We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had Better Experiences at Sleep Inns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites N Austin
Ranked #64 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is a new hotel located North of Austin right off I35.. It could have had a higher rating but a number of customer service issues brought the rating down. First, when making the reservation I was very clear that I needed two rooms adjacent or close to each other. I called late in the afternoon to confirm the rooms were close to each other only to be told there was no record of my request. The breakfast offerings were good, cereal, bagels, yogurt, eggs and a meat. However, they ran out of dishes and forks and no one replenished them until we asked. There seemed to be no attention to detail.

The hotel rooms were small with little room to move around in the rooms with two beds. The rooms, bathrooms and rest of the hotel was clean. There is a shopping mall and many restaurants with a mile. We chose the hotel as the price was reasonable, but we have had better service at similar level hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the highway, which can be noisy due to the tractor trailer trucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinanomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is off the access road from highway 35.

It was very clean, roomy and comfortable. The breakfast was pretty good and they had a variety of things. There wasn't too many food options off the little road it was on but there are many restaurants and fast food around the area.

Free wifi and many cable channels available. They had a workout room and an indoor pool, which I didn't use but was a nice option to have.

Not a bad stay for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

Great room & quiet too. Very good breakfast & responsive staff. Asked for extra comforter upon leaving for the day & returned to find it neatly folded on bed. Not sure I like the way this area is set up with the interstate & hwy confusion. GPS unsure of location due to hotel only having been open for 1year.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerRose50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

off i-35; about 20 minutes north of downtown. very reasonable rate. gym is minimal (1 treadmill, 1 cross trainer, 1 bike) but all equipment is well maintained. staff is friendly. about 1/2 the price of equivalent hotels closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aristo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

As some of the other reviews indicate, this is a brand new hotel that sits just off of Interstate 35 and is approximately 20 minutes north of downtown Austin. Our prior experiences with Sleep Inns (several years ago) were not great, so I was a bit reluctant to try this one -- but decided to give it a shot based upon the good TripAdvisor reviews. And boy were the reviews right! The hotel was extremely clean. The room, which was on the backside of the hotel, was extremely quiet. And the breakfast was surprisingly good. So, all in all, this is a terrific value, especially when you consider the price of other Austin hotels. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We would recommend a room on the backside of the hotel, away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plainsrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Look no more if you seeking a clean, comfortable motel in Austin. This one is less than a year old. Pristine clean. Comfortable, quiet rooms. Nice fitness room. Nice indoor pool with an outside area for sunning and sitting around. Great breakfast with a lot of variety. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the highway and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Let me start off by saying, if you are a smoker or are traveling with smokers STAY FAR, FAR AWAY from this particular hotel. The management blatantly discriminates against smokers. It is a 100% smoke-free hotel & they charge a $250 smoking fee. However, they neglect to inform you that if you bring any tobacco products (i.e. wrappers etc.) & dispose of them in your room during the duration of your stay you will be charged the $250 fee as well; even if you never smoke in the room. My friends & I had to find all of this out the hard way. Upon checking out, I was never informed that I would be charged the smoking fee; nor does it appear on my copy of my receipt. Even the day after checking out I called the hotel to inquire about charges (they do separate transactions depending on how many days you stay), spoke to two different employees & was still never informed that I would be charged. During this call I was specifically told that the charges were strictly for the room; nothing about a smoking fee. It wasn't until the smoking fee charge showed up on my bank statement that I was notified. I called the hotel again to ask why I had been charged -- my guests & I never smoked in the room, the room & the towels did not wreak of smoke, the smoke detector never went off, the window had not been tampered with, no butts or ashes were ever in the room, & none of the cleaning staff alerted the management to a smoke smell emitting from our room any time we opened the door -- & was told that they had pictures of tobacco products in Walmart bags that were left in the room & that was their justification to charge me the $250. I attempted to dispute the charge with the manager to no avail. Not only did she ignore me all 11 times I tried to contact her directly myself via phone/email & indirectly via guest relations through their corporate office, but she also refused to review the evidence I provided her on her own surveillance cameras that I cleaned out my truck with the Walmart bags containing the tobacco products before checking out & took it back up to the room (they only have one relatively small guest accessible trash can outside) to ensure that it was properly disposed of & she consequently also refused to give me a refund. After I complained to corporate, I was told that I could only obtain a refund directly through the hotel & if the manager refused to deal with me I was stuck with the charge. The general manager, Jennifer LaRose, still has yet to return any of my phone calls & the staff continues to give me the run around. Because of this I was forced to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau & am currently exploring my legal options. This hotel & its staff, particularly the general manager, aren't worth the headache. Don't waste your money & risk the chance of essentially being robbed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Quiana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Sleep Inn & Suites Austin
#83 of 201 in Austin
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Comfort Suites NW Lakeline
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites N Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites N Austin

Address: 14004 Owen Tech Blvd, Austin, TX 78728-7000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#13 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#43 Family Hotel in Austin
#58 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £65 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites N Austin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites N Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn & Suites N Austin Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing