We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Ranked #104 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We were in town for one night for a wedding, and were there less than 24 hours, but the room was clean, smelled great, and the bed was comfortable. I thought the breakfast was more than adequate with waffles, cereal, bagels, biscuits and gravy. They have a nice pool in the back with a hot tub. There is a train that goes behind it, but we stayed on the front (west) side of the building and we could not hear it in our room. I heard it go by when I was at the pool. Lots of shopping and restaurants close by.We will definitely stay her again next time we are in the Austin area.

Room Tip: Stay on the west side.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyA400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for staying with us when you were in Austin for a wedding. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The Texas waffles are the best. We look forward to seeing you when you are able to come back to Austin.

Regards,

Brandon Heidkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed here as it was in close proximity to a competition my son was participating in. The location was great - right off of MoPac and very close to 183. The hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. Not a lot of extras here, but it is great for just spending the night. I was a little disappointed with the breakfast in the morning when compared to other similar chains. Overall, I would stay here again if I needed a quick place to stay.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank es_in_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for staying with us while you were in town with your son. Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the breakfast as much as we would have liked. We try and provide a great complementary breakfast that everyone can enjoy which includes hot eggs and sausage, a variety of breads, cereals and yogurts, oatmeal, waffles, juice, milk and coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The room was adequate, the beds acceptable, the air con did its job and the breakfast provided was pleasant and included (little egg sandwiches, toast, cereals and a waffle maker which made waffles in the shape of Texas), with the price of the room; however, the biggest impression made on me was the front desk staff. We arrived well after midnight (delays and other drama with the airline) and were met with a super-cheerful lady who answered our questions, quickly provided us our room keys and offered us snacks.
We stayed for three nights, and each and every time we walked through the lobby, an attendant offered us a cheerful greeting,complementary fresh baked cookies, bags of chips and bottled water! I have not had that level of attention at many five star hotels anywhere in the world!
I should probably mention that the hotel was overrun with crickets, but so was all of Austin, including the airport. We were astounded to find crickets laying dead or hopping throughout the terminal, often getting them caught in the wheels of our luggage. Apparently, this is an annual occurence, and we did not hold it against the hotel or the airport :)
The Fairfield has a computer in the lobby for guest use, coffee available all day and night, a small swimming pool indoors (we did not use it, but we noticed many children did), and ventilation that can be set to stay on, rather than clunking on and off through the night. (I particularly appreciate that, as DH snores and I am a light sleeper, so it helps to have the "white noise").
All in all a lovely visit. We will be staying there again in October and look forward to it.

Room Tip: Have stayed in two rooms and find them equally comfortable. I liked the first floor, as it was conv...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyladyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for staying with us while you were in the Austin area. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of our amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in October.

Regards,

Brandon Heidkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

close to many restaurants and major roadways. the room was clean, neat, attractive and quiet. the breakfast was perfect for either a quick grab and go or a sit down and enjoy type meal. very comfortable, staff made good recommendations on local restaurants. i'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank braxton w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the clean rooms and good breakfast. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Austin area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Located nicely on a major intersection of I-44, on the "campus" of two other Marriott properties, this Fairfield was the perfect match for our needs on the North edge of Austin. Everything was in order. Great staff, clean room, etc.,etc. Breakfast buffet was quite good and the staff was superb ( there were 4 or 5 youth teams staying there, so you can imagine the possible chaos) No problem for the Fairfield staff.
Large shopping center accross the highway, plenty of good restaurants also near. Easy on/off I-44 to head into downtown or north to Pflugerville and Round Rock. Recommend if you are in need of a nice hotel in North Austin.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pagmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for going on trip advisor to let everyone know about your stay. We have a wonderful staff that is ready to take care of the biggest groups or the business traveler that needs a place to work. We are centrally located to sports, businesses and shopping. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all of this. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us.

Thank you,

Brandon Heidkamp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I have stayed at this property many times and keep coming back because of the exceptional care they show to me but also anyone else. They are patient and always kind from the front staff to the janitorial and always have a moment to help.

I've seen them wake someone up who's missing from a shuttle group, give great advice on places to grab food, and take personal interest in someone's well-being who looked a bit worse for the wear. This type of commitment to other people is rare even in the service industry and keeps me coming back.

Regarding the previous post on crickets, unfortunately this is an Austin problem for about a month every summer and this Fairfield is more cricket-free than almost anywhere else in Austin during this time period. Anyone who's been in the airport, any restaurant, store or office during their summer knows that crickets are an unfortunate way of life and I laud the staff for their attempts to control this plague of lucky crickets. :)

Thank you again.

Room Tip: They do not have a restaurant on premises.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhiannonSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us while you are in Austin. We do everything that we can to make sure that every guest has the best possible stay. We are glad that you noticed and went on trip advisor to let everyone know. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Austin.

Thank you,

Brandon Heidkamp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

What drew me to this hotel was the price. The quality of my stay will bring me back. My family of seven needs accomodations that can handle us all without breaking the bank. That is what I got. Here are the highlights in no particular order:

Why you might want to stay here: Good price, excellent customer service from helpful staff, free breakfast is tasty (my kids especially the Texas-shaped Belgian waffles), tons of shopping nearby (some of it is high-end), you can schedule a complimentary shuttle to take you to places you need to go that are nearby, the pillows are a mix of "fluffy" and "non-fluffy" to suit your preference, there's a nearby bus line that goes straight into downtown with no transfers needed.

Why you might not want to stay here: It's a ten-mile trip to downtown in some pretty ugly traffic, the rooms on the east side of the hotel face a railroad (It didn't seem particularly loud to us, but if you're a light sleeper, you might want to request a room on the west side of the hotel).

Other things to note: rooms are clean, wifi speed is average (In order to make it work, you'll need to login via a browser window in order to accept the terms of service), TV channel selection was average, suite size was avearage (spacious for a couple), hot water is very hot, beds are semi-firm, coffee maker and decent-sized refrigerator (no freezer) in every room. Some rooms have microwaves. Workout room and outdoor pool are small but sufficient.

In short, this is where we will stay if we ever travel to Austin again.

Room Tip: East side rooms face a railroad. The train does not sound it's horn as it is passing, but if you...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil6793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairfieldinnaustinnw, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next trip into the Austin area. I will make sure that we have plenty of waffle mix and the shuttle ready for you, when you get here.

Thank you,

Brandon Heidkamp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
SpringHill Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum
Northwest Austin
Residence Inn Austin Northwest/The Domain Area
Northwest Austin
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Mopac North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Staybridge Suites Austin Arboretum
Northwest Austin
aloft Austin at the Domain
Northwest Austin
Home2 Suites by Hilton Austin North/Near the Domain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area

Address: 11201 N Mopac Expy, Austin, TX 78759-5411 (Formerly Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/Arboretum)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £84 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Austin Northwest
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest Hotel Austin
Fairfield Inn Austin
Fairfield Austin
Austin Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin Northwest/The Domain Area Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing