We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #29 of 205 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Great Hotel! Everytime I stay at this hotel, it is a wonderful experience. The only thing they do not have that I would like is an outdoor pool. Their breakfast is really good. A pretty big selection of items to choose from, including waffles and fruit and juice. Adequate seating. I especially like to sit outside on the balcony. Great location!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

I traveled here on business about once a year. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean but the decor is typical of every other Hampton Inn. You can order food from P.F. Chang's the restaurant across the street and have them bring it to your room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RVD408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn DT location for my husband's brother's wedding. The hotel is within walking distance to the Lady Bird Trail and good restaurants ( Max's Wine Dive is across the street, the Whole Foods flagship is about a 15 minute walk away!).

Breakfast is pretty good (watch out for the business suit vultures at 7am) and they have a veranda on the same floor so you can have your breakfast outside. The construction next door served as a welcome distraction during breakfast so our very vocal one year old did not disturb anyone as we ate on the veranda.

We were on the 7th floor and it was perfectly quiet. I found the rooms to be clean and the staff very courteous. The hotel has an actual crib and not a pack and play for those parties needing a crib.

ABOUT PARKING: Seriously people, a 24 hour garage is literally right across the street for $11/day. It may not be come and go parking, but it's cheap and you can walk everywhere you need to go. Also meters are all over the street by the hotel. Why people pay the $23/day fee is beyond me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilikecupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed here one weekend for my friend's bachelorette party. The rooms were clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable. The each had their own sofa with a pull-out couch which was nice. We ended up going to dinner one night out by Lake Austin and while we were in the lobby about to call some cabs, a man from the front desk came up to us and asked if we needed a shuttle. We told him where we were going and he said no problem... Come to find out once we get to the restaurant that we owed $45. We didn't mind paying the $$ at all, we were planning on paying for cabs anyways. They just made it seem like the shuttle was a complimentary feature of some sorts and it just took us by surprise.

Since it was a bunch of girls splitting the rooms and the cost, staying here was well worth the $. However, if I were to go back to Austin I more than likely wouldn't stay here again. Embassey Suites is right down the road with new renovated rooms and their nightly rate is much lower. Again, there was really nothing wrong with the hotel at all...just personal preference and different budgets.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benavis1489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn Downtown Austin for an overnight trip on the Fourth of July. The location is very convenient. It's in close proximity to the attractions in downtown Austin. The room was big and convenient. I wish the TV had HD channels. The front desk was friendly and courteous. I had to valet my car, which was about $27 including tax. I would consider staying here again. Note: I booked the hotel via Hotwire.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zizouzidane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed two nights. Arrived earlier than expected but our room was ready so after unpacking we took a tour of the hotel. There is construction work next door but we were never disturbed by any noise. The hotel is very clean and well presented. There is a good choice of items on the breakfast menu and the Manager's complimentary drinks and snacks (Mon-Thur 5.00pm-6.30pm) gave us chance to unwind after a long day of sight-seeing. The pool is small but there were only a couple of people there when we swam. There are some very good restaurants nearby and being so close to 6th Street, the choice is endless. A return visit is a must.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElsieR542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Good value for the money. Great location--we could walk to most places and did. When we returned from our food tour --- walking in the Texas heat, we cooled off in the pool and relaxed in our comfortable room. Then out for a fun evening of food and music. This morning I was pleasantly surprised by the yummy breakfast. Those little omelets are wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#40 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £152 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing