We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, not bad.”
Review of Firehouse Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Firehouse Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not great, not bad.”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

As my title suggests, there were some good things about the hostel and some bad ones. Good: close proximity to 6th Street, close to all attractions, 24hrs reception, staff good, free wifi. Bad: rooms hot and crowded, wifi played up a bit (but it was free), no cooktops or oven in the kitchen, not the cleanest beds (had dust, hair, fibres, general crap on each side of the mattress), not the best showers.

It'll do for a couple of days stay. Like most hostels run by young people attached to a pub, the little things in the accommodation go missing.

Also, the lounge attached to the hostel is crazy expensive. Find another one of the many many bars for a drink.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank pmw_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    55
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
1
14
61
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

When you can't afford to or just don't want to shell out for the Driskill or Four Seasons, you can still stay in the middle of everything at the Firehouse hostel. The place is clean, provides free breakfast and reasonably comfortable beds. Since it's around the corner from 6th street, things can get pretty noisy on weekend nights so earplugs are highly recommended. Everything is walkable from here, and the lounge downstairs is great for a nightcap.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllroyForPrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hostel, nice staff, good and excellent location.
Went on pub crawl with mike, it was fun, got to see some areas that we wouldn't have seen otherwise.
Great little shop, very friendly staff and perfect location for downtown.
We stayed in a 6 bed dorm and it was roomy enough but my friends stayed in a private room and said it was big and had its own room.
Shared showers on second floor weren't great, they could do some work there.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kmck82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is probably the cleanest hostel I have stayed at in the US over the past few years. I absolutely love the bathrooms. Spacious and always clean. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The price was perfect. I love the plants that are littered on each floor. You really can't go wrong. I really love the "speakeasy" bar on the ground floor. Such a sight. Don't stress about the music. It is loud but if you can sleep with ear plugs it will be fine. It is not over-bearing.

The breakfast was also good. Lots of fruit. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nekehia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
586 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hostel is right where you need to be. 6th St bars are right around the corner, Congress St Bridge & the Town Lake Hike/Bike Trail is close by as is the Whole Foods, the Capital, the University, etc. The hostel has an elevator, a good kitchen, free breakfast, Wi-Fi & was clean & quiet. It was a bit pricey for a hostel, but Austin City Limits Music Festival was going on that weekend so prices may have been a bit higher for that.
The sliding bookcase in the lobby opened to the Lounge which was dark. It looked more like a former bordello than a firehouse. I didn't appreciate the surly bartender snatching my $2.50 I had laying on the bar while I was sitting there and throwing it in his tip jar. The Happy Hour prices weren't very happy to me. I got 2 beers for $7.50 whereas the next night I got 2 beers at the magnificent Driskill Hotel across the street for $3.00. And I got to leave a tip, not have my money snatched away while I sat there. Hostel - yes - Lounge - no. Better places to go for a drink than the Firehouse Lounge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabondginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This place was not perfect, not by any means, but for the price you just cannot complain. Keep your expectations low and you will not be disappointed.
The staff were all great, check in and check out were a breeze and everyone I spoke to was really friendly and helpful.
The location was absolutely perfect: directly across the street from the Driskill so it's nice and safe, and close enough to all the action on Sixth Street without all the noise. Make sure you take advantage of the free earplugs when you check in though, because you never know what will be going on outside.
The room is certainly not 5-star but so long as you go in with the mindset that you are staying in a hostel, you will be fine. As for the shared bathroom, remember your shower shoes!
They have a selection of activities like pub crawls throughout the week, starting at their own cute bar downstairs, and free breakfast each day. It was quirky cute, and I'd recommend staying here if you're on a budget. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisgah, Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

These guys are very helpful and totally friendly :) speed of response and the will to help; that comes through in the emails then its going to be a great stay! this place is going to be fun i think. look out austin here i come!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilnAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.0 mi away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 203 in Austin
1,910 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#15 of 203 in Austin
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firehouse Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firehouse Hostel

Property: Firehouse Hostel
Address: 605 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701-3250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Firehouse Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the oldest standing firehouse in Austin, built in 1886, the Firehouse Hostel is opening this fall to provide Austin area travelers with an affordable and friendly option in Downtown Austin. We offer clean and secure accommodation, 24 hr reception, laundry facilities, secure luggage storage, free wifi and a complimentary, healthy breakfast.The attached Firehouse Lounge is a great place to meet travelers and locals, sip on a classically prepared cocktail or locally brewed beer and enjoy live, local music. The Firehouse Hostel and Lounge is truly a one of a kind establishment in downtown Austin. Come experience what the Firehouse has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Firehouse Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firehouse Hostel Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing