We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for Austin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #29 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great value for Austin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Good place with superb location, and without those hefty Austin convention hotel prices. Great value for money and really nice and helpful staff. We had a room with a nice view westward that was perfect for seeing the sunset! Well run city hotel for sure.

Room Tip: Face west for sunsets and off the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    336
    104
    40
    26
See reviews for
153
226
63
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Hampton Inn is a relatively inexpensive choice for downtown Austin. It is in a good location for visiting local attractions - 6th Street, the bat colongy, the state capitol etc. - although the immediate surrounding area seems to be one big building site.

We had a good-sized corner room on the top floor with great views across the city. Everything was as you would expect from a good chain hotel. The complimentary breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DB_n_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The hefty parking fee is somewhat offset by the vast breakfast and manager's daily happy hour from 5-6:30 pm (free beer, wine and munchies). Located a short 4 blocks from 6th street in one direction and the local bats in another. Had no choice but to book a king suite so can't say anthing bad about the room. The bed was comfy and the room a generous size with couch and kitchenette.

The heated pool is outdoors on the fourth floor, so it's good and bad - - great view but a bit chilly on the cooler evenings when you get out.

Will definitely be returning to Austin and would likely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zsa-zsa013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Recenly went to Austin, Texas and stayed at the Hampton Inn Downtown. The hotel had a full breakfast included each day with your stay and happy hour during the week. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very accommodating. Would definitely stay again while visiting Austin. Close to many of the local attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish52149463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Hampton Inn and Suites Austin Downtown. We appreciate you letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit. We strive to make everybody’s stay excellent and are pleased when we are able to do so. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

The rooms were extremely nice. We were put up in an "accessible" room meaning it was meant for people whom may have a disablilty. It was the only room left but that meant it was cheaper. Only disadvantage this room had for us was that the shower didn't have a barrier at the bottom and the water sprayed out and got the rest of the bathroom floor wet. The bedroom itself and the bathroom were large in itself and had a great window view. Very clean. Room had a mini fridge, television, table and many outlets. Great breakfast in the morning with may different options. As stated in the title, This hotel is minutes from 6th street and we just walked on down and back. This hotel requires you to valet park, so be prepared. Though the valet guys did mention you could park next door at the convention center which is cheaper if you are just staying one night and not planning on moving your car. Great guys.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Austin Downtown. We appreciate you letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay and I apologize about the issue you had with the shower. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I am excited to report that after speaking to Roger Millar and Jennifer Tinkler of the Hampton Inn (downtown Austin) that I am a completely satisfied Hampton Inn customer. Jennifer was wonderful, she listen to the issue and shared with me the training that has happened since my stay and that the security issue was immeadeately resolved by the GM (Mr. Millar) personally. I appreciat the fact that when you make management aware of issues they are addressed and corrected. A huge thanks to the management of the ampton Inn of Downtown Austin, I will be back, SOON!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sully94534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
I am so pleasedthat we were able to turn your experience with us around. It is always wonderful to hear when that happens and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Recently stayed here for 2 days during a business trip to Austin, Tx.

Hotel staff is very nice and helpful, rooms are old and the bathroom in my room smelled very funny but no biggie!

People rave about the Breakfast but to me it was very average and limited. The free Happy Hour was nice but it only last 1hr and 1/2, it contains two brand draft beers (Shiner Bock/Miller Lite) and wine, dont recall what brand the wine was.

The location is great as to your only a block away from Austin Convention Center and 6th St. and many restuarants! Yes there is a Valet Park Fee of $23 a day, but this is everywhere in Autin Downtown Area Hotels.

A Hyatt is being build right next door, but construction was very quite and was Not an Issue! Hyatt will open in Spring 2013.

Nothing fancy about this hotel, I will just say good loaction, nice staff, outdated rooms. Not worth the $160 a night fee and $23 a/day parking fee I paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Austin Downtown. If it was not for guests like yourself bringing our shortcomings to our attention we would not be able to correct them and make future stays for our guests better. Over the next few months we will be doing an update on all our guest rooms. We hope that you will come stay with us again on your next trip to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing