtown Austin

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VivA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
So glad that you gave us an opportunity and so glad that we didn't disappoint. High fives are coming to Nicole for taking good care of you.
Thanks,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We took this trip as a little getaway for our anniversary. The hotel was wonderful.
The hotel staff is wonderful. Super friendly and helpful. I am already planning another trip to Austin area and will stay at this hotel again. The price was really terrific, rooms clean and smelled great. The bathrooms where clean and the water pressure was good and hot.
We used the indoor pool and hot tub while we were there. They were wonderful. The pool was warm and the hot tub hot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Missy,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are so glad hear that you are planning another trip soon. Thank you also for letting everyone know that our heated indoor pool and hot tub were enjoyed. See you soon.!!!
Thanks,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Lobby is nice, had a fire place with a nice table of free snacks and tea, but unfortunately the kind of things you don't really want even if there free. Rooms are just ok, Staff is cold and snotty, indoor pool is not heated and hot tub has problems. Says Hilton on the outside but disappoints once in you’re in. Price was good so I didn’t complain. Hotel isn't bad just not what I was expecting for "Hilton" Was traveling with my wife and daughter so wanted something a little nicer, will try somewhere else next time

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dan,
Sorry you didn't experience our normal great service. Please don't hesitate to bring issues to our attention in the future. We are not perfect but will do anything we can to fix it. Sorry you were not able to experience our new furniture we just installed. It gives the room an entirely different feel. Give us another shot next time you are here.
Thanks,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

They were great, but overpriced. The rooms were nice, amenities were nice. They offer cookies and coffee all day in the nice upscale lobby with a fireplace. The location is not great since it's 10 miles from Sixth Street, and there are really no places to listen to music anywhere nearby. But the thing that ruined it for me was the breakfast buffet. My friend made the reservations and checked into the hotel and I came later.

I wake up at 6 and leave him to sleep while I go downstairs to the breakfast buffet. When I'm done, they bring me a check! What!? Isn't this included? Only if you have a green ticket. I check with the front desk and breakfast is not included. But there is no indication at the buffet that the breakfast buffet may not be included and they don't separate it out like a restaurant, it's just a part of the downstairs lobby.

Additionally, the buffet was an overpriced, not very good buffet that I wouldn't have paid for since I either would have gone somewhere else or eaten from my 'stash' of food that I bring with me to hotels. And in this case, I would NOT have had breakfast there for sure since the buffet was barely more than a continental breakfast with crappy eggs that didn't even look freshly made and tasted 'watered down' and dry like powdered eggs. I asked if they were from fresh real eggs and they said yes, but they didn't taste like it. The only part that was better than a crappy hotel continental breakfast was the fresh fruit.

So, we had to add another $10 each to our almost $150 a night hotel room for extra breakfast. I complained to the front desk staff and he seemed to indicate that he'd told management about this problem many times and that there was nothing that he could do. I complained to the waitress and she said that I should have asked first and not assumed. Apparently they give you a coupon for breakfast when you check in, and I suggested that they ask for the coupon ahead of time and then offer a menu to those without a coupon stating the price of the buffet and that it's not included. She and another waitress seemed angry, and pointed to a sign on the wall WAYYYYYYYYY over in a corner that there would have been no possibility of me seeing, that shows the price of the buffet.

If they had put such sign immediately next to the buffet where it could not be missed, this would have been far better than way off in a corner where it can't be seen and where no one would be inclined to look for the price of the said buffet.

Not only do I think this is tacky, either offer the breakfast at a high end hotel or don't. Don't have a buffet sitting out and say, "Well, that's not for you, that's only for our special customers". Even the crappiest of hotels give you a continental breakfast, sheesh. But if you insist on having an optional breakfast for some customers, it should be made clear to all of the guests that the buffet is not included for some customers and make clear the price upon sitting down. Not all guests make the reservations themselves and so don't know what the conditions were upon check in. Maybe this is petty, but extra charges should be made clear to all customers so that they can avoid them if they desire. Extra, unwanted charges are always annoying.

Room Tip: Don't assume that you get breakfast, you don't. Buffet is kinda crappy anyway, you'd get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Kerri,
I am sorry that breakfast policy was confusing. Hilton Garden Inn does not provide free breakfast. We offer an extensive breakfast that includes, fresh fruit, hot items, cook to order eggs and omelets, oat meal, waffles, etc. If you become a Hilton Honors member and achieve gold or diamond status you can elect to get free breakfast. We feel at $9.95 what we serve is an amazing value and you don't even have to leave the hotel or wait in line at IHOP. Sorry it was so confusing. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future.
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin NW - Arboretum Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn Austin - Arboretum Northwest
Northwest Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin-Arboretum / NW
Northwest Austin
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Cedar Park - Lakeline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum
Address: 11617 Research Blvd, Austin, TX 78759-4031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Austin
#17 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#21 Business Hotel in Austin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Austin NW/Arboretum hotel which boasts an ideal location in the Northwest Arboretum while also giving you prime location to The Domain shopping in Austin. We offer complimentary WiFi as well as clean, spacious rooms to make you feel right at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum Hotel Austin
Hilton Austin
Austin Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Northwest / Arboretum Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing