We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with great free breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #29 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms, decent toiletries, very good free breakfast. Lots of options to eat healthy or not! Our only complaints would be the gross pool ( they had just shocked it due to the construction and rain) and the bird poop all over the patio and furniture outside the breakfast bar. It could stand to be power washed and some new cushions wouldn't hurt either! Overall a nice place and great value for the location. We would stay here again--and we live in Austin!! Walking distance to many great hot spots and restaurants (see Max's Wine Dive review). Bravo!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole_Gus_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

We appreciate your staying with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites, Downtown Austin. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit. We strive to make everybody’s stay excellent and we are pleased when we are able to do so. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

I have been to the Hampton Inn & Suites Downtown a number of times to pick up guests who, from time to time, visit Austin and my family. Each of them found it a great place to stay. They like the valet service, the handy parking garage, the accommodations, the front desk service, a nice on site place for snacks. Best of all, the location is close to all the downtown action on Sixth Street, Fourth Street, Rainey Street and a short walk to Congress Avenue. Going to the bars and music venues is more fun when you do not have to drive and seek out a parking space. It is easy for friends and relatives to pick up guests at the hotel. Just drive into the parking garage and tell the valet you are meeting someone, but have your friends ready to go or the valet may ask you to move your vehicle around to the front of the hotel which is also a good place to pick up your guests. Unless Downtown is jammed with traffic for a big event like SXSW, your in town friends should find this a good place to have you collect them. I have heard only compliments from friends who stay here. Like other Austinites, we look for any good reason to go downtown and enjoy the music and food and having friends staying downtown is fun for us too. Hotel staff has always treated us well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two-For-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown Austin. It is our goal to make every experience an excellent one and it is so pleasing we are able to do so. We look forward to seeing you next time you are picking up family members, friends, or decide to stay here yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

If you ever end up in down town Austin at 8.00pm on a Friday night, you can take some comfort in knowing that the lovely staff at the Hampton Inn will take care of you. We'd driven from Natchez, Mississippi (yes a long drive) and were not sure where to stay - the folks here were more than happy to offer a room, and if that was too expensive, they were happy to point us in the right direction to find something cheaper. (Thumbs up to that) As things turned out, I'm glad I spent a bit extra and had a terrific couple of nights in this wonderful city. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable, and the atmosphere is buzzy. Parking available close by, or valet if you choose. The breakfasts at the Hampton Inn - well, everything you want is there, only I have a bit of an issue with all the disposable plastic thing that's going on, but it's what you see is what you get, and I was able to eat a healthy breakfast or could have chosen to make waffles - whichever took my fancy. The staff were great and helpful, professional, yet earthy, and yep, it's a great spot to park yourself if you want to get out and feel the atmosphere. Go to the Zilker Park if it's hot and take a swim, then visit the Botanic Gardens before finishing off the afternoon with a cocktail downtown. Another point on the staff was that they were more than happy to share their own favourite spots in Austin which really made us feel welcome in this terrific city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites Austin-Downtown. I am so pleased to hear how welcome the staff made you feel and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Austin, TX.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

Im pretty loyal to Hampton Inn's but this was my first stay at the downtown location. Ive previously stayed at the Buda, TX Hampton Inn and it was great! We wanted to stay downtown this time so we thought we would try this one out. Upon arriving, valet was great (and continued to be great, fast and polite service). Front desk staff was very nice and friendly. We headed up to our room and had some issues with the cleanliness of the room but the front desk was accomodating and it got worked out. I was disappointed with the housekeeping oversight on our first room. My biggest complaint was breakfast. Yesterday morning, we were served spoiled skim milk at breakfast. I put milk in my coffee so after a few sips of coffee and bites of cereal... And my fiance taking a drink out of the glass of milk he poured... We knew the milk was spoiled. Gross! We informed the breakfast attendant and she removed the milk but really... Does anyone check the expiration dates? This made for a nauseous flight home. This hotel had some nice aspects but not being sanitary and serving spoiled food gets them a 3 star from me! Outside of those 2 things, we liked it and took advantage of the outside terrace!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stars21212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of your breakfast and housekeeping service you experienced during your stay. We have spoken with our hotel staff about your comments and welcome more. We hope you will come back and stay with us the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My overall opinion of this property is simple. Great location. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. But the most amazing part of this was the free breakfast buffet. Again, simple, but amazing that this is offered. This hotel has every amenity for the budget business and or pleasure traveler. If you're just looking for a room that's located in the heart of Austin, that's clean and comy this is it. If you're looking for high end design with lobby bar and/or chic environment, this is not your place. I would absolutely recommend this to anybody just looking for a bed to rest after long nights on the town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JavC0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

We appreciate your staying with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites, Downtown Austin. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit. We strive to make everybody’s stay excellent and we are pleased when we are able to do so. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Great week at a a beautiful hotel along Lady bird trail. This is definitely a place to book. Amazing staff w great service...close to everything? The staff from the first to the last day were incredible

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wificontent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

We appreciate your staying with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites, Downtown Austin. Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit. We strive to make everybody’s stay excellent and we are pleased when we are able to do so. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here two nights for business. Everything was great. The free breakfast is always a nice plus. They were booked solid because of our convention and handled the crazy guests very well. Cleaned up any unexpected messes immediately.
Located within 2-3 blocks of everything we needed. We will stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank Guitarmakerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
0.2 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 203 in Austin
1,863 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#40 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £142 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing