We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”
Review of Lost Parrot Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lost Parrot Cabins
Ranked #16 of 35 Austin B&B and Inns
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here last summer and loved it. Very eclectic, artsy and the staff was friendly. They had live music one evening by the pool and it was great. We will definately go back this summer for a weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr_mrs_jones5713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    9
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
745 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

What a fun place to visit! Located out by Lake Travis, this spot is close to lots of activities and attractions. There are several cabins available for rent, and each one has a small kitchen, a huge TV, nice clean bathrooms and various numbers of beds.

We stayed in Cabin G, and we had a huge front porch across the front overlooking the beautiful Texas Hill Country. Rockers, a table and chairs and a hammock make this front porch very inviting!

Now for the funky: The entire complex's decor is Mexican funky. Bright colors, Mexican tiles utilized in the kitchen and bathrooms, all sorts of fun metal statuary, painted icons and lots of twinkle lights!

There is a nice common area with a large deck and a "bring your own" bar, a pool and a hot tub, and a streamliner full of "artifacts" to purchase so you can take a little funky home with you,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WednesdayNightGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, UK
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed here about five years ago, and went back with family for a long 4th July weekend. Would it be as good as we remembered it? You bet! The cabins are as clean and pretty as ever, there's a new patio and table area, and lots of new sculpture figures. We spent more time round the pool this visit, and didn't realize that the water is cooled, which was very welcome in 102 degree heat. Cliff and Cat were their old welcoming and zany selves, and the Saturday night music was better than Luckenbach (probably). The rooms are spacious, their decor is fantastic, everything in the kitchenette worked fine, and the beds are large and comfortable. Don't expect a turn-down service, these are cabins, not a five star hotel. But for ambiance this is very hard to beat. the only caveat: the room called 'Little Miss Magic' has a large central skylight that cannot be curtained so if early morning light is a problem choose another room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This funky little collection of quaint and eclectic cabins make for an extraordinary experience. The unit we were in "Lime in the Coconut" had a full kitchen and was very spacious (queen bed, futon and lounge bed)... in addition, the porch with rocking chairs and a hammock made it a perfect setting to escape the city and feel like you're in the tropics.

The artwork that Cat and Cliff have put together all over the property is great and now even for sale on site... it's a great place for a quick getaway without having to venture into a foreign country or even leave your state (in my case)... we're planning to return and will look forward to spending a bit more time enjoying the pool, hot tub, etc.

Heartily recommend it...

Room Tip: Look on the web site and examine the rooms, sizes, etc. for your party. Each is different and each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarriors5433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Rockabillys, Greasers, Alternative folks - this is your place! The List Parrot Cabins is one unique resort, not comparable to any other in Austin.

These good folks love South American art and offer a variety of cool, colorful cabins, each filled with fantastic memorabilia from Dia De Los Muertos, Lucha Libre or Frida Khalo. And most of the stuff is available for purchase! Even more, if you check out the Airstream wagon at the office, packed with goodies at reasonable prices.

The cabins are equipped with Futon beds, what's not everybody's gusto. To me they work fine, although my cabin provided just a queen bed for two. We had cabin C with a basic kitchen, big freezer and sweet bathroom. I highly appreciate that all towels were as colorful as the rest of the cabin and no plain whites. Perfectly equipped with everything you need for a stay. You'll get new towels etc. at the office, if needed. And yes, no room service. This means no annoying knocking at the door at 9 in the morning. Sleep long, spend the day on your own veranda or at the small pool era, the amazing garden. Or have a chat with the nice manager, while he works on his vintage Ford Falcon. If you like, check out the bar area and have a couple of drinks with other guests, sit in the Hot Tub, surrounded by an army of celebrity rubber ducks. Every day you will find something new here. The cabins surely give a good picture for your next Facebook photos. As they stand alone, you won't have any neighbours bothering you too - it was surprisingly quiet anyway. If you are allergic against cat hair, tuff luck. Here's a bunch of gorgeous kitties living. I loved to stay here and can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flaming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I thought that this would be a fun place to stay while in Austin for a weekend on the lake. We visit Austin al the time and wanted to try something different. The cabin is a single room-queen bed with a futon-not what I needed for 4 people but that was going to have to do. The owner was pretty hard to locate if we had a problem or a question so we just made it work. The big problem was the cats. Now, the owner, Cliff, was quite defensive that there were no animals ever ever ever in the cabins. Ok-I believe that, but I found cat hair on our blankets. And my husband is SEVERELY allergic to cats and could barely set foot in the cabin without sneezing his head off - he actually had to go to a clinic on Saturday to get a shot, his allergies were so bad. We explored the idea of moving to a local hotel just so he could breathe. We asked to have the linens changed and they did, with some grumbling that there were never cats in the cabins. Again - not arguing with you but I found cat hair and my husband was miserable. Well, we were checking out and I looked around to find the owner to give him the key - didn't find HIM but I found the source of the problem. The office is a big room in the front of the property, lined with shelves full of linens - and cats!!!!!!! There are numerous cats on the property and apparently all over the office.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mumziepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This review spans 2 different stays, September 2011 and 2012. My brother discovered the Lost Parrot Cabins during the Bastrop fires of September, 2011. He and his significant other stayed there for a couple of weeks until he was able to return to his home. (Thankfully his home was spared.)

It just so happened we wanted to throw our baby sister a 50th surprise birthday party so we thought why not just have the family meet up and stay where our brother was staying at the Lost Parrot!

First let me say that I love colorful, eclectic style so this place was love at first sight for me. Each cabin has a large, covered back patio/deck that looks off into a forest of trees giving the impression of seclusion. The cabins are spotlessly clean and all decorated with great care--full of Mexican art work, South American colors, tile and rugs.

Cliff turned the patio/bar over to our family for the surprise birthday party and we had a blast. A fridge, big screen, tables/chairs and stereo system worked out perfectly. We brought the food, wine, beer and birthday cake. We even had some entertainment later in the evening! In fact, it worked out so well we had our 2nd Annual Lost Parrot Party this past September 2012 and we hope to continue the tradition as it has turned into a bit of a "family reunion" and our family is big on the Party!

There is a really cool pool down the hill from the patio/bar area and a local band will show up on some Saturday nights. There are grills around most of the cabins and the pool area as well as several areas on the property with tables and chairs to just sit around and chill. Many interesting Mexican pieces of art scattered around the property make for a funky getaway right in the city.

Cliff and Cat are the proprietors. They are both laid back—sort of your sixties’ hippie-- and are very nice and accommodating. They work very hard to keep the place clean, neat and unique. Cliff got out his guitars and he and my brother joined up for a late night jam which was a nice way to cap off the evening.

The prices of the cabins are high--that will be the only downside to continuing our tradition of the family meeting up there each year. Other than that, it's truly a great little place for family reunions, girlfriend getaways, or just a romantic weekend to hang out in the cabin and sit out on the back deck enjoying the seclusion.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
3.3 mi away
Lakeway Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lakeway
8.4 mi away
Hotel Granduca Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#6 of 202 in Austin
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Lakeway
13.9 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 202 in Austin
1,966 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa del Sol Bed and Breakfast at Lake Travis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Parrot Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Parrot Cabins

Property: Lost Parrot Cabins
Address: 15116 Storm Dr, Austin, TX 78734-2745
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lost Parrot Cabins is a mini-resort best known as a laid back getaway with artistic decor and lively ambiance -- Texas Hill Country lodging with south-of-the-border pizzazz "an eclectic hide-away that's true to the spirit of Austin." New: On-site hybrid/electric vehicle charging station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lost Parrot Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Parrot Cabins Hotel Austin
Lost Parrot Cabins Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing