We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise and delight with this Hampton Inn location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #25 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprise and delight with this Hampton Inn location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

It's been a while since I've stayed at a Hampton Inn and while they've always been nice hotels offering great value with their massive (free) breakfast stay and reasonably priced, clean rooms, they've never really wowed me in appearance. This property, however, does not look like your average Hampton Inn inside or out, in a good way. It's a high-rise property that looks like some of the other swanky, high-end hotels in Downtown Austin and when you get inside, the décor is more stunning than any other Hampton Inn or “inn” property I’ve stayed at, and that’s the décor they currently have. Apparently they’re in they’re going to be remodeling soon or are already in the process. I’m not sure if our room was done recently, but it modern and clean. We had a standard king room on a high floor that had a so-so view. It would have been better, except that most of our view overlooked a building across the way under construction. There was plenty of room to spread out , a large desk area, mini-fridge and good-sized bathroom. The only thing I didn’t like about the bathroom was that if you’re on the toilet and someone opens the door, they’re liable to slam your knees with it, because of the way it opens. A couple nice features that I’ve never seen in any of the many properties I’ve stayed at for business and personal travel was cushioned lap desk complete with elastic straps to hold paper down, and a make-up remover towelette in the bathroom for us ladies, which I was happy to see. Other than that, everything else was expected.

Now for the cons… I didn’t like the tiny pillows. They were square-shaped instead of rectangular, and smaller than a standard sized pillow and really not that comfortable. The breakfast buffet was substantial with many options, but was so crowded when we went that it was hard to get to anything without getting bumped into. The selections were not as good as I had remembered, but that could also be that I just don’t like some of the same things anymore. It was your standard cereals, oatmeal, flavorless scrambled egg taco-looking thing that was supposed to be an omelet, fruits, yogurt cups, and make-your-own waffles. All of the meat products were pork, so we couldn’t eat any of those. (HINT: Get some alternatives to pork!) Not all of the front desk people were very friendly. It wasn’t that they were rude, per se, but just didn’t seem overly excited to be there and lacked in personality. One girl, Brittany, I think, was super nice, though. Finally, the valet situation was a little bit of a mess. When we first arrived, we were in a big hurry to get to the Paul McCartney concert we were there for, and sat in the vehicle for a couple minutes while the valet guy stood at the podium about 25 feet from us. He finally acknowledged we were there and was ready to take the car, but despite seeing all the luggage we were pulling out, came over without the cart and was ready to take the car before getting the luggage situated. On the day we left, the rain was coming down in sheets and while we sat in our vehicle for about 15-20 minutes to finish something up before hitting the road, we watched as all of the incoming guests were dropping off their cars and outgoing were retrieving them, and it was a bit chaotic.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this property to a friend and would likely stay here again, depending on what we’re there for. For those who won’t have a car or just prefer to walk places, there are several good restaurants and bars nearby, including a handful right across the street. Just know that none of them are open very late, so for late-night food, take a pedi cab over to 24 Diner. If you want some good wine, go over to Max’s across the street. You can even take your wine to go.

Room Tip: Get a high floor for better views/less street noise, but make sure it's not facing construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    334
    103
    39
    24
See reviews for
149
220
63
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Nice, but at $200+ a night average, I myself think one should be able to park a car for for free ($25 day)). Then another few bucks every time (tip) to get it. Nice place, handy, but man do you pay for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank racenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel during our motelcycletrip to hillcountry. The best thing about this hotel is location, close to 6 th street. The valetparking is pricey like they say here, and we had to pay the same price even though we parked our motocycle ourseves to their garage. The parking though is expensive anywhere in Austin. The hotel is in front of P F CHANGS and they have roomservice to the hotel which is pretty convenient, there is also a little french " crepes" cafeteria in the corner of this hotel. This hotel served very well our purpose of having a fun night out in Austin, so i would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Like in any major city with noise, choose a room from upperlevel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miami57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just like most large cities, Austin is an expensive city to stay in. So when you pay to stay at this hotel, you are mainly paying for the location, which was perfect. I liked being close to 6th street, the crazy bar scene, without being toooo close. You are also very close to southern congress which is a great area. Lots to do, all within walking distance, assuming you like to walk. That being said, the hotel was nice too. Comfy beds, clean rooms, and good customer service. They have free breakfast and free happy hour (the happy hour is only Mon-Thur). I was unhappy with the pillows in the room, as I can be a pillow snob, but asked for an alternative at the front desk and was greatly satisfied. All in all, I recommend this hotel. We also stayed at the Radisson while we were in Town (we had two weddings, yes TWO weddings) and I would stay at the Hampton over the Radisson and the Hampton was cheaper :)

Room Tip: If you don't like the pillows in the room, they have different ones at the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mparis4386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

just over 3 blocks to the center of 6th St nightlife. nice room, excellent beds, standard baths for this level of hotel. well heated lap pool. (heated like a hot tub, but apparently that was a fluke.) Parking is by valet only, (which was very slow), at over $24/night. PF Changs across the street, along with lots of other decent eats and drinks.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I enjoyed my one night stay at the Hampton Inn in downtown Austin. The location was great and the room was spacious and nice. There was a mini fridge in the room which was helpful. The complimentary breakfast was nice. The staff was very nice and the accommodated an early check in and late check out for me with no problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Nice place, close to the convention center, clsoe to the crazy bar scene on 6th, cvs in walking distance, whole foods in walking distance, 20 mins from the airport, decent breakfast, clean room, plenty or restaurants nearby, liquor store 2 blocks away although they have a blue law so no booze on Sunday except in a bar but otherwise no complaints

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ParadiseAsVice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Address: 200 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701-4028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Austin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown hotel is the perfect location to help you enjoy your downtown Austin activities. Austin is known as the 'Live Music Capitol of the World,' and we help you enjoy it by placing you right next to Sixth Street as well the University of Texas Austin and the Texas State Capitol. Our hotel brings a New Orleans style to Texas with our Bourbon Street style, fitting right in with the "Keep Austin Weird" theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Hotel Austin
Hampton Inn And Suites Austin Downtown
Hampton Inn Austin
Austin Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing