We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, comfortable rooms, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #29 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location, comfortable rooms, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Good value for the money. Great location--we could walk to most places and did. When we returned from our food tour --- walking in the Texas heat, we cooled off in the pool and relaxed in our comfortable room. Then out for a fun evening of food and music. This morning I was pleasantly surprised by the yummy breakfast. Those little omelets are wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    336
    104
    40
    26
See reviews for
153
226
63
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites on San Jacinto Aug 2-4. Sparkling new hotel, incredible service, great location and a huge room. Free breakfasts and Happy Hour.

Across the street from the Convention Center and more than a dozen great places to eat within a 1-10 minute walk.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend this Hampton Inn to others.

I will say that parking in downtown Austin is a costly venture. There is virtually no free parking anywhere. Valet is available at a cost at this hotel but it is cheaper than my friends paid at the Radisson.

I dealt with the Front Desk, Bellman, and the nice lady who cleaned my room. Incredible friendly and professional service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We booked the room through the "get this rate on one of these 4 hotels." It was a great rate, which made it a little easier to stomach the $23 parking fee. When we arrived we were told we had a room with 2 doubles b/c you can't choose your room type when using a third party site. I explained that this was a one-night get-away for my husband and me, and would really appreciate a room with a king if possible. She was kind enough to accomodate us. Unfortunately the room was on the third floor overlooking the busy street below. The hotel sat at an intersection, and all night we heard loud cars, sirens etc. The room and restroom were both small, even by hotel standards. The breakfast was nice and the set up on the second floor was well done. If we traveled to Austin again, I would consider staying here if we got the same low rate and could stay on a higher floor--if that helps with the noise.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stayed only one night whlle in the area . Chose from reading other reviews and price I found on Expedia. Pretty standard for Hampton Inn, no complaints. Rooms are a little small (2 double beds) but was clean. Breakfast choices in the morning were plenty. Hotel is next to a construction zone. Some of the reviews spoke of noise but we didn't hear anything. Perhaps we were facing away from it. Inquire at desk for room away from noise if there is any. Easy walking to anywhere for dinner, music and shopping. Close to Congress street for the bats. Only negative is $23 for valet parking but thats the way the cookie crumbles in these "chic" cities. In/out service all day at the price so not too bad if you think about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fespo7888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in a King Studio Suite for one night in July on the 4th floor. The room was spacicious, but noise from the street could be heard in the morning. Upon arrival we had to unload and carry our luggage into the lobby as this hotel does not have any bellhops. The valet may assist on occassion if they are not otherwise engaged in parking cars. Check-in was quick and efficient and the staff were helpful in providing a map and directions. The hotel is convenient to major points of interest downtown. We parked across the street in a garage that was half the price of the hotel's valet parking.

During the week, there is a cocktail hour in the evening which included wine, beer or soft drinks and light snacks. The breakfast included in the room rate was was also very plentiful and had a large variety to choose from. My only complaint about the stay is that the pool had been closed by the health department the day before our arrival. The front desk staff seemed to be unaware of this fact as the directed us to the pool when we inquired upon arrival. Needless to say, this was a huge disappoint for our child who was looking forward to a nice swim after traveling all day. It also raised concerns regarding the overall upkeep of the pool since it obviously did not pass an inspection conducted by the local health department.

Room Tip: Construction next door and road noise from busy city streets may disrupt light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HouTexGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I just spent two nights at this hotel and was somewhat disappointed. In part I realize that I prefer something with more character. But I was thinking I'd go for the large room, swimming pool and convenient location. It had those but not much more. Basically it is charmless-- from the paper cups next to the coffeemaker in the room, to the abundant but unpleasant breakfast served on plastic plates, to the corporate, dull decor of the room.. The people at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and there were plenty of towels. Water pressure in my room could have been stronger.. There was only one small window and so the room was rather dark in spite of the Austin sun. The biggest problem, however, is the construction work right next to the hotel. I thought I would be safe on a Saturday morning but I was awakened by road work at five a.m. Then using the pool you are surrounded by noise of construction One positive note is that they have a pick-up service from the airport but you have to get the number from them and make the arrangements yourself.. That service was excellent-on time, friendly and efficient.. All in all I think I got pretty much what I paid for but I suspect I could find something really fun, funky or just interesting for the same money. I probably wouldn't come back here.

Room Tip: If you can get a front room there may be less construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riddett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

...but there are probably better places. While I LOVE the service, location, and breakfast featured at this downtown Austin property, there are so many options nearby that I suspect one (or many?) of them will offer nicer rooms at a comparable price. Sure the size of the suite was ample for my wife and me, it was the quality of the beds (both ours and my son's on the sleeper pullout) and room amenities that left something to be desired. The building, probably an updated structure from the pre-1970's, just seemed to be missing "it" and was in the midst of Austin's downtown construction boom, making navigation by car and foot mildly tricky. I wasn't grossly disappointed because the breakfast was hot and ample, the location was perfect for EVERYTHING (e.g. 6th Street, the bridge bats, SoCo, the Convention Center, running trails along the river, the capital, the University, and destinations beyond this central site), and the staff was GREAT, including the valet who nodded towards the $12/night public parking garage 100 feet away from his $26/night valet stand. All of this being said, I would not avoid staying here, I'd just check other options as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wannagetawaymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martyr750, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the condition of your guest suite. Our property has been approved to undergo room renovations at the end of the year in efforts to maintain the quality of our product. We plan to communicate these comments to our staff in efforts to ensure our beds are comfortable. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact the Assistant General Manager for any other concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing